mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "IEEE Firewire updater"

     
Posted on: August 28, 2020 @ 04:45 AM
srlaudio
Total Posts:  7
Joined  05-05-2009
status: Newcomer

I have a Motif XS and have updated my computer to a 5.1 Mac Pro.  I hooked up the firewire cable and nothing is working, so I downloaded the newest firmware upgrade (1.07) and launched it.  It says my current firmware is 1.08.  I do not understand how this is possible, what should I do?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 28, 2020 @ 10:49 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11492
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

Several questions…
1) Which OS is the Mac running?
2) Which model is the XS - XS8/XS7/XS6?
3) If XS7 or XS6, which FireWire interface is installed - mLAN16E2 or FW16E?
4) Was the FW interface previously installed and working, or is this a recent installation?
5) Which version of the Yamaha FW Driver is installed on the Mac?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 28, 2020 @ 11:14 AM
srlaudio
Total Posts:  7
Joined  05-05-2009
status: Newcomer

Hello.  I am running Mojave on the mac.  I dowloaded and installed 1.7.5 FW driver.  It is a IEEE1394 MLAN S400.  I don’t think it has ever been used.  The FW panel shows the Motif 6XS and shows the version number 1.08.  I have been unsuccessful getting XS Editor to talk to it, and I have Melas librarian and Karma waiting to get everything going.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 28, 2020 @ 11:59 AM
srlaudio
Total Posts:  7
Joined  05-05-2009
status: Newcomer

Hello,

Things started working!  I went into Utility MIDI and set it to mLan.  The Motif editor hooked up, as well as the librarian.  I can’t wait to get all this stuff jamming, and I am on the way!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 28, 2020 @ 12:06 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11492
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
srlaudio - 28 August 2020 11:14 AM

Hello.  I am running Mojave on the mac.  I dowloaded and installed 1.7.5 FW driver.

OK, YSFW Driver 1.7.5 is correct for Mojave/10.14

 

srlaudio -

It is a IEEE1394 MLAN S400.  I don’t think it has ever been used.  The FW panel shows the Motif 6XS and shows the version number 1.08.

The only possibilities for version 1.08 to have been installed are…
- if the interface is an FW16E, or
- if an mLAN16E2 was updated for use with a Motif XF

For use with an XS, the mLAN16E2 shouldn’t be updated beyond version 1.07. An FW16E, although it comes with version 1.08 installed, will work with an XS.

 

srlaudio -

I have been unsuccessful getting XS Editor to talk to it, and I have Melas librarian and Karma waiting to get everything going.

See https://usa.yamaha.com/support/updates/52005_en.html
Note that:
“Version 1.08 should be used for the mLAN16E2 installed to ONLY MOTIF XF series.”
--- and ---
“Version 1.07 can be used for the n8/n12 or the mLAN16E2 installed to the MOTIF XS series.”

Unfortunately, I don’t believe you can revert the mLAN16E2 firmware from 1.08 to 1.07.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 29, 2020 @ 12:06 AM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  1039
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

For anyone interested in how a Mac Pro 5,1 can run Mojave:

The Mac Pro 5,1 is not a Mojave qualified machine, so it is safe to expect all kinds of problems with software and drivers. 

In my opinion, Apple unfairly disqualified this high end mac, but here’s some background:

Running Mojave on a Mac Pro 5,1 (early 2009 or later) involves some unofficial upgrades and updates. If it’s a later 5,1, from 2010 or 2012 then ignore the first step :

- An early 2009 model must be flashed to firmware for a mid-2010 and mid-2012 Mac Pro, first.

- BootROM then updated to version MP51.0089.B00 and then the OS to High Sierra 10.13.6

- When that’s done, a Metal capable graphics card is required.

- Then you can upgrade your firmware once more and install Mojave.

It’s a hack at best and there are many reports of it not being reliable or stable for a lot of reasons.

This all may or may not be relevant to this thread.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 29, 2020 @ 03:34 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11492
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
srlaudio - 28 August 2020 11:59 AM

Hello,

Things started working!  I went into Utility MIDI and set it to mLan.  The Motif editor hooked up, as well as the librarian.  I can’t wait to get all this stuff jamming, and I am on the way!

You posted the above while I was replying to your previous post. If you’re successfully running an mLAN16E2 with version 1.08 firmware then Yamaha is incorrect about not using that version with an XS. Congratulations.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 31, 2020 @ 09:20 PM
srlaudio
Total Posts:  7
Joined  05-05-2009
status: Newcomer

Hi I have been running Mojave on this mac for a long time.  It is a mid 12 machine, and apple themselves have this to say.......

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208898

I have been running Harrison Mixbus 32c with no problem, ditto Logic 10, Reaper, Audivarna, Pages, well just about anything out there!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 01, 2020 @ 11:44 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  1039
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

That’s great.

Would you mind telling us which Metal capable graphics card you have installed?  (From the list)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 02, 2020 @ 03:00 PM
srlaudio
Total Posts:  7
Joined  05-05-2009
status: Newcomer

Sure: Nvidea Geforce GT680

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 03, 2020 @ 07:55 PM
srlaudio
Total Posts:  7
Joined  05-05-2009
status: Newcomer

One thing that was disappointing to me was that unknown to me, Apple and Nvidia have been in a stupid spat for several years, and Apple has not allowed them to post updates for the Nvidia cards in Macs.  The card works fine with my monitor, but I am not able to use the co processing that should be happening that speeds up the computer.  I did install a six core processor in place of the 4 that came in the machine, so it is no slouch, but I really wish I could use that extra capability......

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ XS8 SPDIF
Next Topic:

    Share drum rolls ››