mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Motif XF and iPad performance Editor App problem"

   
Page 1 of 4
Posted on: May 04, 2012 @ 01:14 PM
rasikaw
Avatar
Total Posts:  59
Joined  11-10-2010
status: Experienced

Hello,
Here’s what I have:

1. Motif XF7 with Latest OS which supports Wireless MIDI
2. Compatible Buffalo USB WiFi stick
3. iPad3
4. Yamaha app “Performance Editor”

Here’s what I have done.
On Motif XF:
1. Connected WiFi stick and set WiFi settings to:
Configuration Mode: Ad-hoc
Security: OFF
2. On performance mode

On Ipad:
1. Launched performance Editor App
2. Settings -> MIDI type: WIRELESS
Model Select: Motif XF
Wireless MIDI Port: yamahamotif--(checked)

When I press “RECEIVE” button in app, i get “Message: Timeout Error”

What’s going on?
Help is much appreciated!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2012 @ 02:35 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

On the Motif XF

Press [UTILITY]
Press [F5] CONTROL
Press [SF2] MIDI
Set MIDI IN/OUT = network

This will allow the Motif XF to send and receive MIDI data over the wireless network.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2012 @ 07:35 PM
rasikaw
Avatar
Total Posts:  59
Joined  11-10-2010
status: Experienced

I have already done that./
Should I change anything re. MIDI channels? They are at default settings.
Thanks.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2012 @ 10:23 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

You did not mention the network setting. Nor do you mention that you have your iPad set to your Motif XF.

On the iPad’s Main screen go to SETTINGS > WI-FI > find your Motif XF’s Host Name and select it. Then launch the App.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 05, 2012 @ 01:07 PM
rasikaw
Avatar
Total Posts:  59
Joined  11-10-2010
status: Experienced

Yes Bad Mister...the iPad is connected to Motif XF. 
The XF is on ad-hoc mode for WiFi.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 05, 2012 @ 04:41 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

You have all the correct settings so your issue must lie elsewhere. If we were to start troubleshooting your issue we would start with your Motif XF Firmware version and go from there.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 05, 2012 @ 10:34 PM
rasikaw
Avatar
Total Posts:  59
Joined  11-10-2010
status: Experienced

Motif XF FW version is 1.30.3

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 06, 2012 @ 06:30 PM
rasikaw
Avatar
Total Posts:  59
Joined  11-10-2010
status: Experienced

Should I call Yamaha?

Am I doing right when I setup Motif XF WiFi for ad-hoc mode? I don’t think that it has to be on Infrastructure Mode.

Yamaha Gurus....please Help!!!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 07, 2012 @ 03:21 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Please recount for us your setting on the Ad Hoc screen. (Yes, you should be using Ad Hoc as you are connecting directly to the iPad).

Once you have made your proper UTILITY > [F1] GENERAL > [SF3] NETWORK settings
Press [STORE] to store your Utility mode settings to internal Flash ROM.

Reboot your Motif XF.

Once you have rebooted open the iPad App and establish communication.

Let us know. You will know you are successful when the MIDI IN indicator (upper right corner of the App) flashes green

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 07, 2012 @ 07:47 AM
rasikaw
Avatar
Total Posts:  59
Joined  11-10-2010
status: Experienced

Hey Bad_Mister,
THANKS A BUNCH!!! IT WORKS NOW!!

Yes I have sored the configuration but I havent done the reboot part. (power cycle)
Everything works as documented now!

This is sooo cool and Thanks many thanks to you and the Engineers who implemented this interface!

Regards
RW

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 09, 2012 @ 07:27 PM
Redhotpoker
Avatar
Total Posts:  3601
Joined  11-18-2010
status: Guru

Hi Bad_Mister,
Where is the Ad-hoc selection made? I have not been successful in selecting this. I can’t seem to see it on any of the Utility pages of my XF,
Would you please direct me to the location?

Thanks

Chas

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 09, 2012 @ 09:12 PM
VikasSharma
Avatar
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
status: Guru
Redhotpoker - 09 May 2012 07:27 PM

Where is the Ad-hoc selection made? I have not been successful in selecting this. I can’t seem to see it on any of the Utility pages of my XF,
Would you please direct me to the location?

