mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Can I use MOTIF XF6 as a MIDI to Logic Pro on my MAC (Monterey)?"

Posted on: March 05, 2024 @ 03:50 PM
hemanjk
Total Posts:  25
Joined  08-24-2015

Hello All,
I have been recording music with my Yamaha Motif xf6 for many yrs now via Audio only. One of the recording professionals mentioned that it is only better to record via MIDI in order to be able to quantize notes better (To mix and Master the Tracks) and I also want to be able to use good Voice Tones from online.

Hence I wanted to connect my Motif XF6 as a MIDI to Logic Pro on my MAC (Monterey)?

DAW: Logic Pro
Keys: Motif xf6
System: iMac 2015 - Monterey 12.7.1
Memory: 16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Firewire Port: Yes

Is this connection possible and how do I make this happen?

Thank you for your help & support.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 06, 2024 @ 11:18 AM
- Henry -
Total Posts:  165
Joined  10-30-2011

Hi,

I think the Yamaha Steinberg FW Driver (Audio + MIDI via FireWire) only works on Mac OS X. Therefore, the USB To Host port (MIDI only) on the rear of the Motif XF is your only way to make a direct connection, without a separate MIDI interface.

To use the Motif XF as a MIDI device for your computer via the USB To Host port, you need to install the USB-MIDI Driver before connecting the instrument. Also make sure the XF has the USB port selected as its MIDI In/Out Interface in the Utility menu (refer to p.56 of the Owner’s Manual) before connecting. The cable is a standard USB type A male to type B male cable.