mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Sound of Motif XF vs S90ES"

Page 1 of 2
Posted on: August 06, 2013 @ 10:56 AM
Mr Trier
Total Posts:  14
Joined  03-02-2013

Hello all!

I’ve been using an S90ES for a couple of years and I absolutely love it! It’s easy to use, easy to program and so on.

And most important - it sounds amazing! The sounds are warm, full, fat, sparkly, vibrant - call it want you want. It simply sounds good! Not the least the Natural S piano wich sounds very, very good.

So a couple of months back I bought an Motix XF6 to put on top of the S90ES.

And naturally I expected the XF to sound even better than the ES but to my surpris it doesn’t?

The biggest disapointment is the sound of the pianos. The stock piano Pre:01 sounds rather weak and harsh compared to the ES, almost spikey.
I’ve installed the flash-board and the Inspiration in a Flash and the S700 sounds better than Pre01 but not as good as the ES.

And I can sort of hear that the S700 sound in the XF is the same as in the ES but it doesn’t sound as good! (Please note that I use the same settings on the mixer for both synths and also play both sounds from the ES’s keybed so it’s not a question of different key-feeling.)

The questions I have is:
* Should it sound different? Are the XF more suited to studio applications and the ES more for live situations and therefore sounds different?
* Can it be faulty in some way? I’ve read somewhere that somone had problem with faulty D/A-converters. Can that be it?

Overall - it does not sound bad, it does not sound faulty. But it does not sound as good as the ES does and that surprises me. I’ve tried to locate another XF nearby to try out but have not succeded.