mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Motif XF MIDI to Windows 7 - basic question"

Posted on: November 11, 2016 @ 01:10 PM
dsetto
Total Posts:  435
Joined  01-24-2014

I am having difficulties setting up my XF to control my Windows 7 Pro (Service Pack 1) computer via my MOTU FastLane USB midi interface. For the sake of this discussion, I am new to Windows 7, and configuring it for Music. (I am a Mac user.)

Currently, my ultimate goal is to have my Motif XF play John Melas’ Waveform Editor 2.0.0. I did not have success when I explored a newly installed Midi-Ox as a potential trouble-shooting tool.

Here’s what works:

In Melas’ Waveform editor, I loaded a .X3A library, and could click on the Waveform Editor’s on-screen keyboard, and it makes sound through the computer’s speakers as expected. So I’ve got sufficient audio working.

I have installed the appropriate MOTU driver, & in JM’s Waveform editor’s Audio/Midi Setup, I could see the FastLane midi interface. I selected Port A. … I believe I was able to do the similar configuration within Midi-Ox.

I searched for the Windows 7 equivalent of Mac OS’s Audio-Midi Setup; but have not found that yet.

In the XF, I went to Utility>Control>MIDI …
Transmit>Keyboard Channel. I played XF keyboard while going through all the Keyboard Channel options, including 1, and 3.

I tried Port B. I have not tried a different MIDI cable & USB port. I’ll try that now.

Does anyone have a suggestion on how to get Windows 7/Motu FastLane Midi Interface/Melas Waveform Editor to register MIDI messages from my Motif XF keyboard?

Thanks,

ds

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 11, 2016 @ 01:34 PM
dsetto
Joined  01-24-2014

Changing the usb port worked! It works!