mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Using 2 footswitches to increment and decrement the active Performance number"

     
Posted on: May 05, 2017 @ 01:06 PM
Dr. Beat
Total Posts:  4
Joined  05-05-2017
status: Newcomer

Hey guys,

I´m trying to set up a configuration on my MOX6 which I thought would be quite straight forward, but apparently is not (for me).

Let´s assume I have stored 5 Performances at the numbers 001, 002,..., 005. While playing, I want to switch between all of them several times. In order to realize this, I want to use Footcontroller1 to increment the current Performance´s number, and Foorcontroller2 to decrement it.

Unfortunately, I cannot figure out how to set this up. I managed to use one footcontroller plugged to the FOOT-SWITCH [ASSIGNABLE] and assign it the functionality to either increment or decrement the PC number. But how can I use a second footcontroller to do the contrary, and use both in one setup?

I really appriciate your input, as this is driving me nuts ;)

Cheers

Dr. Beat

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 05, 2017 @ 05:22 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9350
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru

Welcome to the forum.

Unfortunately, there’s only one ASSIGNABLE FOOT SWITCH jack, so your choice is limited to either incrementing or decrementing the Program number via the FS setting.

Foot Controllers FC1 and FC2 are limited to settings of “off” or CC#1-95.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 06, 2017 @ 07:43 AM
Dr. Beat
Total Posts:  4
Joined  05-05-2017
status: Newcomer

Hi 5pinDIN, thanks for the welcome!

I got your point, thanks.

Do you see any other possibility for switching between different Voices (or even between different Performances like I mentioned above) by using Footcontrollers/-switches?
I mean, if I want to switch 10 times between 2 Voices V1,V2 (or Performances), for sure I could create 11 Voices V1,V2,V1,V2,V1,V2...(or Performances) placed one after the other in the memory, and assign the PC_Inc functionality to the Footswitch. But that does not seem to be “efficent” in terms of memory. Furthermore, it´s not flexible, because as soon as I´ll get to the last Voice/Performance memory number I created, there won´t be a way to get back to the first again by using Footswitches only.

Curious to read what you think about it.

Cheers.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 06, 2017 @ 08:07 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9350
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru

There may be a few possibilities, involving external gear.

First, we need to clarify a couple of things…
1) Are you familiar with using a Song or Pattern Mixing for selecting Voices for live play?
See http://www.motifator.com/index.php/support/view/using_a_mixing_program_to_organize_your_live_setup
For now, don’t be concerned about the need to use the MOX buttons to select a Part.

2) What computer platform are you using - PC/Mac, OS? Please update your member profile to reflect that information.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 06, 2017 @ 09:48 AM
Dr. Beat
Total Posts:  4
Joined  05-05-2017
status: Newcomer

All right,

I just read the document you linked. That´s quite a good explanation which revealed a new understanding of the mixing panel to me (should read more of that stuff).
So, using Mixing as a setup for live play became clear to me. Now comes the interesting point of selecting/switching parts of a Mixing without pressing the buttons ;)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 06, 2017 @ 10:11 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9350
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
Dr. Beat - 06 May 2017 09:48 AM

[...] Now comes the interesting point of selecting/switching parts of a Mixing without pressing the buttons ;)

Next step…

In http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/478902/ we’ve been working on this issue.

Since I haven’t had a reply to my last suggestion in that thread, I’ll repeat it here:
Try sending this SysEx message in Song (or Pattern) mode…
F0 43 10 7F 14 64 03 00 pp F7
where pp = Part, 00-0F hex (Part 1-16)
...with MOX in MIXING mode (press [MIXING] button)

For example…
F0 43 10 7F 14 64 03 00 01 F7 should select Part 2
F0 43 10 7F 14 64 03 00 04 F7 should select Part 5
F0 43 10 7F 14 64 03 00 0A F7 should select Part 11

You can use MIDI-OX (http://www.midiox.com/) to send messages (or another MIDI utility, if you prefer), as a test.

More to follow if you get that working.  :-)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 07, 2017 @ 03:31 AM
Dr. Beat
Total Posts:  4
Joined  05-05-2017
status: Newcomer

Cool, got that working :)

I used Cubase AI5 for setting up the SysEx message and for transmission.
MOX was “manually” set into Song-Mixing mode before transmitting the MIDI signal (btw., it also works fine in Pattern-Mixing mode).

What I don´t understand is some of the content of the SysEx message
F0 43 10 7F 14 64 03 00 pp F7
If get it right, the 3 bytes 64 03 00 are representing the Address High-Mid-Low. I checked the MOX6 Data List (pp. 104-126) and could not find any entry where the Address-High byte is 64h. So, I´m really wondering what the command behind this message is.

Did I say thanks yet? Thanks!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 07, 2017 @ 08:52 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9350
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
Dr. Beat - 07 May 2017 03:31 AM

Cool, got that working :)

I used Cubase AI5 for setting up the SysEx message and for transmission.
MOX was “manually” set into Song-Mixing mode before transmitting the MIDI signal (btw., it also works fine in Pattern-Mixing mode).

Thanks for verifying that. With appropriate model ID bytes, I knew it worked with my XS and XF in both Song and Pattern modes.

 

Dr. Beat -

What I don´t understand is some of the content of the SysEx message
F0 43 10 7F 14 64 03 00 pp F7
If get it right, the 3 bytes 64 03 00 are representing the Address High-Mid-Low. I checked the MOX6 Data List (pp. 104-126) and could not find any entry where the Address-High byte is 64h. So, I´m really wondering what the command behind this message is.

There are several undocumented SysEx messages, and that’s one of them. Some have been discovered by using MIDI-OX, looking at USB MIDI Port 4 (which is normally for communication with the Yamaha Editor) while operating panel buttons. The model ID for the Editor is different than that for the synth, but changing it to the one for the synth sometimes reveals a message that works. In this case, looking at Port 4 while selecting Parts in the Mix was how this SysEx was discovered.

 

Dr. Beat -

Did I say thanks yet? Thanks!

You’re welcome!

The next challenge is having pedals use that SysEx…
There are various products from MIDI Solutions (http://www.midisolutions.com) that can translate and output MIDI messages, including custom SysEx. Some will even increment values within a SysEx message.

However, there may be another approach to your original request…
http://www.midisolutions.com/prodfsw.htm
... where “Program Change INC/DEC” is one of the available functions. You might be able to use one pedal connected to the ASSIGNABLE FOOT SWITCH jack to increment Program Change, and the MIDI Solutions device with a second pedal to decrement it. Use with a MOX will also require…
http://www.midisolutions.com/prodpwr.htm

The disadvantage to incrementing or decrementing Programs in Voice or Performance mode is that the sound will cut off for an instant during the transition.

Note that in Song mode, Program Change can select one of the 16 Voices and place it in the Part that corresponds to the MIDI channel of the message. All of the other Parameters of the Part will remain unchanged. (At least on my XF - not verified on a MOX.) That may not be desirable.

In a Mixing the sound will continue until the next Part is selected and played, and that’s true whether a button is pressed or the F0 43 10 7F 14 64 03 00 pp F7 message is sent.

I’d suggest contacting MIDI Solutions, explain what your needs are, and see what they come up with.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Vocoder + Mic DRY signal
Next Topic:

    Vocoder ››