mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Set List Maker App"

   
Page 3 of 3
Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 03:17 PM
stoneb3
Total Posts:  791
Joined  06-05-2011
status: Guru

Settings>Audio & Midi>Midi Options
Send Midi Presets Together - I believe set to on.
Midi Preset Order - Tap the arrow, use the grab bar, Try Raw Midi on top, Program Change below that, Attached Presets on the bottom or a variant with Attached Presets on top, then Raw Midi, then Program Change
Previous Screen Set ....with… Delay to .4 seconds.

This is where your last hurdle likely lives. What you’d like is the Raw Midi Sent first, MSB/LSB second with a slight delay. I may need to score an adapter cable to verify this on my end, as my interface is 30 pin.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 04:39 PM
pianoman58
Total Posts:  30
Joined  03-03-2013
status: Regular

I actually had already tried changing order of midi to Raw Midi first, then program change. And also put a delay.  So I increased delay to .04.

Here’s what I’m sending. Using the +1 offset

F0 43 10 7F 0D 0A 00 01 01 F7

64 67 10

Same results, takes me to performance mode but displays whatever preset was selected last within performance mode.

And yes the MSB/LSB PC using +1 offset still works within Performance Mode.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 05:16 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  8840
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
pianoman58 - 28 January 2017 04:39 PM

[...] And yes the MSB/LSB PC using +1 offset still works within Performance Mode.

I asked about MSB/LSB PC because there are Utility mode settings that allow response to Bank Select and Program Change to be disabled. See page 138 of the Reference Manual.

However, since the SysEx changes the mode, and MSB/LSB PC independently change Bank and Performance number, then it would seem the S90XS is responding correctly, and the rest is likely a matter of setup details in the app.

You might try a longer delay between the SysEx and the BankSelect/ProgramChange. You could make it quite long initially, and if that works, progressively shorten it until it stops working, then increase a bit again.

EDIT: I just noticed that Stone suggested .4 seconds, but you posted that you used .04 seconds. Try longer.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 05:18 PM
stoneb3
Total Posts:  791
Joined  06-05-2011
status: Guru
5pinDIN - 28 January 2017 02:54 PM

You were previously able to send MSB/LSB/PC when in Performance mode, and have it change correctly. Is that currently functioning?

Please verify this as posed by 5pin DIN.

Works a charm for me here, I must finish my dinner, I’m starved. I’ll be back in a bit.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 05:30 PM
pianoman58
Total Posts:  30
Joined  03-03-2013
status: Regular

@Stone.  And yes the MSB/LSB PC using +1 offset still works within Performance Mode.

Ok I’ll try longer delay

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 05:41 PM
pianoman58
Total Posts:  30
Joined  03-03-2013
status: Regular

Increased delay to 2 full seconds.....same results.  Hmmm

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 05:51 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  8840
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
pianoman58 - 28 January 2017 05:41 PM

Increased delay to 2 full seconds.....same results.  Hmmm

Hmmm, indeed. I’m going to let you and Stone work this out, because it doesn’t seem that anything related to the S90XS itself is the cause, and Stone apparently has things working.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 06:02 PM
stoneb3
Total Posts:  791
Joined  06-05-2011
status: Guru
pianoman58 - 28 January 2017 05:30 PM

@Stone.  And yes the MSB/LSB PC using +1 offset still works within Performance Mode.

Sorry, I hadn’t realized you answered this previously.

Are you entering the PC changes above in the Raw Midi Field?  If so tap the command to send it twice. What happens? I’ll post what I have set.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 06:22 PM
pianoman58
Total Posts:  30
Joined  03-03-2013
status: Regular

Yes I was entering bank and program change in Raw midi field.  I tried tapping it twice same result.

However I entered the bank and program change in the Spaces above and if I tap twice it does work as it should.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 06:47 PM
stoneb3
Total Posts:  791
Joined  06-05-2011
status: Guru

Cool. Exit the Database and return, try it again.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 07:21 PM
pianoman58
Total Posts:  30
Joined  03-03-2013
status: Regular

Yes it is still working.  I know you mentioned in another post that you had to tap twice. But I thought that was with the older version of the app.  I thought this new app was one tap.  But hey I can live with two taps no problem. 

I was going to switch the 0-127, 1-128 option back and see if it affected bank change as well as program change.  But now I can’t find the setting for it lol ! I think I’m brain dead at this point !

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 07:40 PM
stoneb3
Total Posts:  791
Joined  06-05-2011
status: Guru
pianoman58 - 28 January 2017 07:21 PM

Yes it is still working.  I know you mentioned in another post that you had to tap twice. But I thought that was with the older version of the app.  I thought this new app was one tap.  But hey I can live with two taps no problem. 

I was going to switch the 0-127, 1-128 option back and see if it affected bank change as well as program change.  But now I can’t find the setting for it lol ! I think I’m brain dead at this point !

It’s under Settings>Midi Devices. Let us know how that goes. I get the 0-127 vs. 1-128 but I don’t agree that that should affect the MSB/LSB numbers if I’ve understood you correctly. 

This should work with one tap in this instance. You’ve tried both ...with...Delay fields?  I worked from 1.0 sec down to .2 and it worked fine. I’ve left it at .4 sec for now. Make sure you tap save when you set it. I’m not sure if exiting the Database or App itself helps register it, perhaps I should pay closer attention when I’m testing it. I’m curious as to wether or not your iConnectMidi4+ has anything to do with this. Keep us posted.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 28, 2017 @ 08:20 PM
pianoman58
Total Posts:  30
Joined  03-03-2013
status: Regular

GOT IT !!!

Set the Raw midi send back to first , then send bank and program change.  Now ONE tap.

BTW changing the 0-127, 1-128 now seems to have no effect.  Before it affected the program #.  I am still using 64/67 PC (+1) to send the required 63/66 PC for bank three in Performance Mode.

I’ll get on it again tomorrow and start adding midi presets to my songs in data base. 

This has turned into the thread of the century!  But I hope it will help others in the future. This has definitely been a learning experience for me. You and 5pin DIN Have done a tremendous service to me and anyone setting up this app. Thanks for all your help, patience and encouragement !

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 29, 2017 @ 01:37 PM
pianoman58
Total Posts:  30
Joined  03-03-2013
status: Regular

Update: @ Stoneb3

Getting everything set pretty easy now.

Just to let you know, the 0-127,1-128 option in the App does also change MSB/LSB as well as PC

EXAMPLE:  In Performance Mode.  S90xs, 63/64 01 should give me bank 1, PC1,

But what I have to enter is:

63/64 00 With 0-127 option

OR

64/65 01 With 1-128 option

In other words, I can have the MSB/LSB correct or the PC correct , but not both. Are you finding this to be true for you as well ?

No big deal. I just choose the 0-127 option and decrease PC by 1. 
I am using the LEARN feature and sending midi for 1 preset below what I actually want, then it is correct.

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 3 of 3


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ S70XS doesn’t start up
Next Topic:

    Using S-90 with Yamaha Editor ››