mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "New To The Motif XF"

Page 1 of 3
Posted on: March 05, 2012 @ 03:35 AM
Nefti
Total Posts:  20
Joined  03-04-2012

Just bought my first Motif XF6 about a week ago. I got to where im already making my own patterns. I have no experience in playing keyboards or anything so my notes arent exactly on beat. What i would like to do is correct those notes using the cubase it came with or with PT9. I wanna be able to use the motif in pt9 or cubase so i can edit my notes. I got a Mini Mbox that came with PT9 but it doesnt have the midi in/out. I called Samash and explain them this same problem they told me ill be just fine using a midi usb connected to the motif into my mac? Is this true? By the way they told me to use the Yamaha UX16. I ended up calling a couple days after that and some guy told me i need a audio/midi interface and told me to go with Tascam US144. I need help so i can finish this beat. Never used a workstation before so this is all new to me. Used to make beats in FL but now that i got a mac I went with Reason and Pro tools 9. Would the FW16 be necessary since i already got a audio interface? Thanks for anyone who takes the time to help i’d really appreciate it. Im Kinda lost. I dont know too much about audio/midi interfaces.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 05, 2012 @ 04:11 AM
VikasSharma
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
Nefti - 05 March 2012 03:35 AM

...my notes arent exactly on beat.

First, try an learn about the QUANTIZE feature of the Motif XF.

From the XF Reference Manual Page 146:

Quantize (Record Quantize)