mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Changing and Saving MIDI track voices"

     
Posted on: June 29, 2016 @ 12:40 PM
Eighthnote74
Total Posts:  1
Joined  06-01-2016
status: Newcomer

Hello, in pain. I load a MIDI song into my ES8. Of course I need to edit the tracks to match the voices I want. While playing the MIDI file in song mode and going to edit I can change the voices. I hit “store” and enter and yes. Problem I’m having is that as soon as I start the song over some of the tracks revert back to the original voice. Example: Track one is assigned to a twelve string when I want it to use a Bass. I change and store it but when I play the track over it goes back to 12 string. What am I doing wrong? Thanks all.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 30, 2016 @ 06:40 AM
nbadesign
Avatar
Total Posts:  976
Joined  08-19-2007
status: Guru

Eighthnote74 - 29 June 2016 12:40 PM

Hello, in pain. I load a MIDI song into my ES8. Of course I need to edit the tracks to match the voices I want. While playing the MIDI file in song mode and going to edit I can change the voices. I hit “store” and enter and yes. Problem I’m having is that as soon as I start the song over some of the tracks revert back to the original voice. Example: Track one is assigned to a twelve string when I want it to use a Bass. I change and store it but when I play the track over it goes back to 12 string. What am I doing wrong? Thanks all.

It is usual that in MIDI files that could be found on Intenet authors already set particular voice using ProgramChange MIDI command. The best solution for start is to initialize Song in Mix mode to GM (General MIDI). Than those ProgramChange’s will correspond to a nested voice in GM bank. After that, you could find more appropriate voice(s) in other ES banks or use your (User) voice. But if you save such a mix, after start song you will hear the initial voices. Solution is to go to Song Edit mode and press [F2] VIEW FLT (View Filter). There you should set only ProgramChange and after applying, you will see only ProgramChange commands. Select them and delete. Now deselect filter in order to see notes and other commands.
When you restart song from the beginning you will hear only voices that you have set in the previously saved mix.

Alex

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 30, 2016 @ 08:07 PM
meatballfulton
Avatar
Total Posts:  2969
Joined  01-25-2005
status: Guru

You are running into what Yamaha calls a Phrase Header that prevents changing the voices in a sequence after first recorded.

Rewrite the Phrase Header

Press [RECORD] as if you were going to record some data but do not press PLAY

Select a Track to view [1]-[16]

Press [F2] VOICE
Highlight the VOICE and change it to the one you prefer to use for this particular Phrase.

Press STOP

Store the song

  [ Ignore ]