mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Why am I getting this Error Message?"

     
Posted on: February 06, 2020 @ 01:52 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  965
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

When I had my MOXF8, I was able to trigger its drum sounds from my Roland V-Drum kit, but now that I have a MOXF6, when I hook up the Roland to it, I get the following Message:

Incompatible USB device.

Why?  :)

Jerry

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 06, 2020 @ 03:56 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11200
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

Presuming that both the MOXF8 and MOXF6 have the same version of the OS installed, they should behave identically - disregarding, of course, the keybed.

From the MOXF Owner’s Manual, page 63:
“Incompatible USB device - A USB device which cannot be used with this instrument has been connected to the USB [TO DEVICE] terminal”

Translation:
You’ve done something that won’t work.  :-)

So, what the heck are you doing differently now? Did you directly connect the V-Drum to the MOXF via USB? If so, that’s the problem.

Perhaps this will refresh your memory:
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/481024/

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 06, 2020 @ 04:06 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  965
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Hi 5pD!

It’s been so long since I tried to use them together that I simply forgot :)

1) You are right, I have to use the 2 usb cables in the manner you told me.

2) I have set up an External MIDI Instrument track in LPX, and when I hit a key on my MOXF6, the appropriate drum sounds, but when I strike Roland pad, I see that LPX is receiving a signal, it just not being heard.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 06, 2020 @ 04:11 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  965
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

It’s working now!!

On LPX, I had to set the port to Port 1 :)

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jerry

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 06, 2020 @ 04:37 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11200
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
jerrydpi - 06 February 2020 04:11 PM

It’s working now!!

On LPX, I had to set the port to Port 1 :)


Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jerry

You’re welcome!

I love it when the problem gets solved by referring someone to a previous thread. I’d rather press the keys on my Motif than the ones on the computer keyboard. ;-)

  [ Ignore ]