mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "***pLeAsE HeLP mE bAd MiStEr*** Sync arp/drums to melody."

   
Page 1 of 2
Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 09:14 AM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular

hi.

please I want to know how to sync a track (drum) to another track (melody) using the motif sequecer.

thanks.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 02:07 PM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular

bump

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 02:28 PM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular

bump

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 02:49 PM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

sOrRy I dOn’T uNdErStanD tHe QuEesTiOn

LOL

What on earth do you mean?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 02:53 PM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular

oK I wiLL tRy to ExPlaIn:

i have composed a piano song and I picked up a drum arpeggio (1 of the +6000 from the motif) that I liked for the song.

I recorded the arp drum into the motif sequencer (i modified the arp tempo multiplier in the arp tab to slow down and try to match the melody tempo) but anyways the drum track is out sync and off beat with the piano track.

I want to sync/on-beat the drum track with the melody of the piano track.

sorry my english.

understood?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 03:08 PM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular

bad mister please dont go I have 6 hours awaiting for an answer, keep answering like a chat PlEaSeeeeee nobody seems to help me here.. 40 views and you are the only one that answered… so you are my only hope before giving it up and hire a drummer… LoL :)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 03:21 PM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular

i will take the time while you come back to explain it again:

1. I composed a piano song in track #1

2. I recorded a arp drum in track #2 (I used 1 of the +6000 motif arps, and toggled arp swicth/hold on, voice with parameter on, drum type arpeggio) and tried to match the melody tempo modifing the arp tempo multiplier in thw arp (other options) tab

However, the drum track is out of sync and off beat with the melody.

---next

I tried using cubase (sync option on) internal timecode - midi timecode destination: motif xs & selecting record to computer, and record arp to computer in motif sequencer setup.

the arp kicked (arp switch on in motif) in when I press play in cubase matching the tempo (120) and stopped when pressing stop
but I recorded my piano song a little slower than 120.

SURE thing the arp changed the tempo if I modified the default value.

and SURE thing it can match the piano melody if there is something to detect the tempo that I recorded my piano melody.

the other thing is how to match the beat of the melody with the drum arpeggio.

other things tried:

I tried velocity thru/original in the arp tab and only got more volume…

tried key sort/thru option nothing.

I am next to calling a drummer now :)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 03:32 PM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular

bump

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 03:43 PM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular

last note: I don’t want to use cubase.

so plese tell me if I can sync it using the motif sequencer only.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 03:45 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10729
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
luigi2011 - 22 January 2011 03:21 PM

[...] I am next to calling a drummer now :)

Perhaps I don’t understand either, but how would a drummer help?

Usually one would lay down the drum track first (at whatever tempo you want the piece to be), and then play the piano part (recording it on another track in the sequencer) in time with the already recorded rhythm track.

In other words, the drums serve as your metronome.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 03:54 PM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 22 January 2011 03:45 PM
luigi2011 - 22 January 2011 03:21 PM

[...] I am next to calling a drummer now :)

Perhaps I don’t understand either, but how would a drummer help?

Usually one would lay down the drum track first (at whatever tempo you want the piece to be), and then play the piano part (recording it on another track in the sequencer) in time with the already recorded rhythm track.

In other words, the drums serve as your metronome.

I composed the piano song/melody first.

it is totally legal and acceptable.

now I want to add percussion/drums

but I want to sync the drum arp with the melody tempo and beat

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 04:01 PM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular

questions:

how I detect the tempo that I have recorded my piano melody?

how I sync the tempo (i.e 120) with the drum arps using the motif sequencer? (I think that I did it via Cubase)

how I match the beat of my piano track with the melody to a previously recorded drum track (or empty track) using drum arps (arp switch/hold on) on the motif sequencer?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 04:10 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10729
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
luigi2011 - 22 January 2011 03:54 PM

I composed the piano song/melody first. [...]

I have no way of knowing how good your sense of timing is, but typically only very practiced musicians can stay perfectly on beat without some sort of “click” track. If you are that good, then you shouldn’t have a problem with aligning the precision of the Motif’s arps to your previously recorded piano playing.

However, most of us (I’m including myself :) ) aren’t that good, and our timing “drifts” a bit as we play. Therefore, even if you manage to sync the drums to the piano at some point in your piece, it will likely be off in other places.

Maybe someone else will have a better solution for you, but what I mentioned previously would be my way to obtain synchronization of the parts that will hold throughout the entire piece.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 04:21 PM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular

yes yes you hit the nail, I dont like to use metronome or click tracks. (some pro musicians hate click tracks too) so it is totally OK until here.

now, you said:

...However, most of us (I’m including myself :) ) aren’t that good, and our timing “drifts” a bit as we play. Therefore, even if you manage to sync the drums to the piano at some point in your piece, it will likely be off in other places…

yes. I managed to sync the drums at some point but it is off in other places.

next you said:

...I have no way of knowing how good your sense of timing is, but typically only very practiced musicians can stay perfectly on beat without some sort of “click” track. If you are that good, then you shouldn’t have a problem with aligning the precision of the Motif’s arps to your previously recorded piano playing…

back again to my question:

Is here any software to detect the tempo (and variations) of a midi track that it can be able to write it in a midi file inside a tempo track? cubase or the motif have this option?

or is here another solution?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 04:24 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10729
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

If timing isn’t adequate on your piano part (but not too far off), you might be able to “improve” it using quantization. (I put “improve” in quotes because if quantization is used excessively, the piece can become “mechanical-sounding”.) Look up “Quantize” in the XF Reference Manual.

Be sure to save a copy of the song before changing any data, since you might not like the results.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2011 @ 04:33 PM
luigi2011
Total Posts:  18
Joined  01-22-2011
status: Regular

yes i know what is quantization.

I dont like to use it with my piano tracks. it leave the song like you said… robotized/mechanichal, chopped, chunked

If I play bad a piano song I prefer to play and record it again.

It will be ok for drums but I think that quantization dont solve my sync problem here.

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 1 of 2


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ about effects/noise gate ???
Next Topic:

    Ethernet Network Connection ››