mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Select a Master via MIDI?"

   
Page 1 of 3
Posted on: November 05, 2013 @ 01:14 PM
pax_eterna
Total Posts:  209
Joined  11-03-2013
status: Enthusiast

I note from the DL manual that one can select Performances and Voices via midi bank and select messages, however I note there are no such numbers for a Master?

Is there a way (perhaps sysex?) to select a Master remotely via a MIDI command?

Thanks

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 05, 2013 @ 01:21 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 0A 00 00 dd F7

Where “dd” is the Master 00-7F. This will select the MASTER program if you are in MASTER mode. You can switch Modes with the following message:

F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 0A 00 01 dd F7

Where “dd” is
00 for Voice mode
01 for Performance mode
02 for Song Mixing (Multi) mode
03 for Pattern Mixing (Multi) mode
04 for Master mode

So if you needed to switch from another mode to MASTER mode you would send the following message first:

F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 0A 00 01 04 F7

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 05, 2013 @ 01:40 PM
pax_eterna
Total Posts:  209
Joined  11-03-2013
status: Enthusiast

Cool, thanks much BM.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 06, 2013 @ 10:11 AM
pax_eterna
Total Posts:  209
Joined  11-03-2013
status: Enthusiast

Just a clarification please: the string above ( F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 0A 00 00 dd F7 ) seemingly shows 1C (Device# ?) in position 5, however in the Synth Parameter Manual 1C occupies the 3rd position - page 72 which is the instruction for changing the Master used.

1C = Device # 28

Data Format: F0 43 1n 7F 0D 0A 00 01 0m F7 (Hexadecimal), in which:
? n = Device Number;
? m = 0 - 6.

Unless I am understanding it incorrectly and the device # is actually 10? But in any case there are other differences in the string posted and the string from the manual…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 06, 2013 @ 10:44 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11494
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

The information Bad_Mister gave you is correct.

The place to look for the MIDI Data Format is the MOXF Data List. See page 121, (3-6-3-1) NATIVE PARAMETER CHANGE, MODE CHANGE, for the general form of the message, and page 125, MIDI PARAMETER CHANGE TABLE (MODE CHANGE), for the address and data bytes.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 06, 2013 @ 10:48 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

The Synthesizer Parameter Manual is generic, the MOXF Data list booklet is specific. You asked, and I gave you the specific message for the MOXF.

The third byte is “10” read as “one, zero”. The “one” means a Parameter Change message, the “zero” is Device number 1.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 06, 2013 @ 10:58 AM
pax_eterna
Total Posts:  209
Joined  11-03-2013
status: Enthusiast

Thx - I wasn’t doubting it really, (sorry if that was the impression) - more a little confused.

I ran both strings as written with no effect. I have looked through the Utility, File and Job menus but I could not find a reference to whether sysex Rx is on by default or off...so can you clarify that please? If on, I can look further afield for the cause.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 06, 2013 @ 10:58 AM
pax_eterna
Total Posts:  209
Joined  11-03-2013
status: Enthusiast
5pinDIN - 06 November 2013 10:44 AM

The information Bad_Mister gave you is correct.

The place to look for the MIDI Data Format is the MOXF Data List. See page 121, (3-6-3-1) NATIVE PARAMETER CHANGE, MODE CHANGE, for the general form of the message, and page 125, MIDI PARAMETER CHANGE TABLE (MODE CHANGE), for the address and data bytes.

Thx

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 06, 2013 @ 11:08 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11494
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
pax_eterna - 06 November 2013 10:58 AM

Thx

You’re welcome.

I’d suggest starting with Master Mode manually selected, and then see if you can select the Master number using the F0 43 10 7F 1C 00 0A 00 00 dd F7 message.

By the way, what are you using to send the message?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 06, 2013 @ 11:24 AM
pax_eterna
Total Posts:  209
Joined  11-03-2013
status: Enthusiast

Yeah 5pin I tried the Master Change select string by itself when in Master Mode, then the System Mode change string by itself, I tried a combo of both strings..no response at all.

Tried Sonar, MIDI-OX, Power Trax, and a utility app called GN MIDI

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 06, 2013 @ 11:48 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11494
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
pax_eterna - 06 November 2013 11:24 AM

Yeah 5pin I tried the Master Change select string by itself when in Master Mode, then the System Mode change string by itself, I tried a combo of both strings..no response at all.

Tried Sonar, MIDI-OX, Power Trax, and a utility app called GN MIDI

I don’t have a MOXF (my experience is with the XS and XF), so I can’t be certain about some things. If you’re willing to accept that, we could give this a try…

If you’re connected via USB MIDI, using MIDI-OX select Port 4 for input (you probably already have Port 1 selected). Then select a couple of Masters from the MOXF’s front panel. Make note of any SysEx messages having 0A 00 00 address bytes, and post them.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 06, 2013 @ 11:59 AM
pax_eterna
Total Posts:  209
Joined  11-03-2013
status: Enthusiast

thx 5pin....it’s okay (embarrassing - VERY)) but okay…

I forgot to change back to USB Midi on the MOXf...DUH!!!!

I was using standard midi while trying the iOS Perf Editor app.

Those strings both work.

My sincere apologies for wasting your time!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 06, 2013 @ 12:22 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11494
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
pax_eterna - 06 November 2013 11:59 AM

thx 5pin....it’s okay (embarrassing - VERY)) but okay…

I forgot to change back to USB Midi on the MOXf...DUH!!!!

I was using standard midi while trying the iOS Perf Editor app.

Those strings both work.

My sincere apologies for wasting your time!

No problem. At times I’ve wondered myself why SysEx or other MIDI wasn’t working, and then realized that I’d loaded an “All” file that had system settings different from my usual ones.

I’m glad you got it working.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 24, 2013 @ 11:50 PM
DoubleM
Avatar
Total Posts:  36
Joined  01-19-2011
status: Regular

Starting with Master Mode manually selected: Is it possible to select Masters on the MOXF with simple program change messages, not using sysex?

I´d like to use the MOXF8 as a “sub-master” in my live rig. It (only) has to send program changes and midi notes to my tc helicon voice live…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 25, 2013 @ 12:18 AM
MeMyselfAndI64
Avatar
Total Posts:  201
Joined  11-11-2013
status: Enthusiast

I would say NO but Bad_Mister may have other things to say.:)

I use an line 6 foot switch to send program change to my MOFX.
If I am in Master Mode (Memory=Song) and Send program change it change the voice not the Master.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 25, 2013 @ 12:44 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Starting with Master Mode manually selected: Is it possible to select Masters on the MOXF with simple program change messages, not using sysex?

No. A Program Change message cannot be used. You can use a Foot Switch to advance through (increment) through them in order. Each time you step on the foot Switch you advance to the next Master program.

The Master mode cannot be set to slave to another device, (not even if you call it “sub-Master")
:-)
Master mode can send commands to your internal MOXF and to your connected external devices, it cannot receive a set of simple program change commands and then also do what it does. That is NOT how it is designed to work. It is designed to be the “master” when you place it in Master mode! and there is no “sub-Master” mode (that’s an oxymoron is it not?)

We suggest you attempt to organize your Master programs in order so that you can step through them with a Foot Switch. I would be remiss if I did not mention that most people simply press the front panel buttons to recall the Master program. Perhaps you can set the MOXF as the master for all your devices, have you tried this?

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 1 of 3


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Is wireless possible in future updates?
Next Topic:

    Motif XF Ending arps? ››