mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "MIDI Output Select"

     
Posted on: November 27, 2013 @ 09:04 AM
2oldman
Total Posts:  77
Joined  08-12-2010
status: Experienced

Bad Mister:

Some time ago you showed me how to send a Sysx message to the Motif rack to change the OUTPUT SELECT of a channel. 

This was the syntax you gave me: F0 43 10 7F 03 37 pp 1F dd F7

So, to tell the current Multi that I want Ch 7’s output to be changed to asL, would this would be the command?

F0 43 10 7F 03 37 06 1F 40 F7

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 27, 2013 @ 10:35 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

That would be the command for PART 7, (Parts can be routed to outputs).

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 27, 2013 @ 11:29 AM
2oldman
Total Posts:  77
Joined  08-12-2010
status: Experienced

Ok, I’m going to need a little help here on the term “Part.”

When I manually edit a Multi’s channel to output to asL, is that the same as ‘part’?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 27, 2016 @ 06:44 AM
buckyswider
Total Posts:  24
Joined  09-02-2013
status: Regular

Hi there, dredging up a zombie thread instead of starting a new one.

I’m doing the same thing here- I’m aiming to push my cubase-run drum track on the RACK XS to the assignable outputs for a little more control of the live mix.

Fist, let me answer the outstanding question.  A multi has 16 “parts”, and each part can be assigned any MIDI channel to receive.  I like to keep it simple- part 1 gets channel 1, and so forth. 

And keeping with the old MIDI standard, my drum track will be on part/channel 10.  So if I wanted to push that to asnL I would do:

F0 43 10 7F 03 37 09 1F 40 F7

is that correct?  The part (pp) is in Hex base 0? 

Also is it correct in that the chart is a little odd in that it lists the Data Range in hex base 0, but the description is in decimal base 0- thus the “64” for asnL is decimal and needs to be converted to hex to end up with the “40” shown in the command? 

And lastly, is there a way to ALSO push certain drum elements to a different output on the fly via Sysex?  I’m also evaluating the idea of sending the bulk of the drums to asnL, but pushing the snare (and maybe the kick) to asnR.  Should I bother to dig through the midi implementation charts to figure this out, or is this something that is probably not doable?  (Note that I want to do this on the fly and not edit the drum kits themselves to “keep it clean” from the Motif perspective and have CUBASE do all the “dirty work")....thanks!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 27, 2016 @ 11:43 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9512
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
buckyswider - 27 May 2016 06:44 AM

[...]And keeping with the old MIDI standard, my drum track will be on part/channel 10.  So if I wanted to push that to asnL I would do:

F0 43 10 7F 03 37 09 1F 40 F7

is that correct? [...]

Based on the Rack XS Data List, that appears to be correct for directing Part 10 of a Multi to asL Output.

Are you finding that to work, or not?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 27, 2016 @ 12:59 PM
buckyswider
Total Posts:  24
Joined  09-02-2013
status: Regular

Thanks 5pin, my rig is actually broken down right now, so I haven’t tried it yet.  2+ years* after deciding to un-retire I’m finally moving from my office to my barn/rehearsal studio where I’ll actually have a mixer to be able to leverage this.  No sense in rushing!

Hopefully by the end of the long weekend I’ll be set up enough to give this a shot! 

*- I spend 6-8 frustrating months on each of Sonar, Reaper, and Ableton before realizing none of them can do what I want in a way that makes sense to me.  Finally onto Cubase, and this one looks like a winner!!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 27, 2016 @ 01:26 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9512
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
buckyswider - 27 May 2016 12:59 PM

Thanks 5pin, my rig is actually broken down right now, so I haven’t tried it yet.  2+ years* after deciding to un-retire I’m finally moving from my office to my barn/rehearsal studio where I’ll actually have a mixer to be able to leverage this.  No sense in rushing!

Hopefully by the end of the long weekend I’ll be set up enough to give this a shot![...]

You’re welcome.

Please do let us know whether that SysEx message works correctly. I have a particular reason for being interested.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 27, 2016 @ 06:49 PM
buckyswider
Total Posts:  24
Joined  09-02-2013
status: Regular

Worked like a charm!  Glad you told me you wanted to know- it motivated me to get my butt in gear!!!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 27, 2016 @ 08:19 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  9512
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Guru
buckyswider - 27 May 2016 06:49 PM

Worked like a charm!  Glad you told me you wanted to know- it motivated me to get my butt in gear!!!

Thanks for the feedback - I’m glad that worked.

In reply to your previous question “And lastly, is there a way to ALSO push certain drum elements to a different output on the fly via Sysex?"…
As far as I know, that requires being in Drum Voice mode.

F0 43 10 7F 03 47 ee 0F dd F7
where:
ee = element/key 00h~48h(C0~C6)
dd = data 00h(L+R), 08h(asL+R), 40h(asL), etc.

(See MIDI PARAMETER CHANGE TABLE (DRUM VOICE KEY) on page 72 of the Rack XS Data List.)

  [ Ignore ]