mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Recording Arpeggios from the Motif Es to Logic Pro"

     
Posted on: February 16, 2009 @ 01:12 PM
Troove
Total Posts:  1
Joined  02-16-2009
status: Newcomer

Hello together,

I have a question regarding syncing my Motif ES to Logic and recording the arpeggios from the motif into logic. I want to be able to record, say a drum arpeggio into my logic sequenzer for further editing. How do I do that so that logic only records the arpeggio data, but not my key presses to trigger the arpeggio?

Here my setup as followed:

I have hooked up my motif via mlan to my mac. I usually record all of the 16 midi tracks seperately using the “external midi instrument” into logic.

I have set Midisync on my motif as followed:
Midisync: Midi
Clock Out: off
SeqCtrl: off
LocalCtral: off

Thanks for your help!

Troove

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 17, 2009 @ 09:51 AM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1742
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

I’ll post another answer once I get to my board but, in the interim: you can always record it into the ES’ sequencer, export it as a midi file, and drag and drop right into Logic

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 19, 2009 @ 12:51 PM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1742
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

Ok, this somehow ate my previous post so here goes again:

My XS and internet connection are not in the same place so I’m sorry for the delay.

In Logic select from the Toolbar>Settings>Metronome and change MID Port to Off. Select the MIDI Tab and in MIDI Thru, change the Instrument Without MIDI Thru to ‘Input Notes’

Reverse these settings when finished

Create a software instrument track to record onto (this prevents a MIDI loop). Leave it blank. And, arm it to record…

On the XS, from Song Mode, select SEQ SETUP, and change to ‘4’. Press enter to set it and exit. Press Record, then F2 (Arpeggio). Set switch and hold to on. If you dont select hold, you’ll have to keep the key depressed. Select your arps and turn the Master Arpeggio On / Off to on…

Press ‘R’ to start recording in Logic and press a key to start the arp on the XS. Change arps as necessary. When finished, drag the regions to your External instrument track so you can hear it play… Edit, et cetera, et cetera…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 19, 2009 @ 12:54 PM
motif8mine
Avatar
Total Posts:  1742
Joined  10-22-2004
status: Guru

Don’t quite know how this posts re-appeared. Particularly, after I went through all the trouble of writing the above post due to the fact that this one just vanished on me.

But, since I guess you can no longer remove posts, consider this one removed…

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Next Topic:

    XS6 and Logic Express 8 ››