mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Getting Motif XF patch names list into my DAW (Digital Performer)?"

     
Posted on: May 24, 2020 @ 01:57 AM
roman
Total Posts:  28
Joined  01-03-2006
status: Regular

I searched the Digital Performer help manual. I searched the Motif XF manual. I googled. I searched this forum. Maybe I didn’t search thoroughly enough. I am very frustrated.

All I want to do is be able to select MOTIF XF patches from within my DAW by name.

I used to do this with Logic. Each MIDI track in Logic had the main MIDI messages to call up the patches for that song from each MIDI module. MIDI bank number and MIDI program number and MIDI volume etc. And if someone had typed up a patch name list then you could recall the patch name of a specific MIDI module from with Logic. That was years ago before I bought the Motif XF.

From what I have read it seems that there are MIDI device patch name files that can be loaded into the Mac OS ‘Audio MIDI Setup’. Which then gives you the patch names within your DAW.

Is there something wrong with me. Even the Motif XF owners manual doesn’t mention anything about this in the ‘connecting to a computer, using the Motif XF as a sound module’ section. It just describes a Motif XF editor VST plug in. Some modern DAW apparently don’t even support VST format.

Why is this fundamental requirement for using an industry standard MIDI synth sequenced from a DAW with patch names in the DAW so elusive to learn about. Aaaaaah! Help me keep my sanity please,
Thanks,
Roman.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 24, 2020 @ 03:45 AM
roman
Total Posts:  28
Joined  01-03-2006
status: Regular

I have made a little progress. I have the patch name parameters included in the MIDI track parameters of a Digital Performer MIDI track. This allows me to switch the patch of a Motif MIDI channel. But the names are some GM names list. IOW unrelated to the actual Motif XF patch name.

This post looks related to my goal:
http://www.motunation.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=59216

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 24, 2020 @ 03:51 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11494
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

I believe you’re looking for a “midnam” file.
Try the third post by digitalperformer7 in this thread:
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/458229

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 24, 2020 @ 04:24 PM
roman
Total Posts:  28
Joined  01-03-2006
status: Regular

I have downloaded a Motif XF midnam file from digicakes website.
https://digicake.com/midnams/

I am instructed to go to:/Library/Audio/MIDI Devices/MOTU folder
I have entered ~/Library into the ‘go to folder’ to show the Library folder in Mac OS Sierra.
I go to the ‘Audio’ folder. In the ‘Audio’ folder there are these folders:
MIDI configurations
MIDI drivers
Plug-Ins
Presets
Sounds

Do I need to create a folder called MIDI devices/MOTU to put the midnam file in? Am I missing the midday file which I have read about?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 25, 2020 @ 03:56 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11494
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
roman - 24 May 2020 04:24 PM

I have downloaded a Motif XF midnam file from digicakes website.
https://digicake.com/midnams/

I am instructed to go to:/Library/Audio/MIDI Devices/MOTU folder
I have entered ~/Library into the ‘go to folder’ to show the Library folder in Mac OS Sierra.
I go to the ‘Audio’ folder. In the ‘Audio’ folder there are these folders:
MIDI configurations
MIDI drivers
Plug-Ins
Presets
Sounds

Do I need to create a folder called MIDI devices/MOTU to put the midnam file in? Am I missing the midday file which I have read about?

I don’t use Digital Performer, although I’m aware of some aspects of it. Hopefully another Motifator member will post on this topic. In the meantime…
1) I presume by “midday” that you’re referring to a “middev” file. Yes, there needs to be one - it defines the MIDI device.

2) You haven’t revealed which version of DP you’re using. In older versions a proper installation and configuration created a /Library/Audio/MIDI Devices/MOTU/Yamaha folder. I don’t know if recent versions do things differently.

If you don’t get sufficient help here, you might try contacting MOTU directly:
https://motu.com/techsupport
Of course, current conditions might impact availability.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ MotifXF VST
Next Topic:

    Cover of PSB’s Tonight is Forever ››