mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "MIDI File won’t transfer."

     
Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 01:37 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  934
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Hi guys/dolls :)

I just recorded various drum rhythm ARPs to the Sequencer as a Song.

It is saved as a Song because when I press Song > Play, it plays the drum rhythms/patterns correctly.

I have gone to File, named and saved it as a SMF to my usb stick.

I put the stick in my Mac Book Pro and see it on my Desktop.

I open a new Project, go to File > Import MIDI File select the usb stick and open it, there’s the Song MIDI File.....MID, hit open and nothing appears anywhere on the Project.

As an aside, I notice that all the dates on the usb stick are dated 1969.

Any ideas on what to do?

Thanks,

Jerry

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 02:02 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  741
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

Hey Jerry,

Aside of the 1969 part of this, did you try a simple drag and drop with the SMF from your desktop right into your Logic session?

Not really sure what the 1969 thing is yet, but you might want to check the date and time prefs on your Mac too, that may be an indicator to one or two possibilities.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 02:20 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  934
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Hi Phil, Happy New Year to you :)

I click on the usb stick icon on my Desktop and I see the File name.

I can drag it to my Desktop and when I drag it to a software track nothing appears.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 02:42 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  741
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

Weird,

Did you check the system date and time on your Mac?

Are all of your file dates off?

Could you also try and make another SMF, but don’t delete, move or overwrite the one you have. See if the new one works.

Could you also try and import an SMF from another source or date? (like from a free MIDI site on the internet)

I’d like to say that Logic has a consciousness which recognises the fact that it wasn’t invented in 1969 and as a result, won’t let you load the file, but it probably won’t be that logical.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 02:59 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  934
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

The date on the MBP says Feb. 15, 2015.

I just saved again to a different usb stick, same result.

Do you think this has anything to do with the way you had me sync the MOXF and LPX before when I recorded the audio from the MOXF into Logic?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 03:07 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  741
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

Did you try importing a different SMF, one someone else made?

We can probably rule out the usb stick being a problem then if you’ve tried another one.

It’s nothing to do with how you synced your MOXF.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 03:18 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  934
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

I was able to open another earlier Songs MIDI File from the USB stick and it says 1969 as well.

Why can’t I open this one?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 03:35 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  741
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

Do you want to upload it here and I’ll take a look?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 03:50 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  934
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Phil,

When I initially recorded the drum pattern I turned off all the Voices but the drums(at least I THOUGHT I did :) ).

I just turned off the MOXF, called up the Performance and recorded all four parts this time.

When I saved it as a SMF I got some different prompts (Saving...don’t turn unit of....etc.) that I don’t remember getting before.

When I put the usb stick into the MBP and imported the file as a SMF, this time it worked :)

Who knows WTF I did, but at least I can start on my next Song.

Thanks (as always),

Jerry

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 03:57 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  741
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

ok, not a problem :-)

Are you having some power problems at your house?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 03:59 PM
jerrydpi
Total Posts:  934
Joined  11-02-2012
status: Guru

Great question, but I hope not :)

Thanks again my friend!

Jerry

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 15, 2015 @ 04:13 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  741
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

Might be worth checking it out or looking at your power adaptor.

No worries, it fixed itself.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 24, 2016 @ 06:38 PM
Mighty Motif Max
Avatar
Total Posts:  251
Joined  04-30-2016
status: Enthusiast

The above post must be spam.

-Max

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ can’t get to bounce midi tracks in place
Next Topic:

    MOX setup questions ››