mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Rack-XS Editor, USB vs. Midi, standalone, CONFUSION!!! :)"

Posted on: September 04, 2013 @ 05:43 PM
buckyswider
Total Posts:  25
Joined  09-02-2013

Hi all, Motif newbie here, old MIDI guy coming out of retirement!

I will be using SONAR X2 Studio on Win7x64 for sequencing.  My MIDI interface is an M-Audio Midiman 4x4 anniversary edition.  My musical gear will be Axiom 61 MKII, SQ80, Proteus 2, Alesis D4, and of course the Motif Rack XS.

Trying to get used to my new gear.  First step, trying to figure out an EdLib for the Motif.  I want to be able to save everything to the PC, with the eventual goal of being able to have a “clone” motif to use as an emergency backup.  Also, I purchase VintageKeys and want to be able to load that up..

Since I’ll be using the MIDI DIN port for Motif I/O, I figured the simplest thing would be to use the Editor over the MIDI DIN.  However, perusing this forum has led me to the conclusion that *only* way to do this is via the USB interface and loading the USB/MIDI driver (I don’t have the firewire card). 

So I loaded the USB/MIDI driver, and installed the “Motif Rack Editor VST”.  However, there’s no executable that installed with the editor- the only thing in the program group is the PDF user manual. 

so first confusion- is there a standalone EdLib type program for this?  I see lots of tutorials for setting up the VST editor in Cubase.  Can’t find much on Sonar.  I’d prefer not to have to use my DAW as my EdLib, but if that’s the only way, I guess I’ll have to figure it out. 

so I guess my first question- *is* there a standalone Editor for Rack XS?

q2- in order to use the editing functions, I *must* use the USB connection??

Thanks!

[ Ignore ]