mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Motif XF Sample Memory Full Message"

   
Page 1 of 3
Posted on: January 10, 2016 @ 04:18 PM
Gametime
Total Posts:  21
Joined  06-05-2012
status: Regular

Hi , i was try to load the Inspiration in a flash all file X3A to the FL1 1024.

The Flash Board is formated & has no samples on it free space 1022mb.

This is how i load when i get the message.

Type - ALL

Load USR - USR
FL1 - FL1
FL2 - FL2

Save
FL1 - withoutsamples
FL2 - withoutsamples

Does it matter in what mode you are loading a all file because i was trying in voice mode ?

Am i doing something wrong ?

Thanks

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 10, 2016 @ 06:59 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Gametime - 10 January 2016 04:18 PM

Hi , i was try to load the Inspiration in a flash all file X3A to the FL1 1024.

The Flash Board is formated & has no samples on it free space 1022mb.

OK - but the “Sample memory full” message doesn’t have to refer to the flash module(s). The message can mean that User SDRAM sample memory is full.

 

Gametime -

This is how i load when i get the message.

Type - ALL

Load USR - USR
FL1 - FL1
FL2 - FL2

Those Load settings would usually be OK, but with Inspiration in a Flash, there’s a catch. Song number 1 in the “All” file is “Yours To Save Vocal”, an enhanced version of the standard factory demo song “Yours To Save”. The difference is that the Vocal version requires “YTS_05.wav”, and that’s normally loaded to USR. However, if you’ve already got something large enough loaded to USR, then there won’t be room for “YTS_05.wav”, and you’ll get the “Sample memory full” message.

There are two ways to deal with the situation. You could delete Waveforms from User sample memory before loading IiaF, or you could redirect any IiaF USR samples to flash.

USR > FL1
FL1 > FL1
FL2 > FL2

 

Gametime -

Save
FL1 - withoutsamples
FL2 - withoutsamples

The “Save” settings don’t affect loading.

 

Gametime -

Does it matter in what mode you are loading a all file because i was trying in voice mode ?

In the case of loading an entire “All” file, the mode doesn’t matter.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 10, 2016 @ 10:56 PM
Gametime
Total Posts:  21
Joined  06-05-2012
status: Regular

Thanks , but if i load inspiration in a flash this way.

USR - FL1
FL1 - FL1
FL2 - FL2

All 4 user banks are empty ? i already try that all samples are stored on the flash but all 4 user banks are empty.

So my next question would be how do i load the inspiration in a flash this way.

USR - FL1
FL1 - FL1
FL2 - FL2

With the new user banks ( 2 , 3, 4 ) so not every thing is empty in the user banks.

Thanks ( sorry for my bad english :)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 11, 2016 @ 04:49 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

The USR/FL1/FL2 settings only affect where Waveforms and Samples load. Those settings will not change how Voices load to the 4 User banks.

The only way I’m aware of to have the Voices not load is if the loading operation is stopped before it completes. If you get impatient and press [EXIT], that can happen.

If all the Waveforms/Samples have been loaded to flash, then you can reload the “All” file with these Load settings:
USR > USR
FL1 > None
FL2 > None

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 11, 2016 @ 12:48 PM
Gametime
Total Posts:  21
Joined  06-05-2012
status: Regular

Hi ,thanks again for your time.  ,

I did what you are saying it works but .....

The inspiration in a flash was completed with a disk /write error but it seems that every sample is there 1022 free size
558 with the samples loaded.

How ever ...If i go to user 2 & play the s700 piano i here a sample of a woman singing ? i look in the flash memory the first sample VTS_05 and it says it use user 2 A1 S700 of xs ? i don’t think this is normal ?

Can you also tell me if it is possible to look insise the voice where the samples are loading from ?

Thanks Again.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 11, 2016 @ 02:27 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Gametime - 11 January 2016 12:48 PM

Hi ,thanks again for your time.  ,

I did what you are saying it works but .....

The inspiration in a flash was completed with a disk /write error but it seems that every sample is there 1022 free size
558 with the samples loaded.[...]

You’re welcome.

Apparently the Waveforms/Samples did not install correctly.

I suggest that you reformat the flash module, and reload IiaF as “all” with the Load options I previously posted:
USR > FL1
FL1 > FL1
FL2 > FL2

I have loaded IiaF in my own XF with those settings - it works correctly if everything else is OK. Let us know what happens.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 12, 2016 @ 11:06 AM
Gametime
Total Posts:  21
Joined  06-05-2012
status: Regular

Hi , i did the factory reset then reformat the flash.

Then i try to load the inspiration in a flash all file this way.

