mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Problems with USB Please Help."

Posted on: March 24, 2009 @ 11:08 AM
Dan Taylor
Total Posts:  131
Joined  10-04-2005

Hi all:

I have a question that I’m hoping someone might answer for me.  I am a teacher and at my school I have the Yamaha E403.  I have done a piece of music in it via the USB cable and using my MacBook with Digital Performer.  I tried to hook the same thing up to my Motif (original) and use it but it doesn’t seem to work.  All I have to do is connect the cord at school and it works fine but not at home with the Motif.  Can anyone explain this setup to me?

I would greatly appreciate any help.

Thanks

Dan

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 24, 2009 @ 12:28 PM
sciuriware
Total Posts:  9999
Joined  08-18-2003

You forgot also to post in “Memory, Media and Formats”.

Where it belongs.

;JOOP!

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 24, 2009 @ 02:14 PM
Bad_Mister
Total Posts:  36620
Joined  07-30-2002

You only need to ask your question once. Please do not spam the forums with the same question again and again.

The E403 is limited to just General MIDI compatible sounds… the Motif is not. So the file you have is obviously requesting programs from the GM sound set.

The Motif, while it has a GM compatible bank is not restricted to just GM sounds. So therefore it requires a file with the proper GM RESET command in the setup bar.

Many authors of GM files do not properly prepare their data, because with a limited view of the world, they assume that only GM sounds exist. However, it is a larger world and there are keyboards and modules that are not just restricted to the GM banks. The Motif (Classic) has several banks of sounds not just GM sounds.