mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Question about Master Mode"

     
Posted on: February 16, 2017 @ 01:34 AM
jg666
Total Posts:  113
Joined  11-15-2015
status: Pro

I’ve read the article on ‘understanding the master mode’ but still not 100% sure about something.

If I put a particular voice or performance into the master list (not sure if that’s the correct terminology), does it overwrite whatever voice is already occupying that slot or is the master list just a pointer to the locations of those voices/performances etc?

The reason I ask is that I’ve saved a few performances only to realise later that I’ve overwritten the only copy of whatever performance was there previously!

Hope that makes sense!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 16, 2017 @ 05:43 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  8835
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru

A Master does not change the Voice, Performance, Song, or Pattern it recalls.
Those programs remain untouched, in their original locations.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 16, 2017 @ 05:44 AM
jg666
Total Posts:  113
Joined  11-15-2015
status: Pro

Excellent thanks :)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 17, 2017 @ 09:56 AM
jg666
Total Posts:  113
Joined  11-15-2015
status: Pro

A bit off on a tangent here but....

I’ve purchased a 1GB flash board and will be purchasing the Melas tools this weekend. I was wondering about moving a few voices and performances that I’ve created myself so that there’s less chance of them being overwritten when I load other voice packages.

Is there less chance of them being overwritten if I put them towards the end of the user slots? If I load stuff like inspirations in a flash and vintage keys, will they by default go into the lower user slots or can you choose what goes where yourself?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 17, 2017 @ 10:32 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  8835
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
jg666 - 17 February 2017 09:56 AM

A bit off on a tangent here but....

I’ve purchased a 1GB flash board and will be purchasing the Melas tools this weekend. I was wondering about moving a few voices and performances that I’ve created myself so that there’s less chance of them being overwritten when I load other voice packages.

Even with the best intentions, accidents happen. Make and keep backups.

 

jg666 -

Is there less chance of them being overwritten if I put them towards the end of the user slots? If I load stuff like inspirations in a flash and vintage keys, will they by default go into the lower user slots or can you choose what goes where yourself?

If you load an “all” file in entirety, entire banks are overwritten.  Even loading one bank of Voices at a time will overwrite the entire bank you direct it to. You can, of course, load specific individual User locations. The Melas software probably makes it easier to manipulate your data, but nothing is immune to operator error. As I just suggested, make backups.  :-)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 17, 2017 @ 02:40 PM
jg666
Total Posts:  113
Joined  11-15-2015
status: Pro

Ok understood. Thanks.

  [ Ignore ]