Type - All

USR - FL1
FL1 - FL1
FL2 - FL2

Save FL1 - without samples
FL2 - withoutsamples

Again It give me the disk memory / write error with the same problem i mention before :(

I realy don’t know why this message is there.... it seems i do everything ok ?

the inspiration in a flash file is stored on the root of a usb 4gb kingston ( free space 2,9gb)

file size - iiaf - 466,1mb x3a.

Thanks Again.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 12, 2016 @ 11:36 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

If the message displayed is this…
Disk or memory read/write error
...then the Owner’s Manual (on page 66) indicates it means…
An error occurred while reading or writing to/from an external storage device
(I added the emphasis to “read” and “external”.)

I suggest that you get another USB drive, put a fresh copy of the IiaF .X3A file on it, reformat the Flash module, and load IiaF again.

Compatible USB Device List for MOTIF XS/XF:
http://download.yamaha.com/file/53377
Others may or may not work. If your Kingston drive is on the list, you might try formatting it on the XF and see if that helps.

That will hopefully resolve the problem. Please let us know.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 13, 2016 @ 07:40 PM
Gametime
Total Posts:  21
Joined  06-05-2012
status: Regular

Hi , just to be sure i go the store and pick the kingston DT101G2/16GB usb that was on the list with usb devices that was tested.

before i did anything i checked if the flash was empty it was 1022 free space…

then i did the factory set again.

then i put the usb on the motif and format it on the motif then i put the inspiration in a flash all file directly on the root of the usb on my mac.

So i go to the file page to load the inspiration in a flash all file this way.

USR-FL1
FL1-FL1
FL2-FL2

Again it give me the disk write error i mention before.

this drive me crazy ....

any help please :(

Thanks

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 13, 2016 @ 07:58 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Gametime - 13 January 2016 07:40 PM

[...]Again it give me the disk write error i mention before.[...]

What is the exact full error message?

What is the exact full name of the IiaF file as shown on the XF display?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 14, 2016 @ 12:26 PM
Gametime
Total Posts:  21
Joined  06-05-2012
status: Regular

Hi , can i send you some pictures of the error and the file name.

Thanks.

File Attachments
pictures.zip  (File Size: 464KB - Downloads: 332)
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 14, 2016 @ 12:30 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

Zip the pictures and attach them to a post.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 14, 2016 @ 12:33 PM
Gametime
Total Posts:  21
Joined  06-05-2012
status: Regular

i upload the pictures.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 14, 2016 @ 01:24 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Gametime - 14 January 2016 12:33 PM

i upload the pictures.

Thank you.

Image6 indicates 558MB free out of 1022MB, a difference of 464MB.

When I load IiaF to a newly formatted 512MB flash module,
I see 42MB free out of 510MB, a difference of 468MB.

It appears that your XF can’t load all of the IiaF file from your USB drive.

My Waveform List shows the last one as 357: House Loop4.
Scroll to the end of your Waveform List, and see what the last one is. Let us know.

Perhaps your InspirationInAFlash1.X3A is corrupted. I had previously suggested that you get a fresh copy to put on your USB drive. You might want to download the file again and see if a new copy works better.

Also, which version of the OS is installed in your Motif XF?
Press and release [UTILITY] to enter the Utility mode.
Then press [UTILITY], [ ^ ](Cursor Up), and [F1] buttons simultaneously.
Read the Firmware Version on the display. Let us know what you see.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 15, 2016 @ 02:05 PM
Gametime
Total Posts:  21
Joined  06-05-2012
status: Regular

Hi , I already try to put a fresh copy of Iiaf to the usb .

I download it straight from this site and also tried the easy sound website where you also can download the inspiration i a flash file by mail.

I will add 2 pictures.

The wavenumber end at 251 ? not 357 ) see picture).

I try everything , i even format the usb on the motif and the put the file on the usb by windows so i was 100% sure that my mac wasn’t the problem.

I am running the latest firmware on the motif , the flash is formatted , i am using a usb that was tested.

I think it is the flash or the file ... maybe you can send me the one you use to try it out.

Because this drive me really crazy :(

File Attachments
2.zip  (File Size: 1152KB - Downloads: 286)
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 15, 2016 @ 03:53 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

I’m sorry that you’re still having problems. Something strange is happening. You do have the most recent OS installed.

You seem to be missing over 100 drum/percussion Waveforms (which I’m guessing is about 20MB), and yet the Free Size shown for the flash module is about right. I believe that the memory space is set aside as soon as the loading begins, and is subtracted to get the “Free Size” even if the Waveforms/Samples don’t all load.

What happens if you try to load IiaF again, without deleting or reformatting the flash module? Doing that might help to determine what’s going wrong, and based on “Free Size” there’s enough room.

Load this way…
USR > FL1
FL1 > FL1
FL2 > FL2

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 1 of 3


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ No sound when I load voice from usb
Next Topic:

    Obscure bug ››