mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "XF freezes, corrupt waveform on FL1, not able to format."

     
Posted on: January 10, 2017 @ 02:39 AM
theGmus
Total Posts:  18
Joined  02-29-2016
status: Regular

I have created a waveform with Motif waveform editor from Melas. It’s 362 mb and contains 259 keybanks.

I successfully loaded the waveform on FL. But when I access the waveform froze up my whole XF. In order to find the issue I formatted the FL1 and only loaded the suspected waveform. This was a mistake! It still freezes up the XF, and I’m not able to format my FL1 anymore. Whenever I go to Utility - Flash the system by defaults lands on the corrupted waveform before I get a change to hit the format button.

Anyone has a trick up their sleeve I can try?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 10, 2017 @ 04:30 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9521
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
theGmus - 10 January 2017 02:39 AM

[...] Anyone has a trick up their sleeve I can try?

Perhaps…
1) Remove the flash module from the XF. Do a factory reset. Reinstall the flash module. See if you can format the module.

If that doesn’t work…
2) Remove the flash module. Find a store or friend who has a MOXF, and ask if they will allow you to temporarily install and format the module. (Since the MOXF flash format is different than that of the XF, the MOXF shouldn’t recognize what’s on the module.) After formatting on the MOXF, reinstall the module in your XF, where it should then need to be formatted again.

I hope you can succeed with one of the above. The second one should work if the first doesn’t.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 10, 2017 @ 06:14 AM
theGmus
Total Posts:  18
Joined  02-29-2016
status: Regular

Thanks for the suggestions. I did option 1, but this doesn’t get me the format option to the flash board. I even installed it in FL2 and installed some additional waveforms and this works fine. And when I go to utility - FL2 the XF freezes cpompleteley.

I guess I will have to find someone with a MOXF then. Cheers

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 10, 2017 @ 06:34 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9521
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
theGmus - 10 January 2017 06:14 AM

Thanks for the suggestions. I did option 1, but this doesn’t get me the format option to the flash board.[...]

That’s interesting. Does the XF recognize the presence of the flash module?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 10, 2017 @ 07:17 AM
theGmus
Total Posts:  18
Joined  02-29-2016
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 10 January 2017 06:34 AM

That’s interesting. Does the XF recognize the presence of the flash module?

Yes, it’s recognizing the flashboard. I can write new waveforms. Only when I choose utility - flash - FL2 (i swapped it to slot 2) The XF freezes completely.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 10, 2017 @ 07:55 AM
theGmus
Total Posts:  18
Joined  02-29-2016
status: Regular

I even found a way to delete waveforms from the flash card. In integrated sampling mode I do “Sample job 4 - Copy from flash memory” And choose delete original. This actually deletes the wavforms from the flash card. But when try this with the corrupted waveform at location 0001 it freezes up again.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 10, 2017 @ 09:45 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9521
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
theGmus - 10 January 2017 07:17 AM
5pinDIN - 10 January 2017 06:34 AM

That’s interesting. Does the XF recognize the presence of the flash module?

Yes, it’s recognizing the flashboard. I can write new waveforms. Only when I choose utility - flash - FL2 (i swapped it to slot 2) The XF freezes completely.

You removed the module, did a factory reset, reinstalled the module - but you couldn’t get to the format option, yet the module is recognized and you could write to it?

Sorry, something doesn’t make sense.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 11, 2017 @ 12:32 AM
theGmus
Total Posts:  18
Joined  02-29-2016
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 10 January 2017 09:45 AM
theGmus - 10 January 2017 07:17 AM
5pinDIN - 10 January 2017 06:34 AM

That’s interesting. Does the XF recognize the presence of the flash module?

Yes, it’s recognizing the flashboard. I can write new waveforms. Only when I choose utility - flash - FL2 (i swapped it to slot 2) The XF freezes completely.

You removed the module, did a factory reset, reinstalled the module - but you couldn’t get to the format option, yet the module is recognized and you could write to it?

