mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Loading single voices with sample"

     
Posted on: July 17, 2017 @ 01:54 PM
Kicko
Total Posts:  9
Joined  10-07-2016
status: Newcomer

I have made a .X3A file with the Melas software and been trying to load a single voice and sample to my Moxf6. I have followed the instructions in this guide:
http://www.easysounds.eu/MOXF_FlashGuide_en.pdf
I choose the file and go on to select where to store it, but then the right “box” (where the name of the .X3A file should be) is empty so i can’t load anything. Any suggestions to what’ s wrong?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 17, 2017 @ 02:51 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9296
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
Kicko - 17 July 2017 01:54 PM

[...]I choose the file and go on to select where to store it,[...]

More details would be helpful. What steps did you take between choosing the file and selecting where to store it? (Presuming “it” is the desired Voice, and not the entire X3A file.)

Text excerpted from page 6 of the linked PDF…
---------------
STEPS TO LOAD SINGLE VOICES:
• In FILE mode set Type to „Voice“
• Select the file from the right list view
• If necessary enable the options „with Waveform“ & „with Sample“
• Press [ENTER] to go to the list of your source Bank
• Bank = select source Bank USER 1, USER 2, or USER 3 and confirm with [ENTER]
• Select the Voice from the list view using the data wheel or the [YES / NO] buttons
• Use the arrow button [<] to select the target Bank and target Voice
• Use the [SF1] button („EXEC“) to start the loading procedure
• !!The loading procedure is started immediately without confirmation!!
• Initially the message „Now loading ...“ and then „Now installing to the Flash Expansion Memory Module“ will appear on the display to inform you about the current status
--------------

Which step are you unable to complete?

Also see [F3] LOAD, File Type “Voice”, on page 156 of the MOXF Reference Manual (http://download.yamaha.com/file/60478).

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 17, 2017 @ 10:01 PM
Kicko
Total Posts:  9
Joined  10-07-2016
status: Newcomer

Hello and thank you for your reply. It seems like i can load the file if i choose type “all” or “1bankvoice”. If i choose one of those, then the “exec” button shows up, but not if i choose type “voice” (and i would like that, because then i would just overwrite a single sound, instead of the whole bank right?)

When i choose “voice” and follow the steps above, the “exec” button never shows up.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 18, 2017 @ 05:23 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9296
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
Kicko - 17 July 2017 10:01 PM

Hello and thank you for your reply.

You’re welcome.

 

It seems like i can load the file if i choose type “all” or “1bankvoice”. If i choose one of those, then the “exec” button shows up, but not if i choose type “voice” (and i would like that, because then i would just overwrite a single sound, instead of the whole bank right?)

Yes, properly loading a single Voice from the file will allow overwriting of only one User Voice location.

 

When i choose “voice” and follow the steps above, the “exec” button never shows up.

It’s likely that you aren’t completing all of the steps.

Let’s break the procedure into smaller groups, starting with…
STEPS TO LOAD SINGLE VOICES:
• In FILE mode set Type to „Voice“
• Select the file from the right list view
• If necessary enable the options „with Waveform“ & „with Sample“
• Press [ENTER] to go to the list of your source Bank

At that point, what do you see displayed in the box at the right?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 18, 2017 @ 06:58 AM
Kicko
Total Posts:  9
Joined  10-07-2016
status: Newcomer

Hello, at that point i see the folders “user1, user2… 3....4 and user drum” in the box to the right
Above it says: root/mysample.X3A

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 18, 2017 @ 07:04 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9296
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
Kicko - 18 July 2017 06:58 AM

Hello, at that point i see the folders “user1, user2… 3....4 and user drum” in the box to the right
Above it says: root/mysample.X3A

OK, good - those are the User Banks.

Next step…
• Bank = select source Bank USER 1, USER 2, or USER 3 and confirm with [ENTER]

After selecting/highlighting the User Bank your Voice is in and pressing [ENTER],
what’s displayed in that box?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 18, 2017 @ 07:23 AM
Kicko
Total Posts:  9
Joined  10-07-2016
status: Newcomer

Nothing in the right box
To the left i see where i can store the voice, for example Usr1:002
Above it says:  root/mysample.X3A/User1

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 18, 2017 @ 08:51 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9296
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
Kicko - 18 July 2017 07:23 AM

Nothing in the right box [...]

That’s strange. There were some problems reading certain files with early versions of the MOXF firmware. Before we go further, let’s determine which version is installed in your MOXF.

Press the [UTILITY] button, then press the [JOB] button.

What is displayed for “Firm”?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 18, 2017 @ 09:21 AM
Kicko
Total Posts:  9
Joined  10-07-2016
status: Newcomer

It´s V1.12.0

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 18, 2017 @ 09:45 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9296
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
Kicko - 18 July 2017 09:21 AM

It´s V1.12.0

OK, that’s the most recent version.

In that case, the file created by the Melas software might be incompatible.

Would you see if individual Voices from a factory-provided X3A file will display properly?

The CP1 piano:
http://download.yamaha.com/file/60662
The Voices get installed to the USER 2 Voice Bank.

You don’t have to actually load any of the Voices, just see if they’re listed after highlighting USER2 and pressing [ENTER].

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 18, 2017 @ 09:51 AM
Kicko
Total Posts:  9
Joined  10-07-2016
status: Newcomer

Ok, thank you. I will try it tomorrow and see if it works with that file. Once again a very big thank you for your time.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 18, 2017 @ 11:02 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9296
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
Kicko - 18 July 2017 09:51 AM

Ok, thank you. I will try it tomorrow and see if it works with that file. Once again a very big thank you for your time.

You’re very welcome. Let us know what you determine.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 18, 2017 @ 10:31 PM
Kicko
Total Posts:  9
Joined  10-07-2016
status: Newcomer

Hello again, as you suspected i had done the Melas file wrong. I did not create a Voice in the editor, only a Waveform which is why it didn’t show upon the box.
Now it works so now i´m going to fill the flashboard :-) Thank you for your support and sorry for the time.
I have to say that the support from you and this page is incredible. Have a nice wednesday.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 19, 2017 @ 03:36 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9296
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
Kicko - 18 July 2017 10:31 PM

Hello again, as you suspected i had done the Melas file wrong. I did not create a Voice in the editor, only a Waveform which is why it didn’t show upon the box.
Now it works so now i´m going to fill the flashboard :-) Thank you for your support and sorry for the time.
I have to say that the support from you and this page is incredible. Have a nice wednesday.

I’m glad to have helped you resolve the problem. The time spent is not a problem.

You have a nice day also - have fun filling the flash module.  :-)

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Moxf Legs
Next Topic:

    Performance and modwheel question ››