mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Yamaha MM6 - Cubase Help"

Posted on: January 02, 2011 @ 07:52 PM
amaanProductions
Total Posts:  1
Joined  01-02-2011

Hey all,
I recently bought a Yamaha MM6 Synthesizer, I’m really new to producing and before any of this, and I was using a variety of programs to make beats.
The thing is, with the MM6, you can’t loop what you’ve played, so after getting over that major setback, I decided to connect to Cubase, and then play from there.
I don’t know if this is important but I didn’t use MIDI to USB, I used the USB to USB, but it worked normally and seemed to connect properly after I installed the drivers.

So I connected to Cubase, recorded audio, and went nuts because I thought it worked. When I played the keyboard and recorded audio on Cubase, while it was recording it played the correct voice on my MM6, but ended up with just a plain piano sound when I played it through Cubase. I then found out MIDI is not audio. I found out that I cannot
A. Loop my sounds directly from the keyboard.
and
B. Acquire the Motif voices on Cubase
So I found someone that posted the .xml file of the MM6 Voices, I downloaded that and imported it into Cubase. But when I record the MIDI track. I have no clue how to select the voices that I imported and I don’t even know how to select in instrument in Cubase.
So what I need is for someone to go INCREDIBLY in depth, and explain to me
1. How to play voices from my MM6 to Cubase
2. How to record the sounds from my MM6 to Cubase
I basically need someone to give me a rundown of how to take this take this keyboard out of the box and connect to Cubase and record tracks with the voices from my MM6.

Windows 7 32-Bit
Cubase AI4
Yamaha MM6

Thanks for any help.

[ Ignore ]