mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "FW16E with motif XS7"

     
Posted on: March 08, 2011 @ 02:45 PM
Kayher
Total Posts:  6
Joined  02-19-2011
status: Newcomer

Hello all

Problems and problems…

Situation:
I installed in my motif XS7 the FW16E-Interface.
The operating system of my computer is Windows XP32; SP3.
Motif XS7 1.50 (MIDI in/out: mlan)

I downloaded the driver software ‘win_fw_v160.zip’ for using the interface.
It seems that the installation is successfull (Icon was placed in the taskbar and in the system configuration I can find the FW16E and Steinberg FW bus)

By opening the Control panel of Steinberg FW Driver all fields are empty!! (I would estimate the the motif would be identified.)

When I try to update the ‘IEEE1394_Firmware_Updater_V107_win_en’ there is the same situation. The Device information fields are empty an the update button is’t available.

I installed the FW16e-Driver twice - but there is the same situation.

Do you have a good idea for helping me?

Thanks for your reply
Kayher

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 08, 2011 @ 02:50 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

When you are using the Motif XS with the Yamaha Steinberg FW driver (YSFW) you need to verify the following settings in your Motif XS:
Press [UTILITY]
Press [F1] GENERAL
Press [SF4] AUTO LOAD
Ensure that the IEEE1394 Driver = FW
If not, change the setting, then press [STORE] (twice) to write this preference to your Flash ROM
You will need to reboot the Motif XS for this setting to take place.

Next, you want to make sure that the MIDI communication is set to mLAN:
Press [UTILITY]
Press [F5] CONTROL
Press [SF2] MIDI
Ensure that the MIDI IN/OUT = mLAN
Press [STORE] to write this preference to your Flash ROM.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 08, 2011 @ 02:58 PM
Kayher
Total Posts:  6
Joined  02-19-2011
status: Newcomer

:-)

That’s it

Thank you and best wishes
KAyher

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 13, 2011 @ 09:39 PM
emmen1
Total Posts:  8
Joined  03-13-2011
status: Newcomer

I’ve got the same problem only I cannot switch the setting from mLAN to FW - it doesn’t let me change it. Why doesn’t the option exist? I just loaded the latest OS to the Motif. Is there firmwary for the IEEE 1394 port somewhere too? I’m looking but I can’t find a link…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 14, 2011 @ 01:44 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

It’s listed directly below the OS Updater....

Please look again

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 14, 2011 @ 01:47 AM
emmen1
Total Posts:  8
Joined  03-13-2011
status: Newcomer

Yep - I found it. Everything is mostly working except I was a bit disappointed to find that I had to choose between my Digidesign Factory 003 interface and the Motif. Oh well, can’t have everything - at least I get 16 channel of input from the Motif into Pro Tools.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 14, 2011 @ 01:57 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Sorry your older Digidesign audio items required Digidesign audio hardware devices only. They cannot accept a FW input from the Motif XS, for example.

It is now that Pro Tools 9 is available, that you can use any ASIO compatible driver with their software. The Yamaha Steinberg FW driver is an ASIO compatible driver. Enjoy.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 22, 2011 @ 11:33 AM
jxsbebop
Total Posts:  191
Joined  08-06-2010
status: Pro

I’ve actually been wondering can you use the FW16e with the Motif XS in the mLAN mode?  I can’t seem to find any mLAN16e2 anymore.  I have a MoES, 01x, & i88x. 

I know that there is no further development on these products as they are very old now, but I just want to know if the FW16e can be used in the Mo XS with mLAN.

Thanks in advance!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 22, 2011 @ 01:36 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11016
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
jxsbebop - 22 March 2011 11:33 AM

I’ve actually been wondering can you use the FW16e with the Motif XS in the mLAN mode?  I can’t seem to find any mLAN16e2 anymore.  I have a MoES, 01x, & i88x. 

I know that there is no further development on these products as they are very old now, but I just want to know if the FW16e can be used in the Mo XS with mLAN.

Thanks in advance!

This previous thread will probably answer your questions:
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/450446/

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 22, 2011 @ 01:38 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

The FW16E works in the Motif XS, Motif-Rack XS and Motif XF.

If you are using it in a Motif XS and Motif-Rack XS and add an FW16E - this will mean it is no longer compatible with the older generation mLAN product (Motif ES, i88X, 01X, MY16-mLAN, etc.)

The FW16E must use the new Yamaha Steinberg FW driver.

Please see my post in this thread:
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/452273/

  [ Ignore ]