mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Triggering Arpeggio with modulation wheel"

     
Posted on: March 01, 2017 @ 12:05 AM
kvt
Total Posts:  71
Joined  04-30-2011
status: Experienced

Hi guys

I am trying to find a way to trigger ARPEGGIO with Modulation wheel…
Is it possible? So far I couldn’t find a way..
Let me know if possible…

Thank you

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 01, 2017 @ 02:16 AM
Vetalexy
Total Posts:  27
Joined  07-20-2015
status: Regular

If it is very necessary - nothing is impossible. It is necessary to use an external application (eg Lemur, Bome’s Midi Translator) to analyze the modulation wheel value. And transform them according to your plan in the SYSEX arpeggio switches (Data List p.129) or SYSEX arpeggio parameters (Data List p.132). Incidentally, in this embodiment, can be switched to a more than 6 arpeggios.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 01, 2017 @ 10:24 AM
kvt
Total Posts:  71
Joined  04-30-2011
status: Experienced
Vetalexy - 01 March 2017 02:16 AM

If it is very necessary - nothing is impossible. It is necessary to use an external application (eg Lemur, Bome’s Midi Translator) to analyze the modulation wheel value. And transform them according to your plan in the SYSEX arpeggio switches (Data List p.129) or SYSEX arpeggio parameters (Data List p.132). Incidentally, in this embodiment, can be switched to a more than 6 arpeggios.

Thank you very much Vetalexy ....

It sounds great but need to understand little more !
If you have time please explain little more in detail otherwise I will start exploring it…

K

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 02, 2017 @ 07:11 AM
Vetalexy
Total Posts:  27
Joined  07-20-2015
status: Regular

What exactly do you want to know?

Midi modulation controller number: 1
values (modulation depth): 0-127

Example SF switch (performance mode):

SF1:  IN - cc:1 value:0, OUT - SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 30 30 00 00 F7
SF2:  IN - cc:1 value:25, OUT - SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 30 30 00 01 F7
SF3:  IN - cc:1 value:50, OUT - SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 30 30 00 02 F7
SF4:  IN - cc:1 value:75, OUT - SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 30 30 00 03 F7
SF5:  IN - cc:1 value:100, OUT - SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 30 30 00 04 F7
SF6:  IN - cc:1 value:127, OUT - SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 30 30 00 05 F7

Example Arpegio set (performance mode):

For SF1:  SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 34 pp 3C lsb msb F7
For SF2:  SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 34 pp 3C lsb msb F7
For SF3:  SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 34 pp 3C lsb msb F7
For SF4:  SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 34 pp 3C lsb msb F7
For SF5:  SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 34 pp 3C lsb msb F7
For SF6:  SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 34 pp 3C lsb msb F7
******************************
pp - part number 00-03
lsb = arpnumber / 128; (to HEX)
msb = arpnumber % 128; modulo (to HEX)
https://www.easycalculation.com/ru/algebra/modulo-calculator.php
http://www.binaryhexconverter.com/decimal-to-hex-converter

arpnumber: form 1 to 7981
******************************

For example:

Set 1:  IN - cc:1 value:0, SF1, part:2 arpnumber:254 OUT - SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 34 01 3C 02 7E F7

Set 2:  IN - cc:1 value:10, SF4, part:1 arpnumber:1785 OUT - SYSEX: F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 34 00 42 0E 79 F7
...
etc.

So what is next:
1. Liine Lemur - the study of a simple script
2. Bome’s Midi Translator - creating presets
3. In any professional midi editor has midi translator
4. Or something else ...

By the way, the internal modulation You will not interfere? Think about how you want to disable it?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 02, 2017 @ 09:33 AM
kvt
Total Posts:  71
Joined  04-30-2011
status: Experienced

Thank you very much Vetalexy for your detailed reply!

I realized that I can use eve AF buttons to trigger ARP as I just need on and off switch of ARP

Let me explain you what I am after:-
I have created Indian hammered dulcimer patch and I am using ARP to create Trill. At the moment I am triggering Trill ARP by using velocity switching but I want to trigger through AF button as in reality when player actually plays Trill on hammered dulcimer they hit very less to get speed and create trill ! Also I need trill to be continue on next note as well when I play second note. Velocity switching doesn’t suit the actual articulation of instrument!

I just need ARP switch ON or OFF on AF button. As I am also using ARP trill on other Mandolin instrument (which is working fine with velocity triggering) I need actual ARP switch ON )for all the time for other instruments).

My all live set is in SONG MODE.

I would prefer to control trill through my left hand so I can play with right hand !

I tried to find ARP switching on CTRL set but could’t find.

My question is where and how can I place your SYS EXCL script?
If there is any web page describing this please forward me link so I can read and learn.
I don’t know much about SYS EXCL scripting. I have only used SYS EXCL for saving and loading data!

Thank you once again.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 02, 2017 @ 04:30 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9510
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru

To make sure I understand…
You want to play a Part in Song mode, and control whether the Arp for the Part is on/off by using the Mod Wheel - is that correct?

If so, I have a few questions…
1) Can you spare one additional User location for the Voice?
2) Can you spare a second of the sixteen Parts in a Mixing (instead of just one)?
3) Can you tolerate cutting the available polyphony in half?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 02, 2017 @ 07:13 PM
kvt
Total Posts:  71
Joined  04-30-2011
status: Experienced
5pinDIN - 02 March 2017 04:30 PM

To make sure I understand…
You want to play a Part in Song mode, and control whether the Arp for the Part is on/off by using the Mod Wheel - is that correct?

