mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Bypassing Internal Audio Interface with DAW"

     
Posted on: October 22, 2018 @ 02:00 AM
Jkeys12
Total Posts:  2
Joined  10-21-2018
status: Newcomer

Hey new user here!
Can someone help me connect my MOXF-8 to my external audio interface (RME UCX) into Logic Pro X (2012 MAC) so that I’m able to:

1) Play the keyboard using the internal Yamaha sounds
2) Play the keyboard as DAW controller using the VST sounds from my MAC

I’d like to be able to go back and forth between the 2 easily.

Thanks!
J

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 22, 2018 @ 02:30 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  963
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

Hi Jkeys12,

Welcome to the forum.

When you say you’re a new user, do you mean you’re a new MOXF user, or new to the whole set up you have listed, including Logic?

I can answer your question very easily if you know a thing or two about your set up already by saying something like this:

1 - Choose the RME interface as the input and output audio interface in Logic’s audio set up preferences. Connect it first and install drivers, of course.

2 - Connect the MOXF’s ‘To Host’ USB to your Mac and the MIDI will work without a driver of any kind.

3 - Create Instrument tracks for your virtual instruments in Logic and they will work right away and be playable from your MOXF if your MOXF is connected via USB (done in step 2). The audio from them will come out of your RME (because you chose the RME in step 1).

4 - To hear the voices from your MOXF as well, and to swap between virtual instruments and your MOXF voices, or hear them side by side, you need to connect the left and right analog outputs of your MOXF into the audio inputs of your RME. Line inputs 1 and 2 for example. 

That’s enough to send the audio from your MOXF to Logic, so far, but not to hear it yet.

To hear it, you need to create a stereo audio track in Logic with matching inputs. (1 and 2) and the key thing here is that you also need to click the Input Monitoring button (the ā€œIā€ icon) in the track header, otherwise you will not hear it at all.

This is all presuming that you have your RME interface’s main outputs connected to an amp and/or speakers, because all audio will now run through your RME.

This isn’t the only way, but it fits the equipment you’ve listed perfectly.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 28, 2018 @ 05:12 AM
Jkeys12
Total Posts:  2
Joined  10-21-2018
status: Newcomer

Great thanks!  I’m new to MOTIFATOR but also fairly new and inexperienced with home recording as well.... I’ll try your suggestions and let you know...much appreciated!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 28, 2018 @ 02:00 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  963
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru
Jkeys12 - 28 October 2018 05:12 AM

Great thanks!  I’m new to MOTIFATOR but also fairly new and inexperienced with home recording as well.... I’ll try your suggestions and let you know...much appreciated!

You’re welcome.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Performance XS to MOXF .... how ...?
Next Topic:

    Pitch bend stepping ››