mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Drum Arp wont work min SONG mode"

     
Posted on: February 20, 2021 @ 06:27 PM
bunzi1964
Total Posts:  75
Joined  12-09-2012
status: Experienced

Hi All,

I made a PATTERN and used the job menu to “Put track to arpeggio”
And set it as “Convert Type” = Fixed

I went to VOICE MODE and called up a user drum, and assigned this arpeggio to this drum voice. Then saved it.  Works great and all the keys play the same arp with name notes (or drums in this case)

Then I made an 11 track performance in SONG mode.
On track 7 on the mixer, I call up this user drum voice, but I cannot get the arp to work on this voice in SONG mode.

I even assigned the same arp to it while in song mode and tried all the parameters, even manually turned on the arp button, but the arp will not play.

Any insight into how to make this drum arp work in SONG mode is appreciated.

Thanks
Paul S

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2021 @ 05:19 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11876
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

To have an Arp play in Song mode, there are two switches that must be turned on. Since apparently you’ve actuated the [ARPEGGIO ON/OFF] panel switch, you might not have turned on the switch for the Part assigned to Track 7.

This will turn on the Arp for Part 7…
Press [MIXING] > [EDIT] > [7] > [F2]ARP Main
Set “Switch” to “on”. Also set “Hold” to “on” if you want the Arp to continue playing if a key isn’t held down.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2021 @ 07:18 AM
bunzi1964
Total Posts:  75
Joined  12-09-2012
status: Experienced

Hi 5pin,
Yes, I tried that but just get a single hi-high note on the key assigned to it. (G#1)

I tried turning on “arp play only” and then I get no sound from that key.
I tried “parameter with voice” to On, and still, no arp play.
I’m missing something but can’t pinpoint it.

The drum voice in voice mode still has the arp working fine. (voice UDR 022)

Any idea?
Thanks again!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2021 @ 07:33 AM
bunzi1964
Total Posts:  75
Joined  12-09-2012
status: Experienced

Some clues......
When I set the switch to ON, the Arp on/off button does not light up.

I just turned on the arp button manually and tried a few different arps and some do work on that key.

Maybe there is something wrong with the way I made this arpeggio?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2021 @ 09:07 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11876
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
bunzi1964 - 21 February 2021 07:33 AM

Some clues......
When I set the switch to ON, the Arp on/off button does not light up.

Turning on the Part’s Arp switch won’t turn on the ARPEGGIO ON/OFF button. As I said previously, they’re two separate switches. If, rather than manually, you want that switch to be on whenever the Song is selected…
Press [MIXING] > [EDIT] > [COMMON] > [F1]General
...and turn on the “ARP Common Switch”. STORE.

Note that once that’s done, if the Arp Switch has been turned on for any of the Parts, their Arps will also play when their Part is selected.

 

bunzi1964 -

I just turned on the arp button manually and tried a few different arps and some do work on that key.

Maybe there is something wrong with the way I made this arpeggio?

If preset Arps work correctly, then indeed your Arp might be problematic. However, be sure that you’ve turned on “Parameter with Voice” before you select the Drum Voice for the Part. If it’s turned on after the Voice is selected, the associated Arps won’t be brought into the Part.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2021 @ 05:12 AM
bunzi1964
Total Posts:  75
Joined  12-09-2012
status: Experienced

Ok, will try all this and see. 
You’ve been so helpful!
Thanks again, will let you know how I make out.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2021 @ 04:48 PM
bunzi1964
Total Posts:  75
Joined  12-09-2012
status: Experienced

Hi 5pin,

“be sure that you’ve turned on “Parameter with Voice” before you select the Drum Voice for the Part. If it’s turned on after the Voice is selected, the associated Arps won’t be brought into the Part”

Got it working. I think this was it.
Thanks again for your knowledgeable help!
Your the best!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 23, 2021 @ 03:55 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11876
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
bunzi1964 - 22 February 2021 04:48 PM

Hi 5pin,

“be sure that you’ve turned on “Parameter with Voice” before you select the Drum Voice for the Part. If it’s turned on after the Voice is selected, the associated Arps won’t be brought into the Part”

Got it working. I think this was it.
Thanks again for your knowledgeable help!
Your the best!

You’re welcome, and thanks for the kind words.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ XF LCD screen issue-spot
Next Topic:

    Upgrading to ?? ››