Yes that’s correct even If I can control on/off with AF buttons is fine!

5pinDIN - 02 March 2017 04:30 PM

1) Can you spare one additional User location for the Voice?

Yes !!

5pinDIN - 02 March 2017 04:30 PM

2) Can you spare a second of the sixteen Parts in a Mixing (instead of just one)?

Not really !

5pinDIN - 02 March 2017 04:30 PM

3) Can you tolerate cutting the available polyphony in half?

No!!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 02, 2017 @ 08:05 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9510
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
kvt - 02 March 2017 07:13 PM
5pinDIN - 02 March 2017 04:30 PM

To make sure I understand…
You want to play a Part in Song mode, and control whether the Arp for the Part is on/off by using the Mod Wheel - is that correct?

Yes that’s correct even If I can control on/off with AF buttons is fine!

5pinDIN - 02 March 2017 04:30 PM

1) Can you spare one additional User location for the Voice?

Yes !!

5pinDIN - 02 March 2017 04:30 PM

2) Can you spare a second of the sixteen Parts in a Mixing (instead of just one)?

Not really !

5pinDIN - 02 March 2017 04:30 PM

3) Can you tolerate cutting the available polyphony in half?

No!!

Too bad. Good luck.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 02, 2017 @ 09:57 PM
kvt
Total Posts:  71
Joined  04-30-2011
status: Experienced

How about that if I create one more song just dedicated to this sound and If I say yes to all your questions?!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 03, 2017 @ 04:00 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9510
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
kvt - 02 March 2017 09:57 PM

How about that if I create one more song just dedicated to this sound and If I say yes to all your questions?!

Before we go there…
I’m beginning to think that we’re not communicating well, perhaps due to terminology. Please explain how you are “triggering Trill ARP by using velocity switching”.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 03, 2017 @ 05:21 AM
kvt
Total Posts:  71
Joined  04-30-2011
status: Experienced

When I play (hit) note harder (with higher velocity) it triggers ARP.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 03, 2017 @ 06:07 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9510
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
kvt - 03 March 2017 05:21 AM

When I play (hit) note harder (with higher velocity) it triggers ARP.

I wanted to determine how you had programmed that. I’ll assume you set the Arp Velocity Limit high, such as Santur PRE8 31(B15), rather than velocity-switching to a different sample that has a built-in trill/Arp.

I’ll get back to you in a while with details of how to use the MW with two Voices and two Parts.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 03, 2017 @ 12:44 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9510
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru

The basic concept is to create two similar Voices, one with Arps turned off and the other with them on, and to use the Mod Wheel to control Element Level for the two Voices so that one decreases with rotation while the other increases. Then the two Voices are selected as Parts, with them both on the same MIDI Channel. I created an example of this approach…

I’ve attached a Motif XF All/X3A file to this post. All User locations are initialized except for the first two User Voices and the first Performance.

The USER1 A01 Voice is “Santur-No Arp”. I copied Santur PRE8 31(B15) to that location, and turned off the Arp Switch. Also, the Mod Wheel destination in Control Set is now Element-Level, with a Depth of -32, Element Switches 1/2/3 on. What that does is reduce the volume level of the Voice to inaudible as the MW is turned up.

The USER1 A02 Voice is “Santur-With Arp”. It also began as a copy of Santur PRE8 31(B15). I set the Arp Velocity Limit to 1-127. The Amplitude Level is set to 0 (zero) for Elements 1 and 2. The Mod Wheel destination in Control Set is now Element-Level, with a Depth of +25, Element Switches 1 and 2 on. With those settings the volume level is minimal with the MW all the way down, and increases as the MW is turned up.

I created a Performance “Santur-ArpMW_5pinDIN” at USER1 A01. Parameter with Voice was turned on, then Voice “Santur-No Arp” (USER1 A01) is set as Part 1, Voice “Santur-With Arp” (USER1 A02) is set as Part 2. Chorus and Reverb effects were copied from USER1 A01 Voice, as were their send levels. Arp 5 was set to be the default. Part 1 Volume was increased from the default 100 to 127, so that the two Parts had a better volume level match.

You could load the X3A file in entirety to the MOXF, and see how the MW works in the Performance. (Be sure to back up your current data before doing that.) It would also be possible to load the two Voices and the Performance individually, but be sure that the Performance Parts point to wherever the two Voices get located. I didn’t create a Song Mixing because XF and MOXF Songs aren’t compatible, but what I did in the Performance can be done with a MOXF Song or Pattern Mixing. The two Parts would have to be set to the same MIDI Receive Channel.

File Attachments
Santur demo 5pinDIN.zip  (File Size: 132KB - Downloads: 32)
  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 03, 2017 @ 07:45 PM
kvt
Total Posts:  71
Joined  04-30-2011
status: Experienced

5pinDIN… Really appreciate your long detailed reply and effort. Thank you very much.

I have exactly understood your approach.. Simply Amazing logic!!

I have created my new VOICE with my own samples of Santur but I will apply your concept and will create two voices (Two part on one channel in SONG mode with ARP on and one with ARP off with your suggested modulation wheel settings.

Thank you once again..God bless.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ loading setup
Next Topic:

    Using buttons on my Moxf8 to trigger events in VSTs ››