mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Help on midi import not using the right voice"

Posted on: August 31, 2012 @ 02:21 PM
rcrown
Total Posts:  6
Joined  08-31-2012

Hello, I’m new to the MOX/midi file world and came across the following problem. Can’t find a similar issue in the archive so here is the description.

I import a midi file into a song on the MOX6. It plays OK with the exception of the drum track which is executed with a bass voice.  ( awful effect !!! )

I though the file was damaged but when I look at it using Anvil Studio the track is actually a drum track and plays fine on the PC.
If I swith the song in recording mode and then manually change the voice of the track putting a standard drum kit then it plays fine ( although it won’t save this voice )

What am I doing wrong ?

thanks in advance for any hint.
Richard.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 31, 2012 @ 04:23 PM
Bad_Mister
Total Posts:  36620
Joined  07-30-2002

Sounds like the original author of the file used Program Changes but failed to use Bank Select commands.

You can either correct this oversight or remove the original authors selection of Voices and choose your own.

From the main SONG screen
Select Track 10 (the Drum Track)
Press [EDIT]
In Measure 001 look for the “PC” Event (Program Change)

If the author was following SMF (GM) Rules you will see the message “127-000-000” as the Bank Select/Program Change for Drums 127-000 are the MSB-LSB for GM Drums (… please note: the final three digits might be 008, or 016, or 024, or 032, or 040 etc.)