mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Triggering ARPs"

   
Page 1 of 2
Posted on: February 21, 2014 @ 03:00 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

I need some help on triggering ARPs from a Performance.

Track (1) is a Addictive Drums Kit and it’s set to receive on MIDI Channel 1.
Track (3) is Trilian Bass and it’s set to receive on MIDI Channel 3.

When I highlight Track (1) the drums are playing perfectly but when I highlight Track (3) the Bass isn’t playing.

Any ideas?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2014 @ 03:18 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

Do you remember when you had the MOXF and Bad_Mister gave you a way of converting your Performance to a Song in the internal sequencer first.

It’s the same thing again but on your Motif XF.

In order to use Addictive Drums and Trillian, you need to end up with MIDI data made from your Performance.

This is what he said for the MOXF.

Bad_Mister - 14 January 2014 11:38 PM


Record your data PERFORMANCE to the one piece of gear that was designed to record your playing four PARTS at once without much trouble at all. (Yes, the MOXF) It’s as easy as 1-2-3 (F1-F2-F3 that is):

Call up your PERFORMANCE
Press [RECORD]
The [F1] SETUP Screen appears
Set the target to a blank SONG
Press [F2] REC TR
Set the target to Tracks 1-4
Press [F3] OTHER
Set the KEY ON START = ON

Record your PERFORMANCE to the MOXF sequencer… rinse and repeat until you are happy with how it sounds on playback.

NOW - you have all your basic tracks with your four parts all recorded - as you say it is no problem for you to record this all at once…

Now you can take off your musician hat and put on your engineering hat.
Now you will find that there is no hassle in transferring the data to your DAW - all you need to do is sync the clocks and send the PARTS over as AUDIO at your convenience… No muss, no fuss.

I am not sure of how to do this on the XF, but that’s the approach you need to take.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2014 @ 03:21 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Phil,

At this point I just want to play around with the custom Performance I have made but want to trigger AD and Trilian to see how the Performance sounds.

Can (and how) do I do this?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2014 @ 03:43 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

I don’t believe there is a way of doing that on the fly.

An ARP itself isn’t involved with midi data other than when you press a key to start it or you change chords or play different keys on the keyboard (like any other sound really)

The process that Phil suggested is so that every single sound in the ARP gets converted and counted as MIDI data.  Then all of that can be used to do what you need.

You have to commit to one and go through that process to test it out, unfortunately, or find another way of getting your XF to output MIDI for every single component in your arp.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2014 @ 11:33 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

I need some help on triggering ARPs from a Performance.

Track (1) is a Addictive Drums Kit and it’s set to receive on MIDI Channel 1.
Track (3) is Trilian Bass and it’s set to receive on MIDI Channel 3.

When I highlight Track (1) the drums are playing perfectly but when I highlight Track (3) the Bass isn’t playing.

Any ideas?

The Motif XF transmits MIDI from its keyboard on just one MIDI channel at a time (except in Master mode). Like most keyboards this is just how the XF work, you select a MIDI channel to transmit on, set the receiving device to that same channel and it plays when you play the XF keys.

The drums are playing (responding to MIDI from your keyboard) because your XF is set to transmit on MIDI channel 1… Your Addictive Drums are set to receive channel 1. What about the arps?
The bass is not playing (responding) because your XF keyboard is set to transmit on MIDI channel 1, the Trillian Bass is set to receive on channel 3. Mismatch… Also, the keyboard of the XF is not triggering the bass, the arp is… So you need to set the Arp to go OUT on channel 3. Making sense?

You play the keyboard.
The Arp is playing the drums and bass.

The keyboard of the XF is set to transmit on a single MIDI channel.
If you would like to OUTPUT the MIDI of the bass Arpeggio you would need to do two things:
1) Turn Part 3’s Arpeggiator MIDI OUT SWITCH = ON
2) select MIDI OUT CHANNEL = 3 for it to go Out on

In your PERFORMANCE
Press [EDIT]
Select Part 3
Press [ARP OTHER]
Set MIDI OUT SWITCH = ON
Set MIDI OUT CHANNEL = 3

Do the same for each Part where you want the ARP to send Out, picking an appropriate MIDI channel.

Use your PART MUTE buttons to silence the internal tone engine.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2014 @ 12:52 AM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Thanks Bad_MIster (again, to to 9th power!).

I’ll try it when I get home tonight.

