mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "SYSEX Command for switch part in a song"

   
Page 2 of 2
Posted on: November 19, 2017 @ 09:10 AM
lucazabbini
Total Posts:  14
Joined  11-18-2017
status: Regular

Yes 5pin, i know how to do…
But unfortunately this forum don’t let me attach any file.
I tried so many times, without success.
However, sorry if insist, but it’s only matter to change track in a song via sysex, without pressing phisically a button.
Exactly the same procedure that you told me, it works in Mixing mode.
But i would like that works in Song mode, without pressing Mixing everytime.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 19, 2017 @ 11:03 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9581
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
lucazabbini - 19 November 2017 09:10 AM

Yes 5pin, i know how to do…
But unfortunately this forum don’t let me attach any file.
I tried so many times, without success.

Strange - it works for me - see attached file.

 

lucazabbini -

However, sorry if insist, but it’s only matter to change track in a song via sysex, without pressing phisically a button.
Exactly the same procedure that you told me, it works in Mixing mode.
But i would like that works in Song mode, without pressing Mixing everytime.

A couple of years ago I posted how to select single Parts from a Song Mixing of 15, for the XS:
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/475656/
The same can be done with the XF, by changing the model ID (fifth byte) in the messages from 03 to 12. This approach will not work as it stands with Mixings that have splits/layers. I wanted to see what your Mixings look like in order to determine if I could adapt the concept for your needs.

I have nothing further to offer at this time.
Perhaps someone else can provide what you “insist” on.

I’d like to insist on world peace, but…

File Attachments
XF Factory Songs.n3.X3S.zip  (File Size: 87KB - Downloads: 6)
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 19, 2017 @ 04:02 PM
lucazabbini
Total Posts:  14
Joined  11-18-2017
status: Regular

I just finished to try this method.
But this don’t solve my problem because this Sysex changes only the receive channel of a part in the song, and i don’t want to change the channels.
As Katsikas said in the forum, “I was focused on “how do I tell the machine to press a button for me”…
I hope that there’s a way to switch the parts of the Song mode via sysex..
Anyway, thank you very much for your patience ;)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 19, 2017 @ 04:46 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9581
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
lucazabbini - 19 November 2017 04:02 PM

I just finished to try this method.
But this don’t solve my problem because this Sysex changes only the receive channel of a part in the song, and i don’t want to change the channels.
As Katsikas said in the forum, “I was focused on “how do I tell the machine to press a button for me”…

So nice of you to take what he said out of context. Here’s the entire post:

katsikas - 23 July 2015 03:47 AM

That’s brilliant!  I just couldn’t conceptualize my “problem” correctly as I was focused on “how do I tell the machine to press a button for me”.  Good outside-the-box thinking here 5pinDin!

Steve

 
 

lucazabbini -

I hope that there’s a way to switch the parts of the Song mode via sysex..
Anyway, thank you very much for your patience ;)

Unfortunately, hope doesn’t provide solutions. It’s also unfortunate that you’re unwilling to reveal any details of what you’re doing. That makes it difficult to determine what might be applied for your needs.

Good luck.  ;-)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 21, 2017 @ 02:42 PM
lucazabbini
Total Posts:  14
Joined  11-18-2017
status: Regular

Sorry, i didn’t want to be rude,
I think there have been misunderstandings.
The problem is that I tried to upload the file on this forum several times and unfortunately it does not let me do it.
I have no reason to hide details about my songs, indeed…
As I repeat, I have no other way than to explain my setup in words.
I have some layers:
example track 1 and track 2 on the same channel 1 (synth 1 and synth 2)
track 3 is a hammond
Track 4 and 5 are combined strings
track 6 there are brass

Now, using the last method you told me, every time I should change the midi channels of each single track to make it sound on channel 1.
While I was looking for a way to switch the parts exactly as you told me at the beginning of doing the Mixing mode (and it worked perfectly!)
Now I wonder, can this only work in Mixing mode, but it does not work in Song mode?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 21, 2017 @ 04:00 PM
cmayhle
Total Posts:  3007
Joined  10-05-2011
status: Guru
lucazabbini - 21 November 2017 02:42 PM

...Now I wonder, can this only work in Mixing mode, but it does not work in Song mode?

MIXING Mode IS SONG Mode (or PATTERN Mode).

It is very important to know that you can only enter MIXING Mode from a SONG or PATTERN, the reason being that the MIXING is within the SONG itself.

It is simply a different view of the SONG.  It is the SONG’s MIXING, the same as if you were in a studio working on a song, and turned your attention to the mixing board itself.

There are certain things you can edit or manipulate in the SONG window, and certain things you can edit or manipulate only by going to the SONG’s MIXING view.

5pinDIN explained this earlier in the thread, I am re-stating it because there still seems to be some confusion.

I know this does not resolve your dilemma, but it is important to keep the concept of how the XF functions clear.

Per attaching a file:  Did you ZIP the file first, as was suggested?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 22, 2017 @ 01:21 PM
lucazabbini
Total Posts:  14
Joined  11-18-2017
status: Regular

I tried with .RAR but nothing to do..... :(

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 22, 2017 @ 02:29 PM
lucazabbini
Total Posts:  14
Joined  11-18-2017
status: Regular

Can anyone solve this other problem?
Everytime that i connect my Motif XF to my DAW (which sends Sysex to my Motif), the Portamento on my tracks in Motif turns off… How can i resolve this?
Thanks in advance

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 23, 2017 @ 07:19 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9581
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
lucazabbini - 22 November 2017 01:21 PM

I tried with .RAR but nothing to do..... :(

.RAR ≠ .ZIP

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 2 of 2


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Part reverts to Poly after being set to Mono in Song mode
Next Topic:

    motifxf 6 to 8 ››