mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Vocoder"

   
Page 1 of 3
Posted on: April 29, 2014 @ 04:28 PM
daniel8802
Total Posts:  29
Joined  04-29-2014
status: Regular

Hi All,

New to the board and a new moxf 8 user.  I looked around the forum but didn’t see an answer so sorry if this question has been asked.  It seems as though I cannot get anything to happen when I have my mic (SM-58) plugged into the moxf 8.

I am trying to use the vocoder specifically.  I went in to the utility menu, switch the line to mic, turned on the A/D button and turned up the gain knob with no luck.  Am I missing something?  Should sound now be coming through?  I also have the mic going in to the left channel input.

As a side note for the mic, I am using a female xlr connector to 1/4 from amazon.  If you have any thoughts as to why this may not be working I would appreciate it!!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 29, 2014 @ 04:59 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9907
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru

Welcome to the forum.

Your “side note” is important. The cable you’re using is meant for a balanced connection, but the A/D inputs are unbalanced, and require a TS (not TRS) plug. Something like this should work:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000068NYM

Also see http://www.motifator.com/index.php/support/view/moxf_series_setting_up_the_a_d_input

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 29, 2014 @ 05:21 PM
daniel8802
Total Posts:  29
Joined  04-29-2014
status: Regular

Bah, thanks I’ll give this a try!  My UPS guy is gonna hate me haha.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 29, 2014 @ 06:28 PM
daniel8802
Total Posts:  29
Joined  04-29-2014
status: Regular

I am curious ... Do you know why the balanced vs unbalanced makes a difference in this case?  Does the moxf turn the signal to balanced for you?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 29, 2014 @ 07:26 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9907
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
daniel8802 - 29 April 2014 06:28 PM

I am curious ... Do you know why the balanced vs unbalanced makes a difference in this case?  Does the moxf turn the signal to balanced for you?

In a balanced configuration, the mic element is connected from Tip to Ring, with Sleeve being the cable shield/ground connection. With an unbalanced connection, the mic element connects from Tip to Sleeve (along with the cable shield). The A/D Input jacks have no connection to the Ring contact, so if you use a cable meant for balanced operation the mic element connection isn’t completed.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 30, 2014 @ 01:25 PM
daniel8802
Total Posts:  29
Joined  04-29-2014
status: Regular

Thanks, makes sense!  I found the cable on sweetwater as well with free shipping so I picked it up there.  The cable should be here in a few days (hopefully friday or saturday) so I will report back on the progress!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 03, 2014 @ 07:48 PM
daniel8802
Total Posts:  29
Joined  04-29-2014
status: Regular

Did I end up buying the wrong cable?  I got this one from Sweetwater and I’m still having no luck.  Am I doing something wrong?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 03, 2014 @ 10:01 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Yes, you are… Doing something wrong. But exactly what that is is unknown. What are you doing?
:-)

Follow the steps below exactly until you understand what’s what.

Serious WARNING: In general keep the output of your MOXF slightly lower than normal so that when the Vocoder comes on you do not split your head open with LOUD output. It is better to start soft and turn up, then to turn up first, blow your ears out and then try can get your hearing back. Please trust us on this…

Turn the front panel GAIN knob to minimum to start.

SETUP for [VOICE] mode
Call up a normal Voice
Setup the microphone
Plug in a dynamic microphone to the Left A/D INPUT jack and Set the MIC/LINE parameter to MIC:

Press [UTILITY]
Press [F3] VOICE A/D
Press [SF1] OUTPUT
Set MONO/STEREO = LMono (this matches the jack to which you connected the microphone)

Press [F1] GENERAL
Press [SF6] OTHER
Set MIC/LINE = MIC
Turn the A/D ON/OFF = ON
Turn the GAIN knob on the front panel clockwise to increase the level until you can hear yourself comfortably.

Call up a Vocoder Voice
The following four Voices are already setup for Vocoder use…
PRE 8: 125(H13) Vocoder with Delay
PRE 8: 126(H14) Funky Vocoder
PRE 8: 127(H15) Vocoder Pad 1
PRE 8: 128(H16) Vocoder Pad

Press [VOICE] to return to Voice mode
Press [PRE 8]
Press [H]
Press [13]

This will recall the Voice PRE 8: 125(H13) Vocoder with Delay

Let us know.
When setting the Vocoder in a Performance, or a Song/Pattern, the Vocoder must be assigned to PART 1.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2014 @ 03:09 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9907
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
daniel8802 - 03 May 2014 07:48 PM

Did I end up buying the wrong cable?  I got this one from Sweetwater and I’m still having no luck.  Am I doing something wrong?

The cable you linked to should work.

I hope this isn’t too obvious, but I’ve seen it happen before…
Is your mic an SM58, or is it an SM58S? The latter has an on/off switch - if you have one of them, make sure the switch is ON.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2014 @ 05:06 AM
daniel8802
Total Posts:  29
Joined  04-29-2014
status: Regular

Yep, its just a regular 58.  I enabled mic in utility mode, turned the gain up and I turned on the A/D switch.  Am I missing anything else?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2014 @ 05:53 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9907
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
daniel8802 - 04 May 2014 05:06 AM

Yep, its just a regular 58.  I enabled mic in utility mode, turned the gain up and I turned on the A/D switch.  Am I missing anything else?

Since you haven’t been successful yet, the only possibilities are either that you aren’t setting things up correctly or that there’s a problem with the hardware.

Do you have headphones with a 1/4” plug? See this thread, specifically my post about using headphones temporarily as a mic:
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/469633/
(The thread is about the XF, so A/D setup for the MOXF should be as Bad_Mister described above or in the article I linked to previously.)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2014 @ 08:15 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Yep, its just a regular 58.  I enabled mic in utility mode, turned the gain up and I turned on the A/D switch.  Am I missing anything else?

I listed several more steps, please follow precisely.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2014 @ 01:52 PM
daniel8802
Total Posts:  29
Joined  04-29-2014
status: Regular
Bad_Mister - 04 May 2014 08:15 AM

Yep, its just a regular 58.  I enabled mic in utility mode, turned the gain up and I turned on the A/D switch.  Am I missing anything else?

I listed several more steps, please follow precisely.

I’m not sure why I missed that from before but I will be sure to try it tonight when I get home from work!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2014 @ 03:54 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

May the 4th be with you.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2014 @ 05:22 PM
daniel8802
Total Posts:  29
Joined  04-29-2014
status: Regular

I’m starting to get very frustrated now ... Still no luck.  To top it off I started to get static out of the phones jack now all of a sudden so I don’t know if I turned on an effect by mistake.  Is there anyway to do a master reset of the board?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2014 @ 05:37 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9907
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
daniel8802 - 04 May 2014 05:22 PM

[...] Is there anyway to do a master reset of the board?

Page 20 MOXF Owner’s Manual.

However, noise can occur if you have the A/D gain all the way up with the input set to “mic”.

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 1 of 3