mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "S90 do not boot anymore"

     
Posted on: October 02, 2017 @ 12:10 PM
livetrack
Total Posts:  8
Joined  10-02-2017
status: Newcomer

Hello,
I have an Yamaha S90 who not boot anymore. If I turn power on the Display light up, but nothing more.
I have tried with the OS Update to flash the system again, but at Block#2 it freezed.
To give a better understanding I have create a little Video from the Flash-Process.

Can anyone help me to repaire the S90?

Greetings from Germany
Michael

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 02, 2017 @ 12:46 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9904
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
livetrack - 02 October 2017 12:10 PM

Hello,

Welcome to the forum.

 

livetrack -

I have an Yamaha S90 who not boot anymore. If I turn power on the Display light up, but nothing more.
I have tried with the OS Update to flash the system again, but at Block#2 it freezed.

Were there any symptoms before this happened?
 

livetrack -

Can anyone help me to repaire the S90?

Perhaps. Let us know if there were earlier symptoms.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 02, 2017 @ 01:06 PM
livetrack
Total Posts:  8
Joined  10-02-2017
status: Newcomer

Hello 5pinDiN,

I dont know about any earlier symptoms.
The previous owner said that it works fine before this error.
It was only used at home in the livingroom and it looks like so.

Sorry, that you can’t download the video… I can load up to youtube. Is it a solution for you?

Michael

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 02, 2017 @ 01:12 PM
livetrack
Total Posts:  8
Joined  10-02-2017
status: Newcomer

here is the video on youtube:
https://youtu.be/jcHHJpFPXh4

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 02, 2017 @ 01:27 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9904
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
livetrack - 02 October 2017 01:06 PM

Hello 5pinDiN,

I dont know about any earlier symptoms.
The previous owner said that it works fine before this error.
It was only used at home in the livingroom and it looks like so.

The S90 is known to have capacitors fail. This may or may not be related to your current problem:
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/478647/

 

livetrack -

Sorry, that you can’t download the video… I can load up to youtube. Is it a solution for you?

Unfortunately, no.

Are there any messages on the screen?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 02, 2017 @ 01:58 PM
livetrack
Total Posts:  8
Joined  10-02-2017
status: Newcomer

No there is nothing in the Display - only light up.
I can start the OS Update Tool with Power on while pressing MASTER, UTIL and STRORE.
But I can not Start the Test Mode with CATOGORY SEARCH, REMOTE CONTROL and MUTE/SOLO.
Do you think it make sense to check the Power-Unit?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 02, 2017 @ 02:25 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9904
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
livetrack - 02 October 2017 01:58 PM

No there is nothing in the Display - only light up.
I can start the OS Update Tool with Power on while pressing MASTER, UTIL and STRORE.

If “there is nothing in the Display”, then how did you determine that the updater started?

 

livetrack -

But I can not Start the Test Mode with CATOGORY SEARCH, REMOTE CONTROL and MUTE/SOLO.
Do you think it make sense to check the Power-Unit?

You could check voltages (as well as for excessive ripple, with an oscilloscope) at the main power supply, and at the various other points as mentioned in the thread I linked to.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 02, 2017 @ 02:33 PM
livetrack
Total Posts:  8
Joined  10-02-2017
status: Newcomer

I can start the Updater ... this shows than on the Display

Image Attachments
S90 Updater.jpg
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 02, 2017 @ 02:34 PM
livetrack
Total Posts:  8
Joined  10-02-2017
status: Newcomer

... and during the update it freezed and show this at the last time

Image Attachments
S90 stopped update.jpg
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 02, 2017 @ 02:39 PM
livetrack
Total Posts:  8
Joined  10-02-2017
status: Newcomer

To check the voltages I must go to friend who has an oscilloscope.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 02, 2017 @ 02:58 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9904
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
livetrack - 02 October 2017 02:39 PM

To check the voltages I must go to friend who has an oscilloscope.

While you’re at it, see page 74 of the S90 Service Manual.
https://elektrotanya.com/yamaha_s-90.pdf/download.html

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 09, 2017 @ 06:01 AM
livetrack
Total Posts:  8
Joined  10-02-2017
status: Newcomer

hello 5pinDIN,
I have send a PM to you....

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 09, 2017 @ 10:40 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9904
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
livetrack - 09 October 2017 06:01 AM

hello 5pinDIN,
I have send a PM to you....

Request in PM complied with.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 17, 2017 @ 11:11 PM
jazzersky
Total Posts:  2
Joined  03-28-2007
status: Newcomer

Hello!

I also ran up with booting problems.
When starting up the dispay doesn’t go beyond memory reading.

I took my S90 to a Yamaha workshop, the guy tried reading service logs, checked capacitors and even changed one, but couldn’t fix the problem.

He’s advice was to try to get a replacement DM board.
Yamaha doesnt have them anymore.

I need to find a solution ASAP, because my son in using it for piano lessons. Or buy something new.

Cheers, Gregor

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 18, 2017 @ 05:20 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9904
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
jazzersky - 17 December 2017 11:11 PM

Hello!

Welcome to the forum.

 

jazzersky -

I also ran up with booting problems.
When starting up the dispay doesn’t go beyond memory reading.

Exactly what is displayed on the S90 screen?

 

jazzersky -

I took my S90 to a Yamaha workshop, the guy tried reading service logs, checked capacitors and even changed one, but couldn’t fix the problem.

The S90 Service Manual diagrams the boot sequence and has procedures to help localize problems when the system freezes. Hopefully the person who attempted to repair the S90 applied that information.

 

jazzersky -

He’s advice was to try to get a replacement DM board.
Yamaha doesnt have them anymore.

I need to find a solution ASAP, because my son in using it for piano lessons. Or buy something new.

My location is very far from Slovenia, so I can’t help directly. Since time is critical, buying something new might be your best option.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 19, 2017 @ 01:35 AM
jazzersky
Total Posts:  2
Joined  03-28-2007
status: Newcomer

Booting would’t go beyond “ Now checking system memory” screen.

When problem first appeared it stuck one screen further:
“Now checking plug-in board”

When I restarted it, it did’t make it that far anymore.

Funny thing is, I lately had a feeling it needed a bit longer to boot up as before.

Because of urgent situation, I decided and oredered a MOXF8.
Now I don’t have that time pressure to fix S90.

Anybody here has a working DM board to sell ?

  [ Ignore ]