mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Performing With Motif ES"

     
Posted on: April 21, 2009 @ 10:20 PM
Dick_Burns
Avatar
Total Posts:  19
Joined  01-13-2007
status: Regular

Hi folks.

I was using a S90ES as my performance board but have decided to make my life easier by switching to a Motif ES6.

I used Multi’s on the S90ES in master mode most of the time so that I could easily switch between voices and zone setups but the Motif doesn’t seem to have an equivalent mode.

Can anyone suggest a way to achieve similar results (other than performance mode) without having to load files from a computer or USB drive?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 21, 2009 @ 11:43 PM
SpongeBob
Total Posts:  1588
Joined  11-19-2006
status: Guru

The ES has Master mode where you can establish zones, etc. while the nearest thing to a multi on the ES is Song or Pattern mode. You can set up voices in each track in Song or Pattern mode to switch seamlessly between them.

Now you will be able to prerecord some licks as well using the sequencer :)

Bob

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 21, 2009 @ 11:53 PM
Dick_Burns
Avatar
Total Posts:  19
Joined  01-13-2007
status: Regular

Thanks SpongeBob.

Maybe I’m doing it wrong then. When I made changes in a Song and stored the changes when I turned the ES off and than back on again the changes were lost. Do I have to load a .m4e file each time I power up?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 22, 2009 @ 02:40 AM
sciuriware
Avatar
Total Posts:  9999
Joined  08-18-2003
status: Guru

Songs are not retained over a power down.
You got to save your songs, at least as ALLSONG files.

;JOOP!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 22, 2009 @ 11:24 AM
TheDukester
Total Posts:  3345
Joined  01-18-2003
status: Guru

Songs and Patterns are among the things that are in Volital memory and have to be saved onto a Flash Drive. As much of a hasstle as it may seem, it is necessary.

For maximum protection, you “should” Save to an “ALL File”.This way whatever you do in Voice Banks, Performances,Samples,Songs, Patterns etc,they will all get Saved or Loaded to/from the All File.They can then be accessed from the sub categories.
Just a thought....

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 22, 2009 @ 08:16 PM
Dick_Burns
Avatar
Total Posts:  19
Joined  01-13-2007
status: Regular

Thanks everyone.

I can see I’m going to have to keep a USB drive with me when I gig.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 23, 2009 @ 03:23 AM
DaveSchuler
Total Posts:  35
Joined  02-29-2008
status: Regular

I picked up a Smart Media card on eBay, and keep it bolted into my ES8.  You can set it up to auto-load songs at power up.  If you have a DIMM installed you can load user samples, too.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 24, 2009 @ 10:51 PM
SpongeBob
Total Posts:  1588
Joined  11-19-2006
status: Guru

And the SM Card loads/saves data much faster than USB as well.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 30, 2009 @ 09:11 PM
Dick_Burns
Avatar
Total Posts:  19
Joined  01-13-2007
status: Regular

Great advice! I just got my SmartMedia card but I haven’t figured out how to auto load the songs on it.

When I turn Autoload on in the utility menu the ES loads all of the demo songs instead of my saved songs. What am I doing wrong?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 30, 2009 @ 10:25 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36620
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

To create an Autoload ALL data file:
Once you have all the data in the Motif ES as you like it…
Press [FILE]
Press [F1] CONFIG
Press [SF1] CURRENT
Select the CURRENT parameter to “CARD” (or USB if so desired) You can autoload from either.
Press [F2] SAVE
Set the file TYPE to ALL
Cursor down between the brackets and Name the file literally, “AUTOLOAD.W7A”
Press [ENTER]

To teach the Motif ES where to look for this file:
Press [UTILITY]
Press [F1] GENERAL
Press [SF4] OTHER
Set the AutoLoad parameter to ON
Press [SF5] GET This will register the current location (the last one you lloked at) as the place to look for the AUTOLOAD file
Press [STORE] to lock in your UTILITY mode setting

Now when you next power up the Motif ES (with the CARD in the slot) it will locate your file and load your data returning your Motif ES to your favorite settings - loading all your Voices and samples, Songs and Patterns, and Utility mode settings, automatically. If the Card is not found it will load the factory settings.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 01, 2009 @ 12:09 AM
Dick_Burns
Avatar
Total Posts:  19
Joined  01-13-2007
status: Regular

Thanks everyone!

I’m ready now for my first gig (tomorrow night) with this board.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Adding Sonar8 - What else will I need?
Next Topic:

    recording ››