mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Creating a Split"

     
Posted on: November 21, 2018 @ 11:12 AM
allen mills
Total Posts:  24
Joined  04-29-2008
status: Regular

I am trying to meticulously follow the instructions in the manual, but when attempting to create a split, I end up with both sounds across the entire keyboard, no matter where I set the split point.

Any idea what I might be doing wrong?

Lower is indeed selected for the bass part; split is pretty low - c1 or so. But after following all steps, depressing the voice button does indeed show both voices covering the whole keyboard.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 21, 2018 @ 12:37 PM
cmayhle
Total Posts:  3087
Joined  10-05-2011
status: Guru

Your keyboard (whether MOX6 or MOX8) does not go down to C-1, so if you are setting that note, it appears you are trying to assign a Split Point that does not exist.

See pages 10 and 11 of the MOXF Owner’s Manual for the key numbering of your instrument, and assign Split Points based on those diagrams.

On page 32 of the Owner’s Manual (Step 3), try using the “[SHIFT] + hit a note” tip to manually locate the Split Point.

Finally, be sure to NAME and STORE the PERFORMANCE, or it will disappear when you navigate away.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 21, 2018 @ 04:52 PM
allen mills
Total Posts:  24
Joined  04-29-2008
status: Regular
cmayhle - 21 November 2018 12:37 PM

Your keyboard (whether MOX6 or MOX8) does not go down to C-1, so if you are setting that note, it appears you are trying to assign a Split Point that does not exist.

See pages 10 and 11 of the MOXF Owner’s Manual for the key numbering of your instrument, and assign Split Points based on those diagrams.

On page 32 of the Owner’s Manual (Step 3), try using the “[SHIFT] + hit a note” tip to manually locate the Split Point.

Finally, be sure to NAME and STORE the PERFORMANCE, or it will disappear when you navigate away.

Not C-1. That was a dash, not a negative. Just C1. And I did use shift to select a note, thinking maybe that would solve the problem, which it didn’t. And the problem isn’t that I can’t store it. It’s that I can’t get it to work in the first place. I’m always hearing both instruments across the entire range of the keyboard. Think maybe I’ll try a factory reset next and just re-create my favorites list.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 21, 2018 @ 08:33 PM
muscarella
Total Posts:  384
Joined  11-01-2003
status: Enthusiast

I may be chiming in inappropriately, but just a reminder (based on my own experience) that there are other settings (Limits for instance) that can frustrate and confuse your attempt to set a Split Point or Layer. Or vice versa, a Split Point fighting with keyboard Limitations. It doesn’t sound like that’s what’s happening to you, but I just mention it before you do a Factory Reset or anything drastic. I’ve also found the Performance Creator to be not so handy-dandy and often leaves me with voice and programming conflicts that cause me to toss it all out and build the Performance from scratch in some other fashion.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 22, 2018 @ 04:15 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10549
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

Although proper setting of the Performance Creator Split LO/UP Parameter should result in the Parts playing over the desired ranges, as muscarella mentioned you could certainly set Note Limits in Performance mode.

See (7) Note Limit on page 56 of the MOXF Reference Manual (http://download.yamaha.com/file/60478).
Also see [SF2] PLY MODE on page 59 and SplitLo/Up on page 64.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 23, 2018 @ 12:22 PM
allen mills
Total Posts:  24
Joined  04-29-2008
status: Regular

I use the MOXF8 in my studio 95% of the time, and always have Local Control off and trigger it via MIDI through Pro Tools. The incoming MIDI signal triggers both sounds. It finally dawned on me to turn Local Control on and MIDI off, since I’ll only be using it in split mode during live performance. Mystery solved!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 23, 2018 @ 02:11 PM
cmayhle
Total Posts:  3087
Joined  10-05-2011
status: Guru
allen mills - 23 November 2018 12:22 PM

I use the MOXF8 in my studio 95% of the time, and always have Local Control off and trigger it via MIDI through Pro Tools. The incoming MIDI signal triggers both sounds. It finally dawned on me to turn Local Control on and MIDI off, since I’ll only be using it in split mode during live performance. Mystery solved!

Important information!  Glad you got it working.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Pads for worship
Next Topic:

    MOXF -- Control 4 Part Volumes of Performance? ››