mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Brass sounds strange"

     
Posted on: October 03, 2017 @ 10:31 AM
rvdkamp
Total Posts:  5
Joined  06-01-2011
status: Newcomer

Hi there,
I have a little problem with some of my brass sounds.
Playing in my band i’ve used several brass sounds for a long time and then some of this brass sounds, sounds totally strange! Like a set of ‘chipmonks’ (i don’t know a better word for it)

Does anyone have an idea what is going wrong?

René

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 03, 2017 @ 10:56 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9584
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru

Please be a bit more specific, since “chipmunks” is somewhat vague.

If any of the brass sounds you’re referring to are XS Preset Voices, please provide bank/number of some examples.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 03, 2017 @ 11:19 AM
rvdkamp
Total Posts:  5
Joined  06-01-2011
status: Newcomer

First I want to thank you for answering me.

I really don’t know the exact word for it.
I’m using several sounds from the Brass Voice bank for XS.
The sounds are stored in User bank 3.
Everytime I power on my motif, I am loading my ‘standard’ set of voices and I’m doing this for several years now.
When I have made some changes i make a new backup, to load this ‘last’set the next time I’m powering up.

But now I have a few brass sounds that are sounding so strange I don’t can use them anymore. There are some saxes an d trumpets, that are sounding almost the same.
There is a sax sound that sounds very strange, but when I’m hitting the keynotes harder, the sound seems to be allwright.

Could it be possible that the sounds are saved corrupted maybe?

Regards, René

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 03, 2017 @ 02:13 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9584
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
rvdkamp - 03 October 2017 11:19 AM

First I want to thank you for answering me.

No problem, you’re welcome.

 

rvdkamp -

I really don’t know the exact word for it.
I’m using several sounds from the Brass Voice bank for XS.
The sounds are stored in User bank 3.

Is this what you’re referring to?…
http://shop.motifator.com/index.php/voice-libraries/motif-xs-voice-libraries/orchestral/brass-voice-bank-for-motif-xs.html
...If so, it might help to determine what’s happening if you would name specific Voices that don’t seem correct when played now.

 

rvdkamp -

Everytime I power on my motif, I am loading my ‘standard’ set of voices and I’m doing this for several years now.
When I have made some changes i make a new backup, to load this ‘last’set the next time I’m powering up.

OK.

 

rvdkamp -

But now I have a few brass sounds that are sounding so strange I don’t can use them anymore. There are some saxes an d trumpets, that are sounding almost the same.
There is a sax sound that sounds very strange, but when I’m hitting the keynotes harder, the sound seems to be allwright.

Most Voices use several Elements. Those Elements often use different samples - some may be built-in (from ROM), and others may be loaded into the optional DIMMs (SDRAM). It’s possible that some samples might not be loading correctly to SDRAM.

The Elements can be programmed to sound at different velocity levels and different key ranges. It could be that the Utility mode Velocity Curve setting has been changed. Perhaps it had been set to “soft” when things sounded right, and now is set differently, making it harder for certain Voice Elements to be heard. So the first thing I would suggest is checking the Velocity Curve setting.

 

rvdkamp -

Could it be possible that the sounds are saved corrupted maybe?

If Velocity Curve isn’t the problem, the next thing I’d suggest is reloading (from the original Brass library file) any Voice that doesn’t sound right. When loading, set the Type to “voice” and load only one Voice, to the location it’s presently at in the User Bank. That should overwrite the Voice and load any required samples into SDRAM. If the Voice then plays correctly, STORE it. Do the same with any other Voices as necessary. Then save a new “All” file.

  [ Ignore ]