Jerry

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2014 @ 01:52 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru
Bad_Mister - 21 February 2014 11:33 PM

I need some help on triggering ARPs from a Performance.

The Motif XF transmits MIDI from its keyboard on just one MIDI channel at a time (except in Master mode).

So I could convert my custom made Performance into a Master and then be able to trigger the drums (on MIDI channel 1) and the bass (on MIDI channel 2) both at the same time?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2014 @ 02:59 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Try it from PERFORMANCE mode first
(I realize I never should mention anything extra to you, now I regret it)
:-(

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2014 @ 03:02 PM
VikasSharma
Avatar
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
status: Guru
jerrydpi - 22 February 2014 01:52 PM

So I could convert my custom made Performance into a Master and then be able to trigger the drums (on MIDI channel 1) and the bass (on MIDI channel 2) both at the same time?

Are you playing the drums and bass yourself from the Motif keyboard or are you using the keyboard to ‘just trigger & control’ the Motif Arpeggiator (with the Arpeggiator ‘actually playing’ them?

If it’s the latter, then Bad_Mister has already told you the solution. Read his above post again completely (as in, till the end).

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2014 @ 03:48 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

I did EXACTLY as Bad_Mister said.

The Track on my DAW is set to receive on MIDI Channel 3 and I get no signal.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2014 @ 04:14 PM
VikasSharma
Avatar
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
status: Guru
VikasSharma - 22 February 2014 03:02 PM

Are you playing the drums and bass yourself from the Motif keyboard or are you using the keyboard to ‘just trigger & control’ the Motif Arpeggiator (with the Arpeggiator ‘actually playing’ them?

Please answer this.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2014 @ 04:18 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

I’m using (am trying to use) the ARPs to trigger the drum and bass software.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2014 @ 04:34 PM
VikasSharma
Avatar
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
status: Guru

1) Which PART is your Bass assigned to on your Motif?
2) If it is on Part 3, did you do the following (suggested by Bad_Mister)?
3) Is the ARP ON/OFF switch on?

Bad_Mister - 21 February 2014 11:33 PM

The Arp is playing the drums and bass.

The keyboard of the XF is set to transmit on a single MIDI channel.
If you would like to OUTPUT the MIDI of the bass Arpeggio you would need to do two things:
1) Turn Part 3’s Arpeggiator MIDI OUT SWITCH = ON
2) select MIDI OUT CHANNEL = 3 for it to go Out on

In your PERFORMANCE
Press [EDIT]
Select Part 3
Press [ARP OTHER]
Set MIDI OUT SWITCH = ON
Set MIDI OUT CHANNEL = 3

Do the same for each Part where you want the ARP to send Out, picking an appropriate MIDI channel.

The above is also explained on Pages 114 & 115 of the XF Reference Manual.

Image Attachments
PerfEdit.png
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 22, 2014 @ 04:44 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

1) Which PART is your Bass assigned to on your Motif?  Part 3
2) If it is on Part 3, did you do the following (suggested by Bad_Mister)?  Yes
3) Is the ARP ON/OFF switch on?  Yes

The only way I can trigger the Bass is by putting the MIDI receive channel to “All” on my DAW.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 23, 2014 @ 05:16 AM
VikasSharma
Avatar
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
status: Guru
jerrydpi - 22 February 2014 04:44 PM

1) Which PART is your Bass assigned to on your Motif?  Part 3
2) If it is on Part 3, did you do the following (suggested by Bad_Mister)?  Yes
3) Is the ARP ON/OFF switch on?  Yes

I can verify that those are the only (as well as correct) settings you need to make on your Motif. I’ve checked with MIDI Monitor utility and Motif is sending the Arp notes correctly on separate channels as expected.

How are you restricting a particular track in Logic to get its MIDI input on a particular channel only. If possible, please post the screenshot(s).

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 23, 2014 @ 05:53 AM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Here’s the Screenshot.

I just found out (by clicking the Help Button on LPX) that the field that says MIDI Channel 3 is the output MIDI channel, not the input MIDI channel, so I’ve obviously got to figure out to assign the input MIDI channel on my third track of LPX.

Thanks,

Jerry

Image Attachments
Screen Shot 2014-02-23 at 12.42.35 PM.png
  [ Ignore ]  


Page 1 of 2


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Help on changing the Tempo of a recorded song
Next Topic:

    Triggering ARPs ››