mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Free Sample Library “EDM Expansion” for MOTIF XF/MOXF"

   
Page 2 of 2
Posted on: December 04, 2017 @ 09:45 AM
dv01
Total Posts:  32
Joined  07-27-2012
status: Regular

Hi D-EDGE SOUND and 5pinDIN,

I am trying to load those sounds from EDM Expansion file and the voices and performances don’t sound like the demo.  It looks like they pick up wrong arpeggios or something.  FYI… I am using different user banks to store them instead of the original and I am loading 1 bank instead of “All”.
Thanks for you help!
Shane

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 04, 2017 @ 10:47 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9607
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
dv01 - 04 December 2017 09:45 AM

Hi D-EDGE SOUND and 5pinDIN,

I am trying to load those sounds from EDM Expansion file and the voices and performances don’t sound like the demo.  It looks like they pick up wrong arpeggios or something.  FYI… I am using different user banks to store them instead of the original and I am loading 1 bank instead of “All”.

User Arps will only load from an X3A file when Type is set to “all”. They can also be loaded from an X3G file when Type is set to “all arpeggio”. Loading with “1 bank voice” won’t load the User Arps.

An X3G file can be created by loading the EDM Expansion .X3A file as “all”, and then saving an “all arpeggio” file. However, when I was working on my Arps-Plus program, I did just that for use with my program, so you don’t have to do it yourself.

See…
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/477143/
...and download Arp Files.zip . Unzip it, and load EDMEXP_Arps.X3G to your XF. Of course, that will overwrite any other User Arps that might be in the XF at the time. That problem is specifically why I created Arps-Plus.

Your member profile doesn’t indicate which computer platform you use. My program runs only on Windows, but isn’t required if all you need is the EDM Expansion Arps.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 04, 2017 @ 12:30 PM
dv01
Total Posts:  32
Joined  07-27-2012
status: Regular

You’re always there for everyone 5pinDIN :).  Thanks for all the info.  It is kind of complicated for me surely.  Is there a chance I can use those EDM Expansion voices and performances along with my setup?  Right now I mostly save my voices and performances in Usr3 and Usr4 so I can load new stuffs in.  Thanks

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 04, 2017 @ 01:44 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9607
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
dv01 - 04 December 2017 12:30 PM

You’re always there for everyone 5pinDIN :).  Thanks for all the info.

You’re welcome.

 

dv01 -

It is kind of complicated for me surely.  Is there a chance I can use those EDM Expansion voices and performances along with my setup?  Right now I mostly save my voices and performances in Usr3 and Usr4 so I can load new stuffs in.  Thanks

It can definitely be somewhat complicated, especially when loading Voices, etc., from more than one library.

If whatever is currently loaded to your XF does not include User Arps, then using “1 bank voice” to load the EDM Expansion Voices, and “all arpeggio” to load the X3G file, should result in the EDM Voices accessing the correct Arps.

However, if previously loaded Voices have their own User Arps, those Voices point to specifically numbered User Arps. Just loading the Arps from EDM Expansion would cause those previous Voices to lose the Arps they need and use the EDM Expansion ones instead. My program and some editing of Voices to reassign User Arp numbers could resolve that, but that can be tedious to do if a large number of User Arps are involved.

The Melas software might provide an easier method to include what you want from EDM Expansion.

In any case, I suggest making a backup “All” file before any changes, so that you can restore things should something not go as planned.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 05, 2017 @ 05:06 AM
dv01
Total Posts:  32
Joined  07-27-2012
status: Regular

I believe my current setup have used the User Arps.  Yes, I have backed up all the sounds as “All” file.  Thank you for your suggestions.  I’ll think about it.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 05, 2017 @ 09:25 AM
dv01
Total Posts:  32
Joined  07-27-2012
status: Regular

Hi 5pinDIN,

Do you think the EDM Expansion voices and performances will sound as the demo if I join the EDM library Arps to my current All Arps using John Melas software editor?

Thanks again!
Shane

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 05, 2017 @ 10:54 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9607
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru

Using Melas’ software, I believe you would have to add the EDM Expansion Voices to a User bank, and that should bring the User Arps along and associate them correctly. However, I don’t use Melas’ software - I suggest that you contact him (), describe what you want to do, and verify whether it can be done.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 05, 2017 @ 11:03 AM
dv01
Total Posts:  32
Joined  07-27-2012
status: Regular

Thanks a lot 5pinDIN.

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 2 of 2