Sorry, something doesn’t make sense.

Yes, This is exactly what I did. Factory reset - power down - install flash board - power up - utility - flash - format > result instant freeze.

The issue isn’t that the flashcard is not formatted or I cannot read or write to it. I have created a corrupted waveform that freezes the entire system when it is accessed. And it’s occupying my first spot on my flashcard.

use this waveform in an element? Freeze
Try to delete the waveform? Freeze
Try to delete all waveforms on the board? Freeze
Try to format the flashcard? Freeze

Add new waveforms? Good
Make All backup including flashcard? Good
Delete another waveform from the flashcard by using workaround. Integrated sampler job - copy waveform flash to USR and delete after copy? Good

The freeze is instant and completely. No button responds, no sound is heard, the screen and all lights are frozen in their last state. I let it in a frozen state all night to check if it would ever come out. But after 10 hours it’s still frozen.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 11, 2017 @ 02:15 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9521
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
theGmus - 11 January 2017 12:32 AM

Yes, This is exactly what I did. Factory reset - power down - install flash board - power up - utility - flash - format > result instant freeze.

Normally when the flash modules are removed and a factory reset is done, the Waveform List is deleted. Then when the flash module is reinstalled, the XF sees it as “new” (and says so). I’m therefore surprised that it doesn’t allow formatting then, but since I’ve never dealt with a corrupted Waveform on a flash module, I have no further insight.

It seems that formatting the module in a MOXF might be the only alternative.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 11, 2017 @ 03:13 AM
theGmus
Total Posts:  18
Joined  02-29-2016
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 11 January 2017 02:15 AM

Normally when the flash modules are removed and a factory reset is done, the Waveform List is deleted. Then when the flash module is reinstalled, the XF sees it as “new” (and says so). I’m therefore surprised that it doesn’t allow formatting then, but since I’ve never dealt with a corrupted Waveform on a flash module, I have no further insight.

It seems that formatting the module in a MOXF might be the only alternative.

Is the waveform list not on the flash card itself? I thought it was one of the advantages of the flashcard was that you could easily take your sounds without having long load times.

Anyway, I’m just back from the shop and re-formatted the flashcard it with the MOXF. And as I type the flashcard is now re-formatting in the Motif XF. So it seems like this was the way to go. Thanks a million for the support!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 11, 2017 @ 07:33 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9521
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
theGmus - 11 January 2017 03:13 AM

Is the waveform list not on the flash card itself? I thought it was one of the advantages of the flashcard was that you could easily take your sounds without having long load times.

Samples and the Waveforms that organize them are on the flash module(s). All other User data is found in the flash ROM that is part of the XF itself (not the modules) - besides Voices, Performances, System data, etc., it includes the Waveform List. That List is not the Waveforms themselves - rather, it’s the Waveform numbers, names, KeyBank information, and the relationship between Waveforms and Voices. Since the Waveform List is User data, it’s saved as part of an “All” file, and it’s written to the User memory when load options “with sample” or “without sample” are chosen, but not when “None” is selected.

The result is that a flash module can be moved from one XF to another, but the related “All” file has to be loaded “without sample” to the second XF in order to access the module contents.

 

theGmus -

Anyway, I’m just back from the shop and re-formatted the flashcard it with the MOXF. And as I type the flashcard is now re-formatting in the Motif XF. So it seems like this was the way to go. Thanks a million for the support!

You’re very welcome - I’m glad the problem is being resolved.

Of course, needing to have access to a MOXF in order to deal with an XF problem really isn’t an acceptable solution for users. Yamaha needs to step up and provide an updated OS that can do a flash module format without first reading the data on it and then freezing if it’s corrupted. Even MS-DOS had an option to format floppy disks Unconditionally (/U).

In the meantime, John Melas might want to revise his software to ensure that it doesn’t create Waveforms that cause such problems.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Loading these voices...
Next Topic:

    Sysex and XF7 woes ››