mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "I need help in deciding…"

Posted on: February 13, 2019 @ 03:19 AM
helminsen
Total Posts:  4
Joined  02-10-2019

Hello,
I am new to this forum and Yamaha synths.
Currently I own a MX49 but are just into upgrading, and have a dilemma now in choosing the right model.

I’m standing between a new MOXF6 and a fully refurbished (as new) Motif XS6…
Almost identical price (about USD800).
Have read a lot and looked at reviews of the two But what model should I choose?

I’m just a newbie still learning and are looking for a workstation that has good sounds, arps, easy to use sequencer etc.

What of these two models will give me most for the money (about USD 800)?

Any suggestions and hints is highly appreciated.

Thank you!

Best regards,
Lars

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 13, 2019 @ 08:50 AM
5pinDIN
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010

Welcome to the forum.

A bit more information might help us advise you.
How do you expect to use the synth? Will you…
- use it standalone or with a DAW?
- want to add a lot of new samples?
- gig with it (perhaps eventually)?

Tell us anything else that might relate to your anticipated usage.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 13, 2019 @ 10:19 AM
helminsen
Joined  02-10-2019

Thank you @5pinDIN!

The synth will probably just be used at home for playing and composing.

I bought a MX49 by mistake as I thought of bringing this small light board to work with me (navigator on commercial ships) but too few keys and miss the possibility of sequencing (not gotten to much into DAWs yet...).

So…
- It will be used as a stand alone for quite a while until I find out that i will get more into the “DAW world” :D