mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Midi question"

Posted on: February 21, 2018 @ 04:35 PM
matje
Total Posts:  45
Joined  12-12-2012

Hello,

I am totally new in midi, so please forgive me when I ask an strange question.

First I imported a midi files into the Motif XS. Next I muted some channels. The I changed the voice of the channels I want to hear and saved the song. When the midi file is played, the voices change again.

How do I make sure the voice on a channel keeps the voice I selected?

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 21, 2018 @ 06:45 PM
5pinDIN
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010
matje - 21 February 2018 04:35 PM

Hello,

I am totally new in midi, so please forgive me when I ask an strange question.

OK, but please forgive me - we have to agree to use the same terminology which relates to the XS, or we won’t be communicating.  :-)

matje -

First I imported a midi files into the Motif XS.

I presume you mean that you loaded a .MID file to an XS Song location. If not, please tell us.

matje -

Next I muted some channels.

The term “mute” is often misused - it has a particular meaning with reference to the XS. An XS Part/Voice or Track can be “muted”. Exactly what did you do?

matje -

The I changed the voice of the channels I want to hear and saved the song.

You apparently changed the Voices related to certain Parts, which are assigned to certain Tracks, and then saved the edited Song.

matje -

When the midi file is played, the voices change again.

I presume you mean that when you played the previously edited and saved Song, the Voices reverted to what they were before you changed them.

matje -

How do I make sure the voice on a channel keeps the voice I selected?