mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Why is a Voice Feedbacking when I use LPX?"

     
Posted on: January 22, 2014 @ 06:07 AM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

As previously stated, I have a MOXF8 and I’m using its built in MIDI/audio interface.

On LPX, I’ve recorded the Drums, with ARP as software track 1 using Addictive Drums.
2) Then, on LPX, I’ve recorded the Bass guitar, without the ARP as software track 2 using Trilian Bass.

I’m now trying to record a third audio track using a Metal Guitar Voice.

As soon as I press record on my DAW (LPX) the Metal Guitar starts to feedback horribly for about 6 seconds until the feedback slowly goes away and the guitar plays/sounds as it’s supposed to (no feedback).

When I press Stop on LPX, it again starts to feedback and takes about 6 seconds to finally stop feedbacking.

How do I stop this from happening?

Also, I’ve tried to record a different instrument on the same audio track as well (a rhythm guitar) and when I press record on LPX, I get a chiming sound for about 3 to 4 seconds that eventually goes away.

When I press Stop, I get the same chiming sound for a few seconds.

What am I doing wrong on LPX (or the MOXF)?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2014 @ 09:59 AM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

How are you listening to your MOXF?

Where are the LEFT and RIGHT analogue outputs cabled to?

Do you have anything plugged into the analogue INPUTS on your MOXF?

How are you hearing Trillian and Addictive Drums, presumably you are either using your MOXF as your audio interface or another interface?

Talk us through your set up Jerry.

You’ve got a MOXF, a Mac, possibly another interface, speakers..anything else?

MOXF via USB too presumably?

What goes where?

Hard to tell right away without knowing what is plugged where.

Feedback, if that’s what you are experiencing, will be something either cabled or routed into itself.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2014 @ 11:34 AM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Hello Phil!

Sorry to take so long to get back with you, but I’m at work and I just got a break.

1) The analogue outs are plugged into Roland powered monitors.
2) Nothing is plugged into the analogue inputs.
3) All I’m using is the MOXF interface, so I assume I’m hearing Addictive Drums and Trilian through the analogue outs of the MOXF.
4) I have the MOXF8, a 13” Macbook Pro i7, and the Roland powered monitors.
5) I’m going out the MOXF from the usb port into the usb port on my MBP.

I’d bet that I’m routing something back to itself.

What should I check?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2014 @ 03:02 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

That all sounds sensible and normal mate.

Could you do a screen capture of your Logic project and another of the mixer window in Logic too...and upload it to this thread?

(Hold down the keys: Command, Shift and 4 all together, let go of them, then use the cross to drag out the area you want it to capture.

It will drop a .png image on your mac desktop.

(forgive me if you already knew how to do that)

Cheers

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2014 @ 03:16 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Phil,

1) I didn’t know how to do that :-)
2) I know what/where the Mixer Window is but what/where is the Logic Project?
3) How do you upload the pix to the thread?

Thanks!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2014 @ 03:29 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

ok,

Your Logic project is the full view of what you see when you load your project up.

Should look a bit like this.  Hopefully with tracks on the left and strips of audio and MIDI data occupying the main space.

Try and get all of your mixer window, too. like this

If you reply using ‘post reply’ and not ‘fast reply’ on this thread, there is a button to attach the images.

“choose file”

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2014 @ 03:40 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Here’s Johnny!

Image Attachments
Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 10.32.58 PM.pngScreen Shot 2014-01-22 at 10.33.59 PM.png
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2014 @ 04:04 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

There’s nothing unusual about your screen caps.

I can see clearly what you are doing and it looks fine.

Are we missing a master fader to the right on your mixer window image? (probably not important unless you made any changes to the plugin slots or input/output settings on it)

Presumably the track you have highlighted is the one you are using to record your MOXF using inputs 3 and 4? (you have the I switched on which means you are monitoring those inputs on that channel and should hear your MOXF through it.)

Does it feed back if you set your MOXF to output that same sound on 1 and 2? and set your inputs on that track to 1 and 2 as well?

I think it’s MOXF related but it could mean a long game of ‘guess the changed setting’.

Did you ever do a factory reset?

if you try one make sure you back up your SONG data and any other valuable settings.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2014 @ 04:07 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

I’ll try that tomorrow night.

Thanks again and talk to you soon!

Jerry

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 23, 2014 @ 03:54 AM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Phil,

On my way home tonight I’m going to swing by the main studio and pick up the Focusrite Saffire to bring home with me.

If I go into the Saffire from the MOXF, go out the Saffire into my MBP and record the same Metal Guitar on the same LPX track, and I get no feedback, will that tell us anything?

Later,

Jerry

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 23, 2014 @ 11:49 AM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

That would make your task much more simple and there is a good chance you will not get the feedback.

You can plug your MOXF analogue outputs directly into your Sapphire analogue inputs and continue to use MIDI and sync via the MOXF USB cable.

The second you select the Sapphire for input and output in Logic’s audio preferences, you will no longer be able to record audio coming through the MOXF usb cable. (but that’s fine)

You will need to understand how to use the mute or solo controls on your SONG, to just isolate the voice you need to record, but that is simple enough. (because there are no 1 and 2 OR 3 and 4 output assignments this way, your song, as a whole, comes out of your left and right analogue outputs unless you stop tracks within it doing so by using mute or solo controls)

There’s nothing wrong with going analogue though! - it should make things much more simple for you.

By not recording audio via USB you do realise that you are side stepping learning something you might need to do in the future? <------ I was ALWAYs going to remind you :-)

Maybe this is going to be your preferred/simplest way?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 23, 2014 @ 01:12 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Hi Phil!

I just got home and I’ll get started as soon as I can.

I really want to use the MOXF built-in interface.

The only reason I want to use the Saffire is to see if the Metal Guitar will feedback.

If not, that means the problem is the MOXF and I have no idea how to resolve it.

Do you remember one of my previous Posts where I said when I tried to record a song I was getting a high piano note “ping” ( I had a piano as one of the Voices in the Performance) as soon as I pressed Record, and the piano note, a half step down, would “ping” as soon as I pressed Stop.

Why am I the only one having problems trying to record a Factory Performance to LPX?

PS

Could it be the Firmware I have (1.00.2) on the MOXF?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 23, 2014 @ 02:55 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Survey says:

The Metal Guitar did not feedback when I pressed Record or Stop after I recorded the track.

So what’s wrong with my MOXF?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 23, 2014 @ 05:36 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  1055
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

- I am almost happy that Logic is ok (your master fader channel is missing from your image though)

You have some instrument tracks, some of which are being bussed to a few chorus and delay plugs, nothing out of the ordinary.

- The fact you have tried this without using your MOXF interface and it works fine suggests that it has to be MOXF interface related.

You could try muting the track you are recording to in Logic, so record as you were doing with your MOXF’s interface but just press the mute on the Logic track.

That’s a pretty bad audio engineering suggestion under any other circumstances because you should always listen to what is being recorded whilst recording it… but I’m interested to find out if it will stop your feedback and break the loop.

Other than that, back up and do a factory reset on your MOXF then try again.

It should be much easier to trace your problem from a reset.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 24, 2014 @ 12:28 AM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  968
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Phil,

First of all I want to thank you (as well as everyone else) for sticking this out with me :-)

Here’s what I’ll do when I get home tonight:

1) Delete every track/channel strip I have that doesn’t have any recording on it yet (there is a Master Fader btw, it’s just hidden off screen to the far right).
2) See what changing the outputs to 1 & 2 will do.
3) Do a factory reset if all else fails.

Thanks again!

Jerry

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Finally got a Song Recorded
Next Topic:

    Logic Pro X, Yamaha n12 and Motif XS8 ››