mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "All of my XS8’s sounds are distorted beyond recognition.  Please read my post."

   
Page 1 of 2
Posted on: June 01, 2018 @ 12:43 PM
HackTown
Total Posts:  36
Joined  08-23-2012
status: Regular

I have what appears to be a very serious problem.

I am using my Motif XS8 as the controller for my workstation, which consists of my PC, Reason 10 software with the Focusrite Scarlet 2i4 interface and Mackie monitors.

With my pc’s mousepad on top of the XS8, I recall many times where the pressure on the mousepad inadvertently pressed buttons on the XS8 (on the right side).  When I did notice this, I would hit the EXIT button on the XS8, so as not to save any unintentional button pressing that was happening.

This past weekend I attempted to play the XS8 sounds and every sound is significantly distorted to the point you can’t tell what the sound should be.  In addition, all of the sounds have an electric/voltage effect to the sound.

I reset the keyboard to its original factory settings hoping that would fix it, but it didn’t work. 

Any guidance on how to fix this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
HackTown

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 01, 2018 @ 01:07 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10062
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru

Let’s try to narrow down the possible causes…

Disconnect all cables going to the XS8, except the AC power cord.

Plug headphones into the XS8 PHONES jack.

How do things sound on the headphones?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 11:23 AM
HackTown
Total Posts:  36
Joined  08-23-2012
status: Regular

I just disconnected all cords except the power cord and played through my headphones.  No change. :(

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 12:03 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10062
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru

Is it quiet or noisy when a key is not depressed?

If possible, please make a short (just a few seconds) recording of the problem and attach it to a post.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 12:33 PM
HackTown
Total Posts:  36
Joined  08-23-2012
status: Regular

It is quiet.

I have attempted to attach the sound file, but I can’t see that it is attached. Please confirm.

Perhaps this site won’t work with a M4A file?

If not, can I email the file to you?

Thanks

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 12:44 PM
HackTown
Total Posts:  36
Joined  08-23-2012
status: Regular

I’m going to send you a drop box link.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 12:46 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10062
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
HackTown - 02 June 2018 12:33 PM

I can’t tell if the file is attached to reply.  Please confirm.

Thanks.

There’s no attachment.

The typical reason a file won’t attach is that it’s not the correct type. Try to ZIP it first.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 12:54 PM
HackTown
Total Posts:  36
Joined  08-23-2012
status: Regular

I didn’t record via Reason.  Instead I recorded on my IPhone from monitor. It is listed as an M4A file and automatically plays in my Microsoft Groove Music app.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 12:55 PM
HackTown
Total Posts:  36
Joined  08-23-2012
status: Regular

Please click on drop box link below.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/k1thtpukmzmahs4/Full Concert Grand.m4a?dl=0

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 03:33 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10062
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru

My internet access is somewhat limited, but I was finally able to listen to your recording. Unfortunately, it sounds as bad as I could imagine based on your description.

Let’s try one more thing…
Connect your monitors to the ASSIGNABLE OUTPUT L and R jacks.
Select Performance USER 1 A05 Chilln Keys
Press [EDIT] > [4] > [F1](Voice) > [SF2](Output)
Set Output Select to asL+R (sends Part 4 to Assignable outs)
Play the keyboard. How does Full Concert Grand sound routed that way?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 03:56 PM
HackTown
Total Posts:  36
Joined  08-23-2012
status: Regular

I followed your suggestion and got the same horrible sound with Chilln Keys from the monitors.

When I switched to Full Concert Grand, it didn’t come out of the monitors but only my headphones and its the same obnoxious sound. :(

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 04:21 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10062
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
HackTown - 02 June 2018 03:56 PM

I got the same horrible sound with Chilln Keys from the monitors.

When I switched to Full Concert, it didn’t come out of the monitors but only my headphones.

It is the same obnoxious sound. :(

What you described would typically happen if you connected the monitors to the main L/MONO and R OUTPUTS. Please verify that you did not connect the monitors there.

By following my instructions, the Part 4 sound of Chilln Keys (which is Full Concert Grand) should be available at the L and R ASSIGNABLE OUTPUT. It might or might not be distorted, but it should be there. Let us know.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 04:43 PM
HackTown
Total Posts:  36
Joined  08-23-2012
status: Regular

I can verify that I correctly connected via L and R Assignable Output and followed your instructions. Part 4 was the same terribly distorted sound.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 05:11 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10062
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
HackTown - 02 June 2018 04:43 PM

I can verify that I correctly connected via L and R Assignable Output and followed your instructions. 

I didn’t know that Part 4 was the Full Concert Piano.  It was the same terribly distorted sound.

OK, thanks for clarifying that.

The reason I asked you to try the Assignable Output is that it uses a different DAC (Digital-to-Analog Converter) than the main outputs. Since both the main and assignable outputs sound bad, it tends to eliminate problems with the DACs themselves.

One possibility is that a voltage supply may be significantly out of spec. Unfortunately, unless you are experienced and comfortable working on electronics, it’s probably time for a qualified technician to have a look.

One last thought…
Although it’s a rare situation, sometimes problems with DIMMs can cause strange symptoms. If your XS8 has them installed, you might try removing them and seeing if there’s any change.

Best of luck.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 02, 2018 @ 05:38 PM
HackTown
Total Posts:  36
Joined  08-23-2012
status: Regular

I do have an installed DIMMs. It’s been about 4 years since it was installed. I will check to see if removing it makes a difference and if not, I suppose it is time to send off to be dealt with by a Yamaha tech.

Curious, in all your experience with the Motif, does this sound like something that should be fixable with a reasonable outlay or is it possible that some how it is beyond repair?

I am confident the keyboard has not been dropped or had liquids spilled on it, etc.

Have you ever heard of a power surge doing something like this?

Let me know and thank you for all your help.

I sincerely appreciate it.

HackTown

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 03, 2018 @ 09:12 AM
HackTown
Total Posts:  36
Joined  08-23-2012
status: Regular

5pinDIN, Would you happen to have a phone number at Yamaha that I can call to have them diagnose and repair my board?

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 1 of 2


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ IOS vst on XS
Next Topic:

    Multi track Output to Cubase ? ››