mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Master VS Performance"

     
Posted on: January 24, 2013 @ 05:07 PM
Johnnyack
Total Posts:  27
Joined  09-28-2012
status: Regular

I haven’t posted in a while.  I got the feeling I needed to really study the manual and exp. w/ the s90xs.  AFter owning now for 3 years, and playing live on stage w/ the band I do have a question and would be very appreciative if anyone could help.
I’m in a quandry as to the difference between using the Master Vs. the Performance.  Example as follows:
I have stored in performance, A-1, A-2 and A-3 all the “set ups” I need for a particular song.  A-1 Piano, A-2 3 way split, horns, strings and guitar, A-3 3 layered horn voices.  That is the set up for one of the tunes we play.  I start w/ A-1, hit the FS to advance to A-2, then again for A-3.  I don’t understand the difference or benefit (if any) between palying the song using the 3 Perfms I’ve set up, and storing and subsequantly using Master A-1, A-2 and A-3.

Thanks for helping

John

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 24, 2013 @ 06:32 PM
S70xs_user
Total Posts:  60
Joined  09-02-2012
status: Experienced

Think of a master as a “shortcut” to a performance (or to a voice or multi).

So, if you set a master program to “point” to a performance, the play mode is identical to being in Performance mode..

For me, the advantage of using Master is that I can set this up as a playlist with friendly names (eg Program 1: Let It Be, Patch 2 : The Twist, etc). This is particularly useful if you have a favourite performance which you use for more than one song.  It is also easy to re-arrange the running order of a playlist by re-ordering the Master programs if needed. (Or you may prefer to organise your playlist in alphabetic order, rather than set order, as an alternative)

You can still use FS switch to advance through the playlist if req’d (though it is just as easy using ‘Inc’ button panel)

Also,

1) A master patch can also use zone settings if you want to control external instruments from different octaves of the keyboard, or on specified midi channels.
2) If you save your keyboard “save all”, then you can create a library of virtual instruments for different playlists (eg old-time dance, 60’s hits, lounge music, etc)

Hope this helps,
Phil Gray

PS: There is excellent reference on web ‘Yamaha Power User - Understanding Master Mode’ by Phil Clendeninn.  I will hunt for link if you can’t find it.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 24, 2013 @ 06:37 PM
Johnnyack
Total Posts:  27
Joined  09-28-2012
status: Regular

Thanks Phil very helpful.  I have found the Understanding Master Mode, in fact I think I’ve studied it for hours on end!!  One part of your reply got me thinking.  you said “It is also easy to re-arrange the running order of a playlist by re-ordering the Master programs”.  What do mean by “re-ordering the master programs?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 24, 2013 @ 06:43 PM
S70xs_user
Total Posts:  60
Joined  09-02-2012
status: Experienced

I can see why my choice of words might mot be clear.

Let’s say you want move “Let It Be” to the end of the set list. You can go its Master program position, use “Store” and save a copy to a new position, then delete original program.

It’s a long way round of doing a cut-and-paste to move the items in a playlist around.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 25, 2013 @ 02:44 PM
Johnnyack
Total Posts:  27
Joined  09-28-2012
status: Regular

Wow I am such a dumb (*&$#%(&*#$.  That is a terrific Idea.  Best way yet to have it all set up just b/4 a gig.  Your the king!  Thanks again

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ FC 1 and 2
Next Topic:

    S700 Piano ››