mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "MOXF6 USB MIDI"

     
Posted on: January 29, 2019 @ 05:22 PM
nrb2013
Total Posts:  3
Joined  01-29-2019
status: Newcomer

I’m trying to hook a MOXF6 up via USB to a MocBook Pro for a Mainstage rig. The MOXF6 is up to date with it’s firmware (v1.12), the Steinberg USB Driver( V1.10.4), and the OS is 10.13.6. I have swapped the USB cable and port on the MacBook Pro. I can get the MOXF8 to work but none of the MOXF6 I have tried will work.

Any ideas? TIA!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 31, 2019 @ 09:01 AM
zpink
Avatar
Total Posts:  371
Joined  08-02-2014
status: Enthusiast

Since the MoXF8 works the drivers must be correct, one must assume.
Have you checked the obvious?
Utility -> MIDI -> OTHER and made sure MIDI IN/OUT is set to USB and not MIDI?
Pretty silly to call the DIN port MIDI…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 31, 2019 @ 10:39 AM
nrb2013
Total Posts:  3
Joined  01-29-2019
status: Newcomer

Yes, they are both set to USB.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 31, 2019 @ 11:18 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10793
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

Some details might help us help you…

Exactly what does “none of the MOXF6 I have tried will work” mean?
What do you see with the MOXF8 that you don’t get with a MOXF6?

What is the exact port name you’re using when trying to connect to the MOXF6?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 01, 2019 @ 08:36 AM
nrb2013
Total Posts:  3
Joined  01-29-2019
status: Newcomer

I have tried 3 different MOXF6 units which have only lived in a studio and not been moved. Not one of the 3 MOXF6s worked via USB.

I am hooking into the USB B (To Host) port on the MOXF6.

This is the screen I get in Mainstage.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1avy7_jVoqkOQWtQSF5qGIA5THaziAJkL

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 01, 2019 @ 10:00 AM
zpink
Avatar
Total Posts:  371
Joined  08-02-2014
status: Enthusiast

And if you select the same port that works with the MoXF8 when you have your MoXF6 connected, it doesn’t work?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 01, 2019 @ 01:29 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10793
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

I don’t use MainStage, but in general…

The five MOXF8 port assignments can’t be used for a MOXF6. The MOXF6 and its ports have to be recognized by the driver.

Presuming that the driver is installed and MIDI IN/OUT is set to USB:
1) The MOXF6 should be connected via USB, and fully booted.
2) Then the computer should be booted and MainStage started.

If that order is reversed, typically the MOXF won’t be recognized. You might be able to have the Mac rescan for MIDI devices. Once recognized, the ports should be seen in MainStage.

An explanation of the purpose of each of the five MOXF ports is on page 54 of the MOXF Owner’s Manual. Activate them as required for the application.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 01, 2019 @ 05:02 PM
zpink
Avatar
Total Posts:  371
Joined  08-02-2014
status: Enthusiast
5pinDIN - 01 February 2019 01:29 PM

I don’t use MainStage, but in general…

The five MOXF8 port assignments can’t be used for a MOXF6. The MOXF6 and its ports have to be recognized by the driver.

Oh, interesting, I wonder if that’s an Apple thing.
In Cubase running on my Windows machine, the ports are named not specifying which MoXF I have.

Please see attached.

Never too old to learn something new! :-)

Image Attachments
MIDIports.JPG
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 01, 2019 @ 06:49 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10793
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
zpink - 01 February 2019 05:02 PM
5pinDIN - 01 February 2019 01:29 PM

I don’t use MainStage, but in general…

The five MOXF8 port assignments can’t be used for a MOXF6. The MOXF6 and its ports have to be recognized by the driver.

Oh, interesting, I wonder if that’s an Apple thing.
In Cubase running on my Windows machine, the ports are named not specifying which MoXF I have.

Please see attached.

Never too old to learn something new! :-)

Sorry, I should have explained in a bit more detail.

Just having ports listed doesn’t necessarily mean that the driver is actually seeing/recognizing the currently connected unit. That’s why I mentioned the need for proper boot order, or possibly a rescan by the Mac for connected MIDI devices.

I don’t know how MainStage determines the port names. As your screen capture shows, Cubase sees the ports as “MOXF8/MOXF6-X” (where “X” is the port number). If MainStage truncates “MOXF8/MOXF6” to “MOXF8”, that could make it harder to determine if ports of a connected MOXF6 are being seen.

Perhaps a user of MainStage with MOXF6 will post and clarify that.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 01, 2019 @ 06:51 PM
stoneb3
Total Posts:  841
Joined  06-05-2011
status: Guru

Click on Mainstage 3 to the right of the apple. Scroll down to Preferences and over to Midi, click. Mainstage will report if the instrument is detected. Note the setup bar to the right. Clicking on that will take you to the Mac’s Audio Midi Setup page, also accessible thru Utilites>Audio Midi Setup. Close the Network Browser to view the Setup. Click on the instrument to configure your ports. Let us know how you make out.

Stone

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 01, 2019 @ 07:05 PM
stoneb3
Total Posts:  841
Joined  06-05-2011
status: Guru
5pinDIN - 01 February 2019 06:49 PM


I don’t know how MainStage determines the port names. 

I surely don’t know either, some sort of wizardry for sure. Anything I’ve plugged into the Mac and Mainstage instantly received their proper device names. Some sort of spyware I suppose. I don’t even Facebook.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 01, 2019 @ 07:52 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10793
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
stoneb3 - 01 February 2019 06:51 PM

Click on Mainstage 3 to the right of the apple. Scroll down to Preferences and over to Midi, click. Mainstage will report if the instrument is detected. Note the setup bar to the right. Clicking on that will take you to the Mac’s Audio Midi Setup page, also accessible thru Utilites>Audio Midi Setup. Close the Network Browser to view the Setup. Click on the instrument to configure your ports. Let us know how you make out.

Stone

Thanks for that, Stone - appreciated!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 01, 2019 @ 08:55 PM
stoneb3
Total Posts:  841
Joined  06-05-2011
status: Guru

You’re welcome!

  [ Ignore ]