mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "HELP ! i just got my motif rack xs and no sound …:("

   
Page 3 of 5
Posted on: December 16, 2009 @ 12:18 PM
kidA1280
Total Posts:  68
Joined  12-13-2009
status: Experienced

i’m thinking i need to install the driver again

its not showing up in ams > midi

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 16, 2009 @ 02:57 PM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1743
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

this is what i see under AUDIO MIDI SETUP > MIDI DEVICES…
USB 02
YAMAHA MOTIF R XS
and the
EXTERNAL INSTRUMENT I CREATED

I have no idea what the USB 02 is. The Yamaha Motif R XS is the Yamaha-USB MIDI Driver If you did not create it and it has the set of triangles on the bottom. Make sure the Rack XS is in USB Mode and drag the virtual cable from the first triangle (port #1 out) to the External Instrument you created…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 16, 2009 @ 06:16 PM
kidA1280
Total Posts:  68
Joined  12-13-2009
status: Experienced

ok i’ll let you know

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 16, 2009 @ 09:45 PM
kidA1280
Total Posts:  68
Joined  12-13-2009
status: Experienced

still no sound (very aggravated at this point)

i dont know what i am doing wrong

do i need to set up the ports in studio manager for this too work

i went through your instructions and double checked everything twice

i’m still getting sound from logic but no sound from motif

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 16, 2009 @ 09:48 PM
kidA1280
Total Posts:  68
Joined  12-13-2009
status: Experienced

ahhh

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 17, 2009 @ 05:54 PM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1743
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

Resolved?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 17, 2009 @ 08:25 PM
kidA1280
Total Posts:  68
Joined  12-13-2009
status: Experienced

nope ... i have no idea where to go from here

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 17, 2009 @ 08:27 PM
kidA1280
Total Posts:  68
Joined  12-13-2009
status: Experienced

any ideas?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 17, 2009 @ 08:45 PM
kidA1280
Total Posts:  68
Joined  12-13-2009
status: Experienced

do i need to set up my studio manager ports ?

if so can you help?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 18, 2009 @ 12:01 AM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1743
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

Have you connected the Rack XS Stereo Main outputs to the Audio In of the Fast Track Pro???

I have not read the setup of the Studio Manager for the Rack XS but, it’s not very difficult. I would do a search within that forum…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 18, 2009 @ 01:48 AM
kidA1280
Total Posts:  68
Joined  12-13-2009
status: Experienced

so i have been working on this all night

i have found something i think that could be helpful

when i am in logic if i turn off the rack a disclaimer comes up

saying “instrument xs rack sends to a MIDI port named port 1 of midi interface “YAMAHA MOTIF R XS” which no longer exists

i dont know if that tells you anything or not ... 

so right now to go over it again my set up is as followed

the fast track pro, midi keyboard and motif rack are all connected usb
i connected the motif “out” to the fast track “in” via midi cable like you said in your last post
and

the speakers are connected to the fast trackpro

i’m getting sound from my logic but still no sound from my motif

when i’m in logic i click external instrument

click xs rack ( the one i created )

and click channel 1

no sound

i just uploaded the driver again (trying to start over from scratch)
with it connected usb and still no difference

i’m stumped

all sound from i tunes and logic and any other are all going through fast track to monitors

in AMS > MIDI DEVICES
i created an external instrument called “XS RACK” and hooked it to “YAMAHA MOTIF R XS” downward left most triangle from the yamaha motif r xs TO the downward left most triangle of the “xs rack”

MIDI IN/OUT ON the rack is USB mode

trying to retrace my steps for you

thanks for the continued communication

sean

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 18, 2009 @ 10:32 AM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1743
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

the fast track pro, midi keyboard and motif rack are all connected usb
i connected the motif “out” to the fast track “in” via midi cable like you said in your last post
and

the speakers are connected to the fast trackpro

Sean, the connection between the Rack XS and the Fast Track pro is not MIDI Cable but Audio: a regular 1/4” instrument cable/ guitar cable. Take the cables you normally have hooked up to your amp and plug them into the Fast Track Pro’s Audio In 1 & 2. Another option is to use the Rack XS’ Digital Output via coaxial cable (RCA Pin) to the Fast Track Pro’s Digital In. You would also need to check the preference in System Properties>Other>Fast Track Pro to the S/PDIF In.

Everything else in your setup sounds fine. Also, when clicking on the external instrument, you should be able to hear the Rack XS via your regular amp (if still connected) or headphones. (It will not contain any sound from Logic’s Instruments).

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 18, 2009 @ 11:44 AM
kidA1280
Total Posts:  68
Joined  12-13-2009
status: Experienced

i think i’m getting caught up in the terminology you are using

so i’m going to take a regular audio cable hook it in the l/r audio output of the motif ( there are 2 audio outputs , mono and assignable) which one ? 

then hook the other end to my fast track pro in the s/pdif inputs (multiple unused outputs there also)

then check s/pdif input in PREFERENCES > OTHER > FAST TRACK PRO

i hope i am understanding you right ....

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 18, 2009 @ 11:49 AM
kidA1280
Total Posts:  68
Joined  12-13-2009
status: Experienced

if i did the second senario

plug into the digital output of the motif where does the other side go in the fast track ?

no digital output

this is what i have remaining open on the fast track outputs 1-4
and s/pdif 1-2

my monitors are plugged into the trs output

sean

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 18, 2009 @ 12:11 PM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1743
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

so i’m going to take a regular audio cable hook it in the l/r audio output of the motif ( there are 2 audio outputs , mono and assignable) which one ?

Use the L/R.

then hook the other end to my fast track pro in the s/pdif inputs (multiple unused outputs there also)

No! Into the front of the unit: instrument inputs 1,2.

then check s/pdif input in PREFERENCES > OTHER > FAST TRACK PRO

Disregard…

if i did the second senario

At this point, forget about the second scenario. Audio cables from the Rack XS’ L/R to the front of the Fast Track Pro.

and s/pdif 1-2

For the record, there is no S/PDIF 1-2. It is S/PDIF In and Out

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 3 of 5


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Sustain Pedal, Motif XS, Logic?
Next Topic:

    Help with Logic Studio and Motif Rack ES ››