Press [UTILITY].
Press [F1] (General).
Press [SF3] (Network).
Under Interface, set the Device to wireless.
Press [ENTER].
Move the cursor to Wireless Setting and press [ENTER].
This brings up the Wireless Network Setting page.
Set the Configuration Mode to ad hoc.

You may download the Motif XF Supplementary Manual at the following link:

http://www2.yamaha.co.jp/manual/pdf/emi/english/synth/motifxf_v130_en_nf_a0.pdf

Hope that helps.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 09, 2012 @ 09:29 PM
rasikaw
Avatar
Total Posts:  59
Joined  11-10-2010
status: Experienced

Utility > network (SF3) > under Interface : Device=Wireless > select “wireless Setting” > press Enter > Select configuration mode = ad hoc
Leave Security = Off
press Enter
Press Store
Turn Off Power of Motif XF
Turn On Power
connect iPad

ENJOY!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 09, 2012 @ 11:34 PM
Redhotpoker
Avatar
Total Posts:  3601
Joined  11-18-2010
status: Guru

Hi Vikas,
Ah, yes I followed the directions to the letter from the Supplementary Manual earlier this evening:
PDF MOTIF XF Supplementary Manual - Yamaha www2.yamaha.co.jp/manual/pdf/emi/.../motifxf_v130_en_nf_a0.Yamaha has upgraded the MOTIF XF firmware to Version 1.30, adding a number of new functions. This supplement ... When connecting via a Wireless USB-LAN Adaptor, refer to the ..... 2 Set the Wi-Fi to “On.” ... 3-2 of “When setting to Ad-hoc” in this manual. ..... With this new version, you can use the Category Search to find ...
Glad to have that as another helpful tool,

Hi rasikaw,
Yes, & thanks for those instructions again , I was Not noticing that the Wireless Setting was highlighted when I moved the cursor over it, several times...that fine white outline! Ok!
Ad-hoc was already picked, I left Security Off, pressed Enter again, pressed Store, powered Off, powered Up again, several of my 4 apps still don’t connect/work, but the Cloud Audio Recorder now works fine.

Not sure what I’m failing to do, or procedures I’ve missed.
I’m finding the Motif XF on the iPad, under Settings, Wi-Fi, connects fine to the Motif network, it’s check marked when chosen, in conjunction to the house Wi-Fi which works fine as well if clicked.
Any thoughts or helpful suggestions would be appreciated in final setup of the remaining apps.

Chas

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 10, 2012 @ 12:18 AM
VikasSharma
Avatar
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
status: Guru
Redhotpoker - 09 May 2012 11:34 PM

Any thoughts or helpful suggestions would be appreciated in final setup of iPad apps.

In the Motif:
Set MIDI In/Out parameter under [UTILITY] > [F5] (Control) > [SF2] (MIDI) to network. Press [STORE].

In the iPad:
Set MIDI Type to wireless in the Utility window of your Yamaha iPad Application.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 10, 2012 @ 12:58 AM
Redhotpoker
Avatar
Total Posts:  3601
Joined  11-18-2010
status: Guru
VikasSharma - 10 May 2012 12:18 AM
Redhotpoker - 09 May 2012 11:34 PM

Any thoughts or helpful suggestions would be appreciated in final setup of iPad apps.

In the Motif:
Set MIDI In/Out parameter under [UTILITY] > [F5] (Control) > [SF2] (MIDI) to network. Press [STORE].

In the iPad:
Set MIDI Type to wireless in the Utility window of your Yamaha iPad Application.

Hi Vikas,
On iPad, go to Settings, under Wi-Fi look for Motif XF network, click on it, wait for it to connect.
Go to iPad app Voice Editor or Multi Editor, click on Receive, Confirmation Are you sure? Click Yes,
Says Receiving Now receiving MIDI Data, then I get this:
Message Timeout Error.

The iCloud Audio Recorder XF app works great though.
Very awesome YAMAHA!! Thank You.

It was bad enough in the start, having to find an open wireless LAN network to access the web, now I just have to remember which network to choose, for which ever uses I’m proceeding with, home Wi-Fi or Motif XF network.

Chas

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 1 of 4


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Newbie update mistake
Next Topic:

    Compatibile arpeggio number motif XS-XF? ››