mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Cubase AI5 to Transpose Audio File"

Posted on: November 28, 2011 @ 09:30 PM
cmayhle
Total Posts:  3116
Joined  10-05-2011

I am a new XF owner who spends most of his time in the XF forum, but meatballfulton suggested I might find an answer to this question here:

Say I have an audio (WAV) file of a song I need to learn for the band, but it is a whole step too high.  I would like to shift the pitch down a step somehow, then be able to load it back into my XF to play-along with the track and learn it right-off-the-bat in the “correct” key.

Is there a way to use my Cubase AI5 software to facilitate the transposition of the audio file?  If so, how would I do this?  Please keep in mind I am new to the XF, but even newer to Cubase, so don’t be afraid to dumb-down any suggestions.  Thanks for any assistance.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 29, 2011 @ 02:25 AM
frankE
Total Posts:  5350
Joined  12-23-2002

A.F.A.I.K., no, there is no way to accurately do what you want in the free lite version called AI5. For VariAudio and Pitch shifting etc., you will need to invest in one of the commercial versions of Cubase or purchase a program like Melodyne. AI is meant to introduce you to some of the features of Cubase, but many of the more advanced features of Cubase are missing intentionally................frank

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 29, 2011 @ 02:46 AM
cmayhle
Joined  10-05-2011

Thanks very much for that info frankE!

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 29, 2011 @ 01:49 PM
meatballfulton
Total Posts:  3022
Joined  01-25-2005

Mmm, my bad then.

You can use the free program Audacity to do pitch shifting instead of Cubase then.

Follow the above link to download it.