mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "motif xf8 garageband"

     
Posted on: February 05, 2013 @ 11:59 PM
dennis123
Total Posts:  6
Joined  02-05-2013
status: Newcomer

Can someone help me how to connect my motif xf8 to garageband?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 07, 2013 @ 07:49 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

You will need to download and install the Yamaha USB-MIDI Driver appropriate for your Mac Operating System

On your Motif XF8
Press [UTILITY]
Press [F5] CONTROL
Press [SF2] MIDI
Set the MIDI IN/OUT = USB
Press [STORE]

Connect your Motif XF8 to your computer via a USB cable.

That is really all you need to do on the Motif XF side of things to communicate MIDI to your computer.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 09, 2013 @ 05:37 PM
dennis123
Total Posts:  6
Joined  02-05-2013
status: Newcomer

do i need to download any drivers

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 09, 2013 @ 05:41 PM
dennis123
Total Posts:  6
Joined  02-05-2013
status: Newcomer

do i use a usb to usb cable or midi to usb cable?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 09, 2013 @ 06:03 PM
DavePolich
Total Posts:  6820
Joined  07-27-2002
status: Guru
dennis123 - 09 February 2013 05:41 PM

do i use a usb to usb cable or midi to usb cable?

A USB cable should work. You still need to set up your Motif XF as a device in Audio MIDI Setup - do you know how to launch Audio MIDI Setup and do that?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 09, 2013 @ 10:34 PM
dennis123
Total Posts:  6
Joined  02-05-2013
status: Newcomer
DavePolich - 09 February 2013 06:03 PM
dennis123 - 09 February 2013 05:41 PM

do i use a usb to usb cable or midi to usb cable?

A USB cable should work. You still need to set up your Motif XF as a device in Audio MIDI Setup - do you know how to launch Audio MIDI Setup and do that?

no

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 10, 2013 @ 09:37 AM
DavePolich
Total Posts:  6820
Joined  07-27-2002
status: Guru
dennis123 - 09 February 2013 10:34 PM
DavePolich - 09 February 2013 06:03 PM
dennis123 - 09 February 2013 05:41 PM

do i use a usb to usb cable or midi to usb cable?

A USB cable should work. You still need to set up your Motif XF as a device in Audio MIDI Setup - do you know how to launch Audio MIDI Setup and do that?

no

Read this - it’s a Pro Tools-based explanation but just substitute “Garage Band” for the words “Pro Tools”:

http://www.showmeprotools.com/apple-ams-audio-midi-setup-for-pro-tools/

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 10, 2013 @ 09:59 PM
dennis123
Total Posts:  6
Joined  02-05-2013
status: Newcomer

Ok so I connected my motif xf8 to cubase AI5 and i was wondering if i could use the sound on my motif to record on cubase instead of cubase sounds?
if not is there any way to get more instrument sound on cubase?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 11, 2013 @ 06:12 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Ok so I connected my motif xf8 to cubase AI5 and i was wondering if i could use the sound on my motif to record on cubase instead of cubase sounds?

Yes.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: February 11, 2013 @ 10:22 AM
dennis123
Total Posts:  6
Joined  02-05-2013
status: Newcomer

How would I do that?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 17, 2017 @ 04:20 AM
sadesh
Total Posts:  1
Joined  05-17-2017
status: Newcomer

nice one

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ MIDI doesn’t appear at start
Next Topic:

    Vibrato ››