mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Mixing setup for live use article question"

     
Posted on: September 12, 2014 @ 02:01 PM
chasmanian
Total Posts:  319
Joined  01-26-2014
status: Enthusiast

hey gang,
I am following another thread, and thought of an idea. I felt starting a new thread would be the right thing to do though.
I was just reading these 2 articles that cmayhle posted a link to:

http://www.motifator.com/index.php/support/view/moving_performances_into_song_pattern_mxing_setups

http://www.motifator.com/index.php/support/view/using_a_mixing_setup_for_multiple_sounds_live1

here’s what I am wondering:
what if I tweaked a few Performances (including possibly adjusting volume levels), got them the way I like them.
and now copied them, say 5 of them into a Mixing. I would copy these performances (each consisting of 4 Voices/Parts), into my Mixing Tracks 1 through 5. and have each Track transmit on a different MIDI channel.
will this work?

will the volume levels of the Voices/Parts in each Performance Copy accurately into my Mix? this might be important.
also I have to go back now and read the link that cmayhle put up about Arps. the Arps have to work, or it won’t be of any use to me.
(I am trying this out now.
I just thought it would be great to see if anyone has any thoughts, and if it does work, it will help some of you other folks. :))

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 12, 2014 @ 02:13 PM
cmayhle
Total Posts:  3082
Joined  10-05-2011
status: Guru

When you place a PERFORMANCE into a SONG/PATTERN MIXING, it is placed on (4) tracks...typically 1-4 or 5-8...one for each PART.

It is not placed as (4) PARTS on a single “track”.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 12, 2014 @ 03:41 PM
chasmanian
Total Posts:  319
Joined  01-26-2014
status: Enthusiast

thank you.
I really got nowhere with my attempt.
tried and tried. followed instructions.
guess it doesn’t work like I hoped.
even so, I had a truly ecstatic experience playing just now.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 12, 2014 @ 04:53 PM
cmayhle
Total Posts:  3082
Joined  10-05-2011
status: Guru
chasmanian - 12 September 2014 03:41 PM

...I really got nowhere with my attempt.
tried and tried. followed instructions.
guess it doesn’t work like I hoped....

What is it you are trying to do?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 13, 2014 @ 04:40 AM
chasmanian
Total Posts:  319
Joined  01-26-2014
status: Enthusiast

hey cmayhle. thank you for your reply.
wow!
I super misunderstood.
I thought that I would be able to create a Mix, in which I could assign a few Performances to Track buttons.
i.e. entire 4 Part Performances.
then, I would be able to switch between Performances, by just pressing Track buttons. it would happen right away. glitch free.
for one little example: I would take a Performance that I really like and change Part 4. store it. do it again, this time with another Voice.
do it 5 times.
now in the Mixing I would assign each of my Performances to Tracks 1 through 5.
what I want to do is be able to play a Performance, and switch Part 4, at the push of a button.
I need to go back and see if I can make it work using the advice you gave me before, using Master and Mixing.
it is crucial that the Arps remain fully functional.
I know my way around the Motif better now. maybe I’ll be able to figure it this time.
peace,
Chasman

update: hey cmayhle, I just read your first post in this thread that you linked to in another thread. will try this. feeling encouraged.
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/464893/

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 13, 2014 @ 09:28 AM
cmayhle
Total Posts:  3082
Joined  10-05-2011
status: Guru

The type of functionality you desire will require getting to Master Mode with a SONG or PATTERN...and with ZONES activated.

New with the v1.40 OS update is this functionality:

New function of the [PERFORMANCE
CONTROL] button in the Master mode


When the Mode is set to “Song” or “Pattern” and Zone Switch is
set to “on” in the Master Play mode, the [PERFORMANCE
CONTROL] button works as follows:

• [1] – [8] buttons
Each of these will turn the Internal Switches of Zone 1 – 8 on/off.

• [9] – [16] buttons
Each of these will turn the External Switches of Zone 1 – 8 on/off.

NOTE The on/off status of the Internal Switch/External Switch can be
confirmed via the corresponding lamp.

Basically this allows you to construct a SONG or PATTERN MIXING with a PERFORMANCE copied to PARTS 1-4, and additional “Lead” VOICES in PARTS 5-8.

When this SONG/PATTERN is then associated with a MASTER program...with ZONES activated...you now have the power to set each of the (8) PARTS to (8) different MIDI channels.

Now, these (8) PARTS can sound simultaneously, and the (8) Sliders will control the individual Volumes of these (8) PARTS.

By then using the ON/OFF functionality of the ZONE switches referenced above, you can...at will...select the “Lead” PART you wish to play with the PARTS 1-4.

As you see, this starts to get into the deep end of the pool with the XF...but it can be done!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 13, 2014 @ 09:56 AM
chasmanian
Total Posts:  319
Joined  01-26-2014
status: Enthusiast

wow!!!!
I owe you big time.
thank you so much for all of that.
will try as soon as I can get to my Motif.
I have a question regarding polyphony, as I know it is limited, and thus a very precious resource.
what I’m trying to ask is this:
will turning OFF the ZONE switches for PARTS accomplish actually shutting off that “Lead” PART,and thus leave more room for polyphony by the PARTS that are turned ON??

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 13, 2014 @ 10:09 AM
cmayhle
Total Posts:  3082
Joined  10-05-2011
status: Guru
chasmanian - 13 September 2014 09:56 AM

...will turning OFF the ZONE switches for PARTS accomplish actually shutting off that “Lead” PART,and thus leave more room for polyphony by the PARTS that are turned ON??

Yes.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 13, 2014 @ 10:19 AM
chasmanian
Total Posts:  319
Joined  01-26-2014
status: Enthusiast

oh wow!!!
loving life,
thanks alot cmayhle!!!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 13, 2014 @ 10:36 AM
cmayhle
Total Posts:  3082
Joined  10-05-2011
status: Guru

You’re welcome.  You may find additional useful information from Bad_Mister in This Thread.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 13, 2014 @ 11:33 AM
chasmanian
Total Posts:  319
Joined  01-26-2014
status: Enthusiast

thank you again. I’m at my machine now. just firing her up. put on the tea kettle. gonna have some fun.

update: Success!!!!!
the sweet sweet smell of Success!!!!
yes, cmayhle, I did it.
it works extraordinarily well. it works perfect. I am astounded and loving it.
I will have to do it again a few times, to really get it down. I really fumbled my way through this time.
I had to understand that I have to transmit AND receive all Parts on separate MIDI channels.
if there was a mistake that I could make in the process, I made it. probably 4 times.
hahahahhahahaha.

well, super thank you cmayhle. you have helped me sooooo much.
I think I should try to pay it forward a bit and post a link to this in the other thread that I mentioned in the beginning, in case it can help that other dude.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 14, 2014 @ 08:18 AM
tonechef
Total Posts:  51
Joined  07-22-2010
status: Experienced

Does the MOXF also have this
new function of the [PERFORMANCE CONTROL]
button in the Master mode as the XF?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 14, 2014 @ 10:24 AM
chasmanian
Total Posts:  319
Joined  01-26-2014
status: Enthusiast
tonechef - 14 September 2014 08:18 AM

Does the MOXF also have this
new function of the [PERFORMANCE CONTROL]
button in the Master mode as the XF?

I googled and found this. scroll down to Master Control Zones:

http://www.motifator.com/index.php/support/view/moxf_whats_new

it says that with the moxf you can do 4 ZONES.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Saving audio sample in Pattern Mode
Next Topic:

    XF glitching ››