mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Newbie Keyboard Selection Advice"

Posted on: December 01, 2010 @ 02:06 PM
Jeff_Calla
Total Posts:  1
Joined  12-01-2010

Greetings,

I am a beginning piano student and am looking for a keyboard with MIDI capabilities that would be used primarily when traveling.

From the poking around that I have done, it seems that one can only get a piano-type action by going to 88 Keys even though “most” piano compositions do not use 88 keys.

However, it is my understanding that 88 key keyboards are not “portable” in the sense that they can be handled by only one person.

I am considering the Motif series due to their sound, overall build quality, as well as enabling one to “grow” in an electronic/computer interfaced musical direction.

I recognize that the Motif series is getting into Cadillac level, but don’t want to buy a cheap toy.

Any advice is appreciated.

Sincerely,

JC AKA “Confused Newbie”

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 01, 2010 @ 05:16 PM
rajaman
Total Posts:  39
Joined  02-15-2009

Confused Newbie,

Recently I was sort of in the same boat as you.  That is, I liked the 88 keys but not the weight of such a board.  I realized that, not being a “gigging” musician, I chose the Motif XF8. I couldn’t resist the feel of the balanced hammer keys. Plus, I play a lot of jazz and the extra keys do come in handy. If you plan to take your keyboard on the road, I’d recommend an XF7 (or an XF6 if you can get by with only 61 keys).