mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Ethernet Network Connection"

   
Page 2 of 3
Posted on: January 26, 2011 @ 10:48 AM
CrocAUS
Total Posts:  421
Joined  03-04-2009
status: Enthusiast

xs update is still not working with win7
there was something changed for better since now it works with vista (never worked before) but we still can’t access win7 shares from motif

as for xf i believe that was already included in xf software so there is some additional fix needed or there is some condition/setting that needs changing on pc to get this going

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 29, 2011 @ 02:03 AM
CrocAUS
Total Posts:  421
Joined  03-04-2009
status: Enthusiast

Bad Mister any chance you can ask someone in the know at yamaha about mounting win7 shares on motif and what needs to be done to get this going? I was so happy to see this listed as one of the fixed issues but it seem both XF and XS have issues with it.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 19, 2011 @ 09:16 AM
vivathan
Total Posts:  34
Joined  12-18-2010
status: Regular

I’m also having problems to connect via SMB to win 7 64-bit. I did this with the following configuration:

Security: workgroup
Domain: WORKGROUP (actualy this is the workgroup on my PC)
PDC name:
WINS 0.0..0.0

I get an IP-Adresse from my router - and I see my PCif I go to press the mount button. As soon as I have selected my PC and pressed enter - I have to enter the username and password. This are the same credentials I’m using to login at my computer. When I have entered this credentials (at the Network Password Dialog) and I press enter - than I got the error message: Can’t access to the host.

I disabled my firewall, also activiated the file shares and I disabled the homegroup connections - so I have the same network configuration then under XP.

Please give me a detailed description with which configuration settings you have tested the ethernet connection to win 7.

Thanx
Christian

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 23, 2011 @ 03:29 AM
vivathan
Total Posts:  34
Joined  12-18-2010
status: Regular

no answer on my question? (Regarding how to configure Windows 7 for using ethernet access)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: April 01, 2011 @ 12:13 PM
vivathan
Total Posts:  34
Joined  12-18-2010
status: Regular

Still no answer on my question? I just wanted to know if you have tested the motif xf with windows 7 - the question belongs to the yamaha guys.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 07, 2011 @ 12:15 AM
ozio01
Total Posts:  106
Joined  05-19-2010
status: Pro
vivathan - 01 April 2011 12:13 PM

Still no answer on my question? I just wanted to know if you have tested the motif xf with windows 7 - the question belongs to the yamaha guys.

Unfortunately this is not an answer.
I would only merge the discussion, asserting that I’ve exactly the same problem.

Accessing the Motif from my PC is ok. The reverse action… “Can’t access to the host”

Waiting together for some news…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 21, 2011 @ 08:30 PM
VikasSharma
Avatar
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
status: Guru
ozio01 - 07 May 2011 12:15 AM
vivathan - 01 April 2011 12:13 PM

Still no answer on my question? I just wanted to know if you have tested the motif xf with windows 7 - the question belongs to the yamaha guys.

Unfortunately this is not an answer.
I would only merge the discussion, asserting that I’ve exactly the same problem.

Accessing the Motif from my PC is ok. The reverse action… “Can’t access to the host”

Waiting together for some news…

I thought the OS update v.1.20 would somehow resolve the networking issues with Windows 7 but alas!

After wasting several hours trying to get my XF6 connected to my Win7 Home Premium 64-bit PC using a router, the only thing I was able achieve was seeing my Motif files (media + theme) from my PC. I can browse the contents of the USB drive connected to the XF from my PC, but I just can’t see (or even mount) anything from my PC on the Motif. Same old message ‘Can’t access to the host’.

:(

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 22, 2011 @ 09:53 AM
VikasSharma
Avatar
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
status: Guru

Same issue exists even while using I/F Device wireless. See my post in this other thread.

http://www.motifator.com/index.php/forum/viewthread/455361/

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 22, 2011 @ 12:03 PM
VikasSharma
Avatar
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
status: Guru

Success!

Uninstalled Windows Live Essentials (the culprit). I think someone had already suggested this measure long back in this forum. After that, it was a cakewalk :)

Thanks everyone!

Regards,
Vikas

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 22, 2011 @ 01:10 PM
elwinh
Avatar
Total Posts:  41
Joined  10-15-2010
status: Regular

Happy to hear the good news.

Are you saying that just uninstalling Windows Live Essentials by itself resulted in successful Ethernet communication with Windows 7 over a router? 

Wired and wireless?  Is the new OS upgrade a prerequisite?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 22, 2011 @ 01:21 PM
VikasSharma
Avatar
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
status: Guru
elwinh - 22 June 2011 01:10 PM

Happy to hear the good news.

Thanks!

Are you saying that just uninstalling Windows Live Essentials by itself resulted in successful Ethernet communication with Windows 7 over a router?

Yes. Of course I entered all the relevant information (e.g. IP Address, Subnet Mask, Mount User Name and Password, etc.) which I was anyways entering earlier also. The only change that made it work was uninstalling WLE.

Wired and wireless?

Yes :) I tested both the methods - Ethernet as well as Wireless.

Is the new OS upgrade a prerequisite?

I really don’t know. I had already updated my OS. Of course, if you’d like to use the wireless feature, it’s a must. For Ethernet, I’m not sure.

Regards,
Vikas

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 22, 2011 @ 02:10 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10344
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

I’m not personally running Win 7, so I can’t verify this works, but if you need Windows Live Essentials (for whatever reason :-) ) and are using the 2011 version, you might uninstall it and try an earlier version. That fixes some networking problems.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 22, 2011 @ 11:02 PM
VikasSharma
Avatar
Total Posts:  1523
Joined  10-05-2010
status: Guru
5pinDIN - 22 June 2011 02:10 PM

I’m not personally running Win 7, so I can’t verify this works, but if you need Windows Live Essentials (for whatever reason :-) ) and are using the 2011 version, you might uninstall it and try an earlier version. That fixes some networking problems.

I think one can do without Windows Live Essentials :)

Apparently, there’s some bug in Samba implementation within Linux that causes this conflict with Windows Live Sign-in Assistant.

Although the bug has already been resolved, the patch might not have made it to Motif OS v1.20.

Also, from Microsoft site:

“Windows Live Sign-in Assistant is a dependency for all programs that are part of Windows Live Essentials 2011.”

“Windows Live Sign-in Assistant is part of Windows Live Essentials, which also includes...blah, blah, blah.”

Bottomline: If you’d like to network your Win7 PC with the Motif, better avoid Windows Live Essentials.

Thanks & regards,
Vikas

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 26, 2011 @ 06:32 PM
elwinh
Avatar
Total Posts:  41
Joined  10-15-2010
status: Regular

Vikas, You are absolutely correct.  Removal of Windows Live Essentials (2011) solves the problem.  I am now able to access network shares on both of my Windows 7 PCs from the Motif XF.  Finally!!!! 

The only problem I had with this solution was that my preferred email client, Windows Live Mail, requires Windows Live Essentials.  But I discovered that the networking problem (Samba/Windows Live conflict) apparently only exists in the Windows Live Essentials 2011 version, NOT IN Windows Live 2009, a.k.a. “Windows Live Essentials for Windows XP”.  That version is available for download at http://explore.live.com/windows-live-essentials-xp and runs fine in Windows 7 with no impact on the existing email structure.  I hope Yamaha will incorporate the Samba bug fix in a future OS update so this won’t be necessary, but for now, it works for me.

So, I uninstalled WLE2011 and downloaded and installed WLE2009. Problem solved.

Since first posting this thread over four months ago, there has been over 2,300 reads and 28 responses to this thread alone, not to mention the many other postings dealing with this same problem, as well as the many fruitless appeals for assistance from Yamaha.  Your discovery solved my problem, and if it does so for others as well, it is truly a significant find.  Nice job! 

Elwin

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 26, 2011 @ 08:30 PM
elwinh
Avatar
Total Posts:  41
Joined  10-15-2010
status: Regular

Just a word of warning about replacing Windows Live Essentials 2011 with 2009.  There are some backward compatibility issues with the contact database.  Bummer!

Vikas is right - better avoid Windows Live Essentials altogether.

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 2 of 3