mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "deeper I go arps"

     
Posted on: September 12, 2018 @ 09:41 PM
mkeschinger
Total Posts:  70
Joined  10-25-2011
status: Experienced

Hi Gang,
Is there a list somewhere that tells me what arps are doing? My goal is just a repeated note. Tempo is 70bpm 4/4, I need it as 8th notes. Just a simple D repeated so I can play with one hand and control cutoff with the other. Looking to duplicate hillsong- here as in heaven.Pretty sure I can split and layer as I need to for the other parts. Will have another board for piano part. ANY help is appreciated. :)

MK

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 13, 2018 @ 05:30 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10486
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

See http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/473257/
For the XF, the Arps I mentioned are numbered 7386, 7390, 7454, and 7455.
Those specific Arps are shown on page 89 of the XF Data List (http://download.yamaha.com/file/52366). (The Arpeggio Type List begins on page 45.) Although the Original Tempo isn’t what you asked for, that can be edited as needed.

Also see…
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/support/view/arpeggios_explored_part_i
...especially the section headed Historical view: Early Arps went UP/DOWN, DOWN/UP….

In addition, the “Put Track to Arpeggio” sequencer Job could be used to create your own User Arp.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 13, 2018 @ 01:53 PM
mkeschinger
Total Posts:  70
Joined  10-25-2011
status: Experienced

Thank you! I will try them!
I was looking to see if there was something that showed what each arp actually does. Like up or down scale, alternating notes, random,etc. What the actual pattern is, if there is one. Looking at the names, my eyes start to cross. I could create one, but with so many of them already there, I’d like to be able to use what I have, if possible. :)
Thanks again! :)

MK

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 13, 2018 @ 03:55 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10486
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
mkeschinger - 13 September 2018 01:53 PM

Thank you! I will try them!

You’re welcome.

 

mkeschinger -

I was looking to see if there was something that showed what each arp actually does. Like up or down scale, alternating notes, random,etc. What the actual pattern is, if there is one. Looking at the names, my eyes start to cross. I could create one, but with so many of them already there, I’d like to be able to use what I have, if possible. :)
Thanks again! :)

MK

Unfortunately, the descriptions you’re specifically asking for aren’t available. Perhaps auditioning the Arps in the Seq > Genrl category will help. Here’s a way to do that…

1) Select a blank/initialized Song
2) Press [MIXING] > [EDIT] > [1] (to edit Part 1)
3) Press [F1]VOICE > [SF1]VOICE
4) Set Param. with Voice (Parameter with Voice) on
5) STORE the Song Mixing
6) Verify the blank Song is selected
7) Press [MIXING] > [EDIT] > [1]
8) Press [ARPEGGIO ON/OFF] (turn Arps on)
9) Press [F2](ARP Main)
10) Set Switch (Arpeggio Switch) on
11) Set Hold (Arpeggio Hold) on
12) Set Voice with ARP (Voice with Arpeggio) on
13) Select the Arp to audition (by Category/Type, or [CATEGORY SEARCH])
14) Press a key or keys
15) Repeat step 13

Step 11 determines whether keys need to be held down to hear the entire Arp. Step 12 ensures that a Voice appropriate for the Arp Type is selected - other Voices could be chosen, if desired. Arp looping can be turned on/off via the [F3](ARP Other) Loop setting.

Note that with Voice with ARP “on”, some Arps can sound quite different than with it “off” and a different Voice selected. For example, with Voice with ARP “on” the Type 7454 and 7455 ones use “PRE 6:119 Freaky Loop”, sounding unlike what they would with a simple piano Voice. Depending on the Voice you choose, for a repeated note you might want to stick with Types 7386 or 7390.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 13, 2018 @ 09:36 PM
mkeschinger
Total Posts:  70
Joined  10-25-2011
status: Experienced

Ok.think i have one set up.Now i just need to figure out why it cuts out. I have it on a split and when i go to certain notes out of the split it kills the arp hold in the area that has the sound and the arp. I have a bass sound goingg up to b1 with an arp. When i hit the c or the d above that, it cuts out. :(

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 14, 2018 @ 04:36 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10486
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
mkeschinger - 13 September 2018 09:36 PM

[...] I have a bass sound goingg up to b1 with an arp. When i hit the c or the d above that, it cuts out. :(

There’s a Part Note Limit for both the Voice and the Arp. It seems that you set the Voice upper Note Limit to B1 for the split, but did you set the Arp one similarly? In Part Edit mode, press [F2](ARP Main) and check the upper Note Limit setting, which should be B1.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 21, 2018 @ 04:00 PM
mkeschinger
Total Posts:  70
Joined  10-25-2011
status: Experienced

Didn’t know they were separate.  I will check that tonight. Figured If I applied an arp to a particular sound, it would be set within the limits of the sound. :)
Thank You!
MK

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 23, 2018 @ 04:40 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10486
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
mkeschinger - 21 September 2018 04:00 PM

Didn’t know they were separate.  I will check that tonight. Figured If I applied an arp to a particular sound, it would be set within the limits of the sound. :)
Thank You!
MK

You’re welcome!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 04, 2018 @ 08:26 PM
mkeschinger
Total Posts:  70
Joined  10-25-2011
status: Experienced

Ok, i give. I can’t find the arp main you mentioned in my performance. I can set the limit for the voice. Not the arp. I can change the arp, type, etc. but not the key limit. Dove back into the manual for adjusting arps in a perfomance and it doesn’t show it either..:(

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 05, 2018 @ 03:58 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10486
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
mkeschinger - 04 October 2018 08:26 PM

Ok, i give. I can’t find the arp main you mentioned in my performance. I can set the limit for the voice. Not the arp. I can change the arp, type, etc. but not the key limit.

From Performance Play mode…
Press [EDIT]
Press [1]~[4] to select the specific Part
Press [F2](ARP Main)
Note Limit is the fifth Parameter down on the left of the display

(For Parts in Songs or Patterns, this can be done similarly from Mixing mode. Select Part [1]~[16].)

 

mkeschinger -

Dove back into the manual for adjusting arps in a perfomance and it doesn’t show it either..:(

See (5) Note Limit on page 112 of the XF Reference Manual (http://download.yamaha.com/file/48531).

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 05, 2018 @ 09:59 AM
mkeschinger
Total Posts:  70
Joined  10-25-2011
status: Experienced

Wow.. never would have found that one on my own…
Yep set higher. All better now. :)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 05, 2018 @ 02:25 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10486
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
mkeschinger - 05 October 2018 09:59 AM

Wow.. never would have found that one on my own…
Yep set higher. All better now. :)

Deeper, indeed. I’m glad we got that resolved.
Editor next?  :-)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 05, 2018 @ 02:36 PM
mkeschinger
Total Posts:  70
Joined  10-25-2011
status: Experienced

Yep- trying to get that time in between work, a sore throat and a new 3yr old dog.... Plan is tonight though. Be on the look out. There may be a flurry of questions. ;)
Thanks again 5!

MK

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Motif XF display problem . need help !
Next Topic:

    FS: Motif XF 8 ››