mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "MOTIF 6 and Logic Pro X - Old meets new"

     
Posted on: March 17, 2015 @ 02:34 PM
guitarman
Total Posts:  9
Joined  11-02-2004
status: Newcomer

I currently have Apple Logic Pro X loaded on my iMac (2014).  I’d like to use the sound engine in the Motif 6 Classic to playback Logic Pro loops and other Logic Pro software sounds versus relying on the iMac sound card. Is this even doable?

I thought I would ask the basic question before attempting to do any/all updates to the Motif since no updates have been done in at least 4 years! 

Any advice help would be greatly appreciated.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 17, 2015 @ 03:51 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  964
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

Hi guitarman,

The way to do it would be via mLAN if you have an mLAN expansion board.  The USB on the Motif classic is only for MIDI data. 

The problem is that your computer’s operating system is way too modern for the mLAN protocol on the Motif 6 classic (2001), aside of any physical connection issues you may encounter.

In order to make it work, you’d need to run an older Mac, capable of running an operating system from around the same era as that particular mLAN protocol. 

Running an operating system from an older era would also dictate which DAW and version of it you could use… and it won’t be Logic Pro X.

It would make more sense to get a Motif with the current firewire protocol on it.  The Motif XS had both the last version or the transitional version of mLAN as well as the ‘new’ firewire protocol and the XF just has the new firewire protocol (which is current).

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 19, 2015 @ 07:49 AM
Wellie
Avatar
Total Posts:  6204
Joined  05-08-2003
status: Guru

Phil,

If memory serves, the mlan board for the classic was a proof of concept rather than an actual consumer goody item. I don’t believe they are available. If they are, they are very rare and probably expensive.

That said, it does rather sound as if playing back the loops is a midi task anyway.  In which case USB midi is the way to go and yamahasynth.com would have the latest drivers for mac.

Hope this helps.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 19, 2015 @ 08:29 AM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  964
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

You could well be right and I don’t think it’s going to happen anyway.

I do believe that he is referring to audio from Logic, though… and I’m presuming that’s because he wants to be able to hear both Logic and his Motif classic at the same time, by having the Motif conveniently mix everything instead of buying extra equipment such as a mixer or an external audio interface. 

His only realistic option is feeding the iMac sound card’s output into the Motif’s A/D inputs.

My reply to the OP is just a polite way of saying “get a new keyboard because it’s ancient and no longer compatible.  You upgraded your computer, now do the same for your keyboard.” Which is just not my kind of M.O.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 21, 2015 @ 05:19 AM
InGodWeTrust
Total Posts:  710
Joined  09-20-2011
status: Guru
guitarman - 17 March 2015 02:34 PM

I currently have Apple Logic Pro X loaded on my iMac (2014).  I’d like to use the sound engine in the Motif 6 Classic to playback Logic Pro loops and other Logic Pro software sounds versus relying on the iMac sound card. Is this even doable?

I thought I would ask the basic question before attempting to do any/all updates to the Motif since no updates have been done in at least 4 years! 

Any advice help would be greatly appreciated.

Firstly, I agree with updating equipment
but sometimes it’s just not affordable, not only the money, but the sounds you’d leave behind.
I will preface continuing with,
I am a huge ‘Fan’ of this forum MOTIVATOR!  :)
But also use ‘All my guns’ when they are needed too.
Okay, now then, if it were me, before doing anything check for advice one last time from some very experienced and knowledgable vintage minds .... that I am also a huge fan of,
At This Site Here called, YAMAHA SYNTH.
Let us know how it went with all the details!  :-)
I am hoping for the best and have a couple of simple instructions;
After creating an account (if you don’t have one already) and signing in,
pick a forum for your post carefully.
Then ask for, or at least mention these names;
Bad_Mister, Nate, and Avery.
.... and that you were referred by
Lillie Vincet-Dunne at Marcus Vincet Music.
(not that that will do any good, but I get the credit! ;-))
Good Luck!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 21, 2015 @ 06:29 AM
InGodWeTrust
Total Posts:  710
Joined  09-20-2011
status: Guru
psychobabble - 21 March 2015 05:38 AM

Have you ever said anything relevant?

....nothin’ lasts forever, except hope.
And a world without hate-filled, hyper-critical, negative people.
A world whose people possess only love and patience for all other people of humanity.

...give that a try. :-)

*subscriptions are always set to off, probably never see any reply.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Motif 6 Midi Question
Next Topic:

    Can’t initialize performances...software